We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serendipity”

Restaurant Chez Tante Fauvette
Ranked #6 of 85 Restaurants in Saint-Omer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We almost felt guilty as the six of us [despite being regular visitors to St Omer] dined, occupying the biggest share of this small restaurant and so depriving the locals [ self-evident and occupying every other table] of their "secret". However, we could not stop congratulating ourselves both during and after the meal on the discovery. The food was indeed rustic and eclectic; the wine matched it. The prices were very reasonable. The patron simply "iced" the cake. How long ahead will we need to book next time? Getting a table might dictate the timing of our return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    28
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“True simple rustic cuisine in a quirky setting”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We spent a few days in st Omer this weekend and had researched restaurants on Trip Advisor before leaving. So glad we did as you wouldn't find Chez Tante Fauvette without knowing about it. It was exactly as described by others. The chef is the patron and waiter as well. So friendly and advises so well (in excellent english as well as French). Our meal was light, tasty and delicious. There are only 3 choices for each course and only one wine for red and white but these were both incredibly delicious. The tables are all decorated with quirky objects and the decor is equally eclectic. We had such a nice evening there and will probably visit st Omer just to return here! Go!

Helpful?
1 Thank H0veActually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rustic but very good”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

To add to the other reviews is not easy. This is a really quirky little restaurant that we enjoyed thoroughly. I read a couple of the critical reviews and would counter the criticism of the rustic food by noting that rustic can be very nice - we found the food very nice indeed. The soup my wife had was lovely, the pate I had was delightful, tasty and more than generous. Main (fish)courses were fairly plain but beautifully tasty, something very nice happening with the plain looking boiled carrot, and some nice lentils, and my crepe was sublime, with a really boozy, sweet but not overwhelming cointreau sauce. Rustic? Yes- but really good! Well worth a visit. You should probably book.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ivorbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfully French!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Go now, drop what you're doing and experience this gem of a restaurant.
The restaurant was so cleverly done, so retro yet so authentic and the food so wonderfully French Beautifully cooked, fresh and in season.
Our only disappointment was when the restaurant door opened during our lunch and it was merely customers who the owner turned away due to being full and not the policeman on "Allo Allo" saying Good Moaning!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rgmannering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Opinion”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have been visiting St Omer for many years and were intrigued by other reviews on this restaurant which was new to us. We visited this weekend and were unable to have dinner there as they were fully booked, however we were able to have lunch there the following day. Warm welcome form Olivier, quirky decor, very rustic, as is the food. We were glad that we were unable to eat there the previous evening as we would have been very disopointed. The food was excellent and fresh, however a choice of just 3 starters, mains and deserts. Only house wine available, limited beer/lager, no soft drinks other than organic apple juice. Maximum seating would be about 18 people. Worth visiting but our advice would be to try lunch first and make a reservation. Dave and Dor

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Tante Fauvette also viewed

Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Tante Fauvette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing