We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well serviced home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maison de Cingle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Le Bugue, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheBeers8...
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well serviced home from home”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Perfect house central to Sarlat and all the main highlights of the region, plus a fantastic town right on your door step.
The house was very generously proportioned and equipped.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
113wander...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good base to explore the Dordogne.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in April and found it to be an ideal base to explore the Dordogne. Le Bugue is a nice town with good restaurants and a supermarket, plus a great weekly market which was a highlight. All the key areas of the Dordogne are close by to Le Bugue but it does not have the volume of tourist traffic other towns do. The house was basic but comfortable and the kids board games were a hit and the next door neighbour very friendly. Only downside was a bit of traffic noise early in the morning. A positive was being able to walk into town whenever we wanted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandkm
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable base to explore Dordogne Valley”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

easy to book, friendly owner
comfortable,well-equiped house on outskirts of vibrant town especially on market days (Tuesday and Saturday) and central to explore the Vezere and Dordogne valleys, recommend visits to Sarlat and Domme.
excellent value for money

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: traffic in Le Bugue
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakshmi19
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We'd gladly stay here again, as the house was charming and comfortable and proved to be an excellent base for exploring an area steeped in history. Le Bugue itself was attractive and we had great fun playing jungle golf and exploring the picturesque medieval villages nearby.

A word of warning - you are unlikely to appreciate the tour of the prehistoric caves at Rouffignac unless you can comprehend very rapid spoken French...Unfortunately, we cannot and the tour guide's explanations sailed right over our heads, which was disappointing, as I'm sure what she had to say was absolutely fascinating...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the location and layout of the house.
Liked least: Would have been great if the beds had been made up, as we arrived late and tired, feeling cold and hungry.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frecklesS...
south africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Very comfortable, well equipped and convenient for travelling around the area.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We had a very happy week at Maison de Cingle. Lovely views of the river. We had our supper outside on the patio every night. We thought the Le Bugue market was better than the mid-week market at Sarlat. The walks around the hills are lovely as is the walk along the Vezere river. A pretty, quiet town...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to sit outside, even though the road was quite busy....
Liked least: We did need the wifi, but it is available just down the road at the Travel Bureau as well as other places in town.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Tucson AZ
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A lovely home in an incredible town!”
Reviewed July 1, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Maison de Cingle for a week in late May, and had a wonderful holiday. The home is exactly as described and pictured on-line, and is very well situated in the village of Le Bugue. Jackie, the owner, was very easy to work with, answering any and all questions we had, as well as providing us with great information and suggestions about the local area.

As there were just the two of us, we spent the majority of our time on the spacious ground floor in the combination kitchen/dining/living room. It was a great place to hang out. Unlike many rental properties, the kitchen was fully and completely equipped, and although we usually carry a combination of our own kitchen "stuff" in this case it wasn't necessary. Everything was available to easily prepare and serve full meals.

The master bedroom (the only one we used) was nicely furnished and very comfortable, with more than adequate storage space for our clothes, a nice firm bed and appropriate lighting. The bathroom was very large with a nice combination bathtub/shower.

The house itself is extremely well built and insulated and very quiet. If we kept the house closed up during the day, it never got hot inside, and when we did need heat, the rooms warmed up quickly. The front patio was lovely for sitting of an evening, with a nice neighbor next door.

There is a television set with DVD player, but no cable connection and it would have been nice to have a few DVDs to play. There also is no internet capability (which we knew going in), but Jackie recommended several places in town. We tried the Hotel Grand Vezere, and they were wonderful about allowing us to come in daily to check email at no charge.

The town of Le Bugue itself is absolutely lovely; the perfect size to be able to walk anywhere and get anything! There were several excellent restaurants, a small grocers, boulangeries, clothing shops, as well as a huge new Intermarche right on the outskirts of town. But the very best thing is the marche, which is twice a week, and provided us with all of the fresh fruit and produce -- and roasted chicken -- that we could ask for! We will definitely be planning our next visit to Le Maison de Cingle and Le Bugue soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing