We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious experience”
Review of Le Carnotzet

Le Carnotzet
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Couiza
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We ordered the duck and dorado, with the intention of sharing. Both dishes were beautifully plated and served with delicious side courses. Also ordered a chocolate dessert after a hard day's drive. Great service, congenial staff, a ilttle pricy. High quality food in an unpretentious, homey setting.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    35
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a bad experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Following a recommendation I thought I would try Le Carnotzet for lunch. Outside the menu du jour was confusing, chalked on Le Chateau de Pennautier menu boards. Inside the menu du jour was different and very basic for 17€. We saw the alc portions and opted for trout as a main dish only. After 30 minutes of being bounced about as the waitress pounded the planks, we enquired about our meal and were aggressively told that it took time to cook fresh dishes and we should be patient. 2 minutes later our trout appeared, overcooked and tepid. The pre-formed veg had clearly been reheated and lacked flavour and it was a greasy disappointing experience. We were left with stale burnt oil after-taste and didn't stay for dessert or coffee. Over priced at 19€ for the dish, as was the whole extensive menu for the rustic setting. Stressed waitress who responds aggressively to her clients - I won't be going back.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank JanCPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quillan, France
1 review
“Fantastic atmosphere and wonderful food”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We live in Quillan near Couiza and having tried most of the local restaurants would always recommend the Carnotzet as our favourite restaurant. The food's always been delicious, the atmosphere lovely and the staff are very friendly. Having eaten here over a dozen times, we've always had a very positive experience and I'd highly recommend it.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank martinquillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

By far the best restaurant in the area as far as I am concerned.

Extensive menus for food and wine.

Service very, very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk/kenya
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“more miss than hit”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I did not eat my meal and was offered no apology. The lamb was inedible. The mussels were burnt. The plates were cold, The plat du jour was advertised outside but not available inside. Four main courses with a glass of wine and a bottle of water cost 107 euros. It has put me off french restuarants which I always used to admire.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sailkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Carnotzet also viewed

 

Been to Le Carnotzet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing