We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 1st rate B&B in lovely St Omer”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Omer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent an impromptu night in St Omer and found this wonderful B&B. Madame is very friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect (with a put-up bed for our teenage son on request). An extra heater for an extremely cold night was already in the room. Very comfortable big bed. Delicious breakfast with croissants, baguettes, fabulous home-made yoghurt, fruit etc. Free parking across the road. Highly recommend and hope to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 143 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Wanted to break up our journey the night before we took the Eurotunnel and didn't want to stay in Calais so found this gem on tripadvisor! What a find! We read the rave reviews and can only confirm that they are correct - beautiful large house opposite the canal. Extremely welcoming host and a stunning room (spacious, stylish) with a comfortable bed and a great bathroom. Free wifi, coffee/tea making facilities and we parked for free on the quayside opposite. Breakfast was wonderful - fruit, homemade yoghurt, great bread, croissants and a selection of delicious homemade biscuits and jam (which we are still dreaming of!).
Veronique is a charming host and very helpful - she even called around to find us a restaurant in advance.
Location is great - 5 / 10 minute walk to the central square where there is a great choice of restaurants and shops! St Omer is a beautiful spot and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank candour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived at 20:00 after a long and arduous day travelling back from Italy and had booked this B&B after seeing the reviews on tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. From the very first moment Veronique couldn't have been more helpful and extended a very warm welcome, mindful of our long day with an almost 3 year old in the car for 12 hours!

Our room was at the front of the building and faced the river. Very spacious, lovely and clean and free wifi. A cot for our son was also provided free-of-charge. Parking is available opposite and for those who don't want to walk into town, you can take the car and there is spacious parking in the town hall square. Around there are any number of brasseries, pubs, restaurants, and ethnic restaurants (we saw a Chinese and Indian driving past).

The price of 60 euros was good considering we paid 45 at an Ibis budget on the trip down without breakfast. Breakfast was French continental, lovely pastries, jams, yoghurts and juice.

Well worth the trip off the motorway - super easy to find and a wonderful surprise. We've already said that if we consider driving again then this will be our stop-off point! It was even a hit with my son, and he's difficult to please!

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the building and you do hear traffic so best to book a room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I fancied staying somewhere different to the Ibis (usually good) on this trip to St Omer so we chose this very good value Chambre d'hote run by the very friendly Veronique. It's in a lovely big former merchant's house right on the quayside of the river L'Aa about 5 mins walk from the town centre with free parking opposite (make sure you choose the white spaces, not blue which are chargeable). The rooms are large and airy and furnished in the old French classic style.
Some rooms don't have a walk in shower but a bath with shower attachment so specify when requesting. Breakfast is simple but good but don't expect a hotel style buffet, you get fruit, juice, bread, pastries and a hot drink. For only €60 for 2 people our own UK B&B industry could learn a lesson from this place. We will return.

Room Tip: The road outside can be busy so for silence book a room at the rear, however the front facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dovinesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed as 2 couples for just one night in early December. It is very conveniently situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. It was easy to find and the parking is simply accross the road by the canal. You can pay €3 to use the Hotel garage but we found this completely unnecessary. Our room was beautifully furnished and had a lovely bathroom with good sized bath. The bed was perfectly comfortable and of great importance in December; The room was very warm and snug. Overall we couldn't fault it and the price of €56 for a double rooom with Bath was excellent value for money particularly given the super breakfast included. A full continental breakfast with a gorgeous yoghurt, lashings of hot coffee and wonderful french bread and croissants with a choice of 4 jams. Book this place and you won't regret it. We are already planning another visit next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank langmeadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this lovely B&B for 2 nights in November. The house is old and beautiful with lovely big rooms and high ceilings. In our bathroom was a fridge, a microwave and cutlery and plates so you could eat in the room if you wanted to (the toilet was separate) Veronique was very welcoming and offered us drinks, told us how to get into town and recommended restaurants and places to visit. You can park opposite in a free car park right next to the canal. The breakfast in the morning was very nice especially the home made yogurt! I asked how it was made and ended up buying a yogurt maker from the Auchan in Dunkirk. There were also 4 types of homemade jam. The area around the B&B is very interesting, we walked along the river and saw lots of little canals, the area is famous for them. We would very much like to return here in the spring.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannysue07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A totally different experience from staying at a hotel. Our room in this attractive 19th century B&B by the canal was big and airy with high ceilings and a view of the garden. Our bathroom had a large tub and contemporary fittings and the bedroom had a comfortable bed and a flat screen TV (french channels only).
Veronique, our host, was charming and welcoming and it is a place we would stay at again without doubt. We had a good continental breafast with crossiant, fresh baquettes, fruit juice, jams and yoghurt. Parking is plentiful across the road alongside the canal and it is a 10 minute walk to the centre with a wide choice of restaurants and bars.
We ate at Bistro 28, a bar/bistro in the square, which served excellent local dishes as well as pizza, pasta and steak. The owner is english speaking and can help with translating the menu and recommending dishes all at very reasonable prices too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden would be the choice for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willpettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Omer
0.6 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
720 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel les Frangins
Hotel les Frangins
#5 of 12 in Saint-Omer
124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Bretagne
Le Bretagne
#9 of 12 in Saint-Omer
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambre d'Hotes Cap et Marais d'Opale

Address: 11 quai du Commerce, 62500 Saint-Omer, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Saint-Omer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Omer
Price Range: $54 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing