We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and well run”
Review of La Metairie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Metairie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mauzac
Certificate of Excellence
WEst Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Relaxing and well run”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel on and off now for some 4 or 5 years,and have sometimes felt that what this hotel needed was a good manager.Not any more,enter Charles A Bertschy,a flamboyant,effervescent character supremely confident and exactly what this hotel needed.It is a delightful place to stay and unwind and spend a few days relaxing whilst now under Charles' guidance.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Normallyeasygoing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    35
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
116
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We spent a wunderful time during easter weekend at La Métairie.
Excellent food and most attentiv service, romantic and very quiete room.
One of the nicest hotels I ever stayed.
Peter Meier, Zürich

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraBrecey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We really enjoyed out stay here during August which was four nights. We were shown to our room to make sure we were happy with it first, which we always like. The room was large and quintessentially French. There was a bath which was good news for me and really there was not much more I could ask for. The setting was very secluded so no walking out of an evening to anywhere else to eat. You either have to eat at the hotel or drive.

Being isolated it was a very lovely setting and very quiet which we really enjoyed. There is a very good pool in a tranquil setting with horses in the fields surrounding the hotel. The menu was great and there was plenty for me being vegetarian and I was talked through the menu so that I knew what I could order. The set menu was 38 euros which was cheap compared to other places we stayed. The breakfast was good and the chef cooked your eggs to order and they were very nice.

The staff were great and I can’t compliment them enough. The lady who took your order for breakfast was very friendly and we really liked her. The hotel is very small with only 10 rooms which means you get a very individual service.

The parking is to the back of the hotel (or front depending how you see it really), and is under the trees so your car is shaded from the sun.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pollie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing UK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We stayed here for just two nights during a two week trip in the Midi Pyrenees/Aquitaine area and it was one of our favourite hotels. The whole place exudes a feeling of calm and we were sorry to leave.

Our room was the one with red coverlets in Expedia's photos. It was charming - with two large windows overlooking the countryside and the pool/garden. The cill was just big enough to sit on and read (or watch an electric storm!) The bathroom was not the most up-to-date but spacious and spotless. Our sleep was very comfortable and undisturbed.

The staff were lovely and very attentive. The food was excellent - dinner a real experience and the best scrambled eggs for breakfast! We had lunch in the garden in the shade of trees beside the pool one day - very good and extremely reasonable with superb service.

It's not hard to find - just drive into Mauzac and take the road to Tremolat, then you can't miss it. The whole area is quite lovely and one that we will most definitely go back to.

  • Liked — Good quality, peaceful accommodation
  • Disliked — Slightly dated furnishings and fittings
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank julieparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2005

We stayed for one night at La Metairie and had a lovely time. The staff were professional but friendly, and created a relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. We were half board and the food was exquisite. The hotel is set in the countryside so, if you don't have a car, then there is little to do except relax!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2003

The hotel was very disappointing. It is a lovely place with charming rooms and a nice pool. However, the room was very uncomfortable. This was (seriously) the worst mattress I have ever slept on - hard, full of lumps, yet simultaneously saggy and offering no support.

In addition, we had the misfortune of being there during a heat wave, and there was no effort by the staff to make things more comfortable.
The room was unbearably hot, with no fan. Half-board was required, yet dinner was served on the sunny terrace (again, terribly hot) and consisted of hot soup, very heavy food (like pig's blood pudding and steak), and hot fruit soup for dessert (this would have been fine in the winter, but we were given no alternate options.)

Finally, the management and staff, while not rude, were neither warm nor welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joycepo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mauzac
1.8 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
408 reviews
8.3 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
266 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
295 reviews
16.2 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
235 reviews
20.6 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Metairie

Property: La Metairie
Address: Lieu Dit la Metairie, 24150 Mauzac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Mauzac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mauzac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Metairie 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Metairie Mauzac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing