We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience but sad”

Maison Auberge de van Gogh (Auberge Ravoux)
Book In Advance
More Info
$187.37*
and up
Private Tour: Giverny, Monet and Auvers-sur-Oise Impressionist Day Trip from...
Attraction details
S W London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience but sad”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The presentation about Van Gogh's last few months in this tiny village was beautifully done and to stand in the room where he lived (and died) was emotional. We followed the suggested tour around various locations in the village painted by Van Gogh and also visited the cemetery where he and his brother are buried. Its a shame to think that while he stayed here Van Gogh completed 80 paintings - none of them are shown here although apparently the museum hope that one day they may be able to acquire one. The presentation and walk around the village reminded us what a troubled soul Van Gogh was and sadly, how his genius was not recognised in his lifetime.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank suevinales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    65
    27
    11
    6
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A day with Vincent”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Easy to get to from Paris. Transilien train from Gare du Nord, one change of train and you slip quietly into Auvers. A privilege to stand in his last room, walk the wheatfields and the old village and see the brothers graves. Next time will book a meal, looks wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank headoverheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
294 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“An essential Van Gogh experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Presumably you are in Auvers sur Oise because you have an appreciation for Van Gogh and his work. Then of course the Auberge Ravoux is a must-see part of that experience. We started by visiting the church made famous by one of his paintings, the cemetery where he and his brother Théo are buried side by side in a most modest plot, and the absinthe museum, since absinthe was so closely associated to artists and writers in the 19th century, and saved this inn for last. However, visit them in any order that suits you.

I found the Auberge to be the most moving part of the Van Gogh experience because this is where he spent the last months of his life and he died in this tiny sparse room (only 7m2) two days after supposedly shooting himself in 1890 with only a small window for natural light. They is still some question about his death, no gun was ever found. The inn never rented that room out again so you are seeing it as it was when Van Gogh was there. Auvers sur Oise seemingly provided him with much inspiration because he created an astounding painting per day while living there.

After visiting this room and another on the short guided tour, you will see a 12-minute film, which is quite interesting. There are great explanations in several languages on Van Gogh's life and the history of the inn. No photos are allowed but if you leave your name and email address at the very lovely bookshop cash register, then they say they will send you photos of the staircase and Van Gogh's room. If you don't want to do that then there are many very nice books, postcards and gift items in the gift shop to buy. The entry fee to the Auberge is 6 Euros.

The Auberge still has a functioning restaurant but we didn't eat there so I can't comment on that.

Not surprisingly there were many Dutch tourists visiting Auvers sur Oise when we were there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Van Gogh lives on!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After this visit to Auvers-sur-Oise, I am now a certified Vincent Van Gogh fanatic. Next time I visit France, I am including Arles in my itinerary. I commend the sense of pride and respect of the French people of and for their national patrimony. It is worth emulating. How I wish that this kind of reverence for history can exist in my still developing country, the Philippines. That everything--from Van Gogh's room in the inn, the poignant but eloquent video on Van Gogh's last 70 days, the historical sites, the wheatfield fields, l'eglise, the town hall, and finally, Vincent's and Theo's resting place in the cemetery--is faithfully preserved is much too awesome to comprehend and appreciate. Only the French can do it with such aplomb!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dodo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was very grateful for the opportunity to spend a few minutes in Van Gogh's room, and for the fact that is it largely unchanged since the day he died - it was emptied, but not repainted or inhabited.

If you are a fan, this is a wonderful stop on your tour of Auvers sur Oise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TracieKnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Auberge de van Gogh (Auberge Ravoux) also viewed

Auvers-sur-Oise, Val-d'Oise
Auvers-sur-Oise, Val-d'Oise
 
Auvers-sur-Oise, Val-d'Oise
 

Been to Maison Auberge de van Gogh (Auberge Ravoux)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing