We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 evenings at the end of June for the wedding of some good friends. Our room was quite small, (suitable for a weekend,) but nicely decorated, giving you the feeling of being pampered at the king's court. If you travel for longer period and you have much luggage, make sure you reserve a larger room. The chateau itself is very romantic, there is also a lawn behind it, close to the river Aude, with some swinging benches, just perfect to relax and forget about busy life.
We did not eat there, except for the wedding, where everything - food to service was really great.
We had a great time there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agasro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.

We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to inform you that we will do our best to improve the negative points and to upgrade the standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 419 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family & I stayed at the chateau for a couple of days at the end of July. The couple that own it are very pleasant. We stayed in the duplex family room and my kids thought this to be a great adventure. Breakfast was very good and relaxing sitting in the courtyard inside the castle walls. The swimming pool isn't large but very clean and safe. There is a tennis court and racquets available to borrow from reception. The only downside is that there is no kitchen facility during the day. This isn't a criticism, the only reason I mention it is that if you or your kids fancy a snack or sandwich around the pool mid-afternoon you'll need to take it with you beforehand. We didn't dine in the hotel in the evening as service starts at 7:30pm and my kids need to eat earlier than that, however the menu looked sumptuous. Overall this is a great find and a great place for a day or two for a stopover if travelling between France & Spain. I'd certainly return if I'm ever in the vicinity.

Room Tip: The family room has a double bed and three single beds, rather than the usual 2+2 format
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.

We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to inform you that we will do our best to improve the negative points and to upgrade the standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for one evening at the Château des Ducs de Joyeuse in July. The Château, restaurant and grounds were beautiful. The rooms were small and charming, but the lack of air conditioning made for a very uncomfortable night. We asked for a fan, but they don't supply them. Because the room windows face inward on the central courtyard, there is hardly any circulation of air at all. We were told that the larger rooms are not as susceptible to the extremely high heat. This might be something to consider if you are thinking of booking a smaller room here during the height of the summer.

We enjoyed the wonderful dinner in the restaurant. I would definitely recommend the restaurant.

The pool was refreshing after being in our very warm room. We also enjoyed relaxing outside on the grounds at night.

This hotel is full of charm and character, but next time I might stay for dinner and sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
Our beautiful home is classified a historical monument, it is (in our opinion) disappointing to distort the stone ages with modern facilities (air conditioner), disrespectful of the medieval setting of the building).

We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to inform you that we will do our best to improve the negative points and to upgrade the standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked the "romantic" 2 days package and loved the whole experience. The castle is quite small and cozy and full of character. We had one of the junior suites, not that much of a suite, more like a big room, very medieval and very comfortable, with view overlooking a little river...just very charming. The bed was very comfortable.

We had a dinner at the restaurant of the Chateau, the food was amazing and the service excellent. It was my partner's birthday and the staff really made us feel special on that evening. A 5* meal on a 5* restaurant.

Only improvement could be with breakfast. We were unlucky to coincide at breakfast with a Japanese group the first morning and it was lacking. Not much was left and no replacement were provided efficiently. The breakfast staff seemed to be stretched with the situation and did not respond well to our needs. We waited for ever for a simple croissant. The 2nd morning was much better but still could improve the choice for breakfast.

Overall an amazing stay! We've been looking forward for a long time for that experience and overall were not disappointed. The region is simply beautiful and the Castle for sure the place to stay. We hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: If you can splash out on a tower room...worth the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexpaiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013
Google Translation

Monsieur,

Nous venons de prendre note de votre message et vous remercions pour vos commentaires.
Nous sommes très heureux de la confiance que vous nous accordez. Sachez que nous continuerons à faire notre possible pour vous assurer le plus grand soin et améliorer nos prestations au quotidien.
Dans l’attente du plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau au Château.
Très Cordialement,
Isabelle & Vincent NOURRISSON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I chose this hotel online after looking for places not too far from Carcassonne Airport. Following a long drive from Boulbon in Provence we were looking forward to our two night stay. The village itself does not feature in the Lonely Planet guidebook for the Languedoc-Roussillon region and perhaps I should have taken that as a bit of a warning.

My boyfriend paid for two nights up front to take advantage of the reduced online rates. The hotel has a very snazzy animated website and the focus is on the history and architecture of the Chateau itself, something which always impresses, however the surrounding area is very disappointing indeed. The Chateau is located next to a small housing estate with fenced off playing areas, and it has no grounds of its own to walk around in. The Chateau backs onto the river Aude but on another side its neighbour is what appeared to be a large UPVC factory.

We were greeted at reception and provided with the room key. The lady at the desk showed us to the correct tower of the four, and then left us to it. We were not asked if we had any luggage.

Our room was on the second floor, up the spiral staircase from the restaurant. We entered the communal area to find it smelt unpleasant. Thankfully this did not continue into the room, however we were disheartened to find little of the romantic charm featured on the website. I would be interested to learn the price per night of the large room featured on it!

We walked back down to our car to get our luggage. We were standing at the car, both feeling a bit confused by then, when a gentleman approached us and asked us if we wanted any help with our luggage. Thank goodness! I gave him a tip out of sheer relief at not having to hike up the steps with my bag (although my boyfriend got the short straw and had to carry his). I do not know to this day whether he had been summonsed by the receptionist or whether by pure chance he saw us standing around outside looking lost!

Cue a difficult discussion with my boyfriend about what to do. We returned to reception later on and asked if we could leave a day early and not pay for the second night. 'Not at these rates' was the response. We were not asked if there was a problem. I have always had an issue with causing headaches for people who are just doing their job, but this was the wrong attitude. I don't know if there were any other rooms available (and perhaps we would have paid more for a better one), but at the time of our arrival on a Sunday afternoon in late May there were very few people around.

The restaurant menu was not appealing to us, so we drove to nearby Limoux. This place was like a ghost town in low season, with only a couple of rubbish looking eateries open and all the rest sadly closed. The locals were hanging around in the narrow streets in an ominous way and it felt far from welcoming.

Sad to say, we ended up driving to a retail park and ate McDonald's for dinner with some noisy American kids for company. It was one of the busiest we've ever seen!

The hotel room was extremely small and would be more suited to those travelling alone. To illustrate the size of the room, when opening the wardrobe doors they were hitting the foot of the bed.

We spent a night there and the bed was comfortable. In the morning my boyfriend went to check out and I waited in the car (I hate confrontation as it makes me cringe!). He spoke to one of the managers who queried why we had not complained. Being British, in our book asking to leave early and enquiring about a refund is a complaint. Again no refund for the second night was offered, not even a partial discount as a gesture of goodwill or by way of apology.

This left a bad taste in our mouths as on the last night of our holiday we had nowhere else to stay, but luckily using the Chateau's wifi we found and booked a room at the Hotel Abbaye Ecole in Soreze. Whilst a much cheaper room it was far bigger and we would have happily stayed there for longer. It is located in a beautiful 'chocolate box' village with very friendly locals, so every cloud has a silver lining. It would be nice for the management to contact my boyfriend and offer a refund, but he is still yet to hear anything from him...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Madame, Monsieur,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.
Our staff at the Reception desk as well as the manager is at the disposal all day to satisfy the guest requests. We are surprised you did not mention your disappointment at the arrival; as all our rooms are very different, we could have arranged another room for you....
About the size of our double rooms, be aware that they meet the new standards 3 * hotel classification. However, we have junior suites (superior rooms) to the greater size and rate.
Regarding your reservation, you have chosen our offer for a special discount rate, called “non-refundable rate”. The room has to be paid in full at the reservation. The cancellation policy specifies that the reservation is not refundable and not possible to be modified. This is why you have not been refunded. Indeed you can’t benefit of a discount rate and ask for a special treat to be refunded.
At the arrival, we always offer to help with the luggage. Your bags have by the way been taken to your room by Joel our Maitre d’Hôtel. We as well provide plenty of brochures and information on the area, hiking pads and local restaurant and the receptionists are available any time to help.
Anyhow thank you for your comments. We will do our best to improve the negative points and upgrade the standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The chateau itself is pretty and characterful and it is lovely to eat in the courtyard in the summer. The meal can be very expensive and not always of a commensurate standard however. For the vegetarian of the party the only option is to have various vegetable side dishes - nice but not a thought through meal. Avoid the cheese plate which is very disappointing. That said it is nice and we do keep going back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank StonedSoulPicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.

We have taken good note of all your comments and we will be more concerned about vegetarian guest in the near future.
we would also like to inform you that we will do our best to improve any other negativ points and upgrade the standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Whilst staying locally, we had dinner at this lovely small chateaux, a party of three couples, choosing the fixed price 30 and 45 euro menus. So definitely at the upper end of our spend on evening meal. Aprox 56 euros each. The food choice on each menu was excellent, and the local wines including the glasses of sweet wine chosen for two of us, by our waiter, (wish we had asked for its name) were excellent. This is a wonderful area for wine lovers, with many tasting opportunities. Each course was well presented, not huge but sufficient and left you looking forward to the next course. A true fine dining experience. Delicious!!! We had coffee in the bar, an ancient ice store with a fabulous stone dome roof. My husband's diet was considerately and well handled. The service was excellent, the staff accomplished and friendly.

Our great disappointment was to share our smallish dining area, with a coach load of American tourists, who arrived straight from the road,and extremely noisily during our first course, The volume only reducing when served with the various courses. The managment said that our request to change tables was not possible. We felt that we should have left at that point, and returned later when the perfect ambience of the Chateaux was restored. Surely fine dining deserves well dressed well behaved diners.
A definite top rating spoiled by the overcrowded dining experience.

Tip. Check no coach party for dinner!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank She9753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duc2joyeuse, Propriétaire at Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us following your stay.

We have taken good note of all your comments and would like to inform you that we will do our best to improve the negativ points and to upgrade the standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Isabelle & Vincent Nourrisson, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Couiza
6.0 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
189 reviews
17.1 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
453 reviews
3.5 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
19.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
796 reviews
3.8 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse

Address: Allee Georges Roux, 11190 Couiza, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Couiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Price Range: $110 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing castle with a striking silhouette; a square building that opens into a courtyard, set in a lovely garden through which the river Aude flows. Built on the land of the Cathars, the castle bears the stamp of a place steeped in history. In the bedrooms of this 16th century listed building, a medieval atmosphere and modern comforts are skilfully combined. The same clever recipe works its magic in the reception rooms, the old chapel converted into a lounge and the dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Ducs De Joyeuse Hotel Couiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing