We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tips about this hotel”
Review of Royal Vezere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Vezere
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Le Bugue
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of the Treyn "Charming Dordogne" holiday. It is a three star hotel and that is what you get basic and clean. For those of you who want to style there hair don't rely on the hair dryer in your room, it is completely useless for any hair longer than an inch or two. Take a travel hair dryer. Also if the weather is warm you will suffer if your room does not have air conditioning, and most don't. My advice would be to ask for a room on the 4th floor, these are the only ones that have air con. The pool is lovely. The food is OK not haute cuisine but acceptable. The breakfast is a very good continental with excellent croissant. The views over the river are lovely, the staff helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: If you want air conditioning then ask for a room on the 4th floor, they are the only ones that do ha...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Puddycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Royal Vezere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 111 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on a bundled tour which included accommodation, set meals and some excursions.

I had a single room (double bed) which was spacious with lots of storage and a newly renovated shower room and separate WC. It seems all the roioms have either shower or bath but not both so if you have a major preference for one or the other it would be best to state this when booking. My room overlooked the road but I didn't find this noisy and slept with the window open most nights. There was a slightly discordant selection of furniture and decoration in the room but not in an unpleasant way. It made it feel like a sort of individual, very French hotel rather than typical of a large chain.

The rooftop pool was absolutely lovely and there was a large sun terrace up there too. There is a bar on this terrace level but it is not permanently staffed so you ring reception from the internal phone if you want anything. Not a problem. There are great views from the rooftop down the river and of the bridge and town square.

Food was above average, considering we were on an inclusive tour. In fact the food was very good other than the first night when the chicken seemed poor quality - but we were all very tired after a long day's travelling. There were salads or soups to start, then fish, pork, chicken or duck each night, plus a cheese platter and desserts. Our deal included a third of a bottle of wine each too which was very palatable. The restaurant does have a lovely terrace over the river, but as we were on a tour package we did not use this - it was reserved for full price guests which I fully understood. We were able to have drinks on the terrace though as soon as the dinner service had finished.

Over all I really enjoyed this hotel and found the service pleasant and the setting lovely. It was a considerable improvement on my expectations having seen some earlier reviews. It would make a really good base to explore the Dordogne from and there is plenty to do in Le Bugue itself to fill at least a day maybe two.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lofty_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were on a "Treyn Holiday" what a nice place to spend 6nights right by the river and all the staff very helpful and friendly, The food was Continental breakfast, the evening meal was a four course and the cheese platter always had different french cheeses and all the courses were not mean although we no choice unless you had dietary needs. On the summer evenings there was a lovely terrace you could sit on and have a glass of the local Wine, our choice was the local rose wine.......... The Hotel is in the middle of a busy french town with lots of places to visit

Room Tip: all rooms are good, but rooms with views over the river would be our choice, the rooms by the roads...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank selwilson1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel is situated on the river bank in the centre of town. The restaurant/bar has nice views over the river with a terrace available during good weather. The staff are very friendly and have a good command of English. Continental breakfast was good and dinner was fine. The bedrooms are roomy with some overlooking the river. There is very little road noise during the night. Car parking is available in front and below the hotel. Parking is restricted on market days (Tues and Sat). Unless you are on an organised tour I would suggest that a car is really the only way to travel around the area as local transport is pretty poor. As suggested Rocamadour is well worth a visit but be prepared for the steep climb.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thetwowanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Reasonable but not exceptional hotel. Good sized rooms. Food good but no choice on evening meal (we were on a package from Treyn Holidays). Nice roof pool area but too cold when we were staying. Good views over the river. Continental breakfast with good choice but no hot food.

Not a lot in the town but some local tourist attractions are at the end of a short walk up the river. The 1900's village is suprisingly good.

Nearby Rocamodour (hillside town), the spectacular (but short) Truffadou train ride, the medaeval centre of Sarlat and the animation museum in Souillac are worth a look

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SweetPea070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and were very satisfied with all aspects of the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and our rooms, although slightly dated, were clean, comfortable and roomy. They seem to be in the process of refurbishing as some rooms have already been updated with modern furniture and new shower rooms. Our room overlooked the river with excellent views of the surrounding area and the added bonus for us, was a pool on the top floor. Meals were good value - we were booked in as Dinner, Bed & Breakfast. Breakfast was continental with plenty of choice but would have liked eggs! Dinner was 4 courses with wine and was good value for money. The hotel is well situated for touring the area and we would certainly use it again and would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view - these are also quieter - apart from the odd duck!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mealsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Wonderful location especially if you request a room overlooking the river. Although there is no airconditioning the full length windows with shutters ensure an airflow from the river and the sound of the frogs can be soporific! Fourth floor has air con in bedrooms, we had a look at a recently vacated room - lots more character in these few 'attic' rooms - room 400 looked lovely. Odd to have the lavatory in a separate room, with no hand basin and the bidet in the bathroom next door. We also had a showerhead that was not wall mounted which is awkward to handle. Shower gel and soap provided but no shampoo so take your own. Small mini bar fridge in room. TV in rooms but all French channels.
Hotel clean and staff generally helpful but dining room can be very hot and humid. We were on half board and should have been on large tables - staff didnt allow us to have a table on the terrace except at breakfast. Breakfast good and plentiful with refills for coffee and teas etc. Dinner very local, and beware those who cant or wont eat foie gras as it features frequently. We had to change two meals and were offerred omlette and chips and ham and chips as an alternative. They will however refill water bottles from the bar free of charge when others charge up to 2.5 Euros a bottle.
There is an Asian restuarant on the riverside had lunch there as a pleasant alternative. Overall, the hotel is worth staying at, it has a lift and a bar and a nice rooftop terrace with a pool but little else to do in the town with no buses or trains and only one local taxi company whose prices seem rather high. .

Room Tip: Room 314 faces river, peaceful and great views.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank workhousekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Bugue
1.2 mi away
Vezere Lodge
Vezere Lodge
#1 of 4 in Le Bugue
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Logis Le Cygne
Logis Le Cygne
#2 of 4 in Le Bugue
81 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hostellerie du Passeur
Hostellerie du Passeur
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel des Roches
Hotel des Roches
#5 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
92 reviews
18.8 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
219 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Vezere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Vezere

Address: Place de l'Hotel de Ville, 24260 Le Bugue, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Le Bugue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Le Bugue
Price Range: $67 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Vezere 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Royal Vezere" is beautifully set on the banks of the River Vezere in the small town of Le Bugue in the Black Perigord. This hotel is ideally located to explore charming villages and numerous sites. The 3 stars’ hotel has 53 spacious rooms. They are all equipped with either a bathtub or shower, private WC, desk, minibar, flat screen TV, telephone, hairdryer and free Wi-fi. In the restaurant, it is possible to savour local products on the terrace overlooking the river. You may then try a perigourdine cuisine based on seasonal ingredients carefully selected and prepared by the chef. On the rooftop terrace where the swimming pool is situated, a panoramic view on the village and the river can be enjoyed. At disposal: bar, lift, seminar room 200 m², private closed car park, free Wi-fi … ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Vezere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Vezere Hotel Le Bugue
Best Western Le Bugue
Le Bugue Best Western
Royal Vezere Le Bugue, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing