We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful, spacious and well-equipped house in...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Bugue, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah A
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A wonderful, spacious and well-equipped house in the heart of a lively village with the most amazing terrace overlooking”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The house is lovely, characterful, in a great central position and has everything you could need - including air-conditioning which we did appreciate! There is plenty of space and the terrace has to be seen to be believed - we mostly lived out on it, drinking in sun, views and wine! We loved the village activities; bric-a-brac market, evening fete and local outdoor theatre. We have been to the area before so didn't travel about much but enjoyed hanging around, sampling the local cafes,reading and sketching . The hosts are very friendly and happy to help - thank you both for a lovely "final" family holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrace, spaciousness and location
Liked least: Would be great to have air-con in the front bedroom if possible
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica...
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location to explore all the Dordogne/Perigord has to offer”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in mid July 2013 - two families of 3 (parents and 2 teen boys). The townhouse is beautifully restored and has all the amenities for a comfortable stay. Le Bugue is situated centrally in the Dordogne/Perigord along the banks of the Vezere River. Grocery shopping is nearby and convenient. We spent many days exploring villages and sights in the area - highlights were paddling in kayaks and canoes on the Vezere and Dordogne rivers, La Roque St. Christophe Troglodyte village, Sarlat, Perigueux and exploring the many villages and markets in the area. Tuesdays in Le Bugue are market days; in the summer evenings there are dinners in the main square. We watched the spectacular Bastille Day fireworks from our front row view on the terrace.
We also spent many evenings with wine and cheese on the terrace.
Our favorite restaurants in the area were: "L'Auberge Medieval" in Audrix, and "Coup de Silex" in Les Eyzies.
A wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition of the house
Liked least: A little noisy - especially when there was a fair across the river during one week of our stay
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed staying at our house, and that you were able to appreciate not only Le Bugue and its immediate area, but also the wonderful countryside that surrounds us down here along with good food and nice wine in many of the pleasant little restaurants scattered around. Thanks for your kind words about the house, and we hope to see you down here another time. Kind regards, Mike & Toni
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewed November 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewed June 3, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LaMaisonG...
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is the place”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

My wife and I and a friend stayed at 19 Rue de la Republique, Le Bugue at the end of April, 2012. We loved the house. The beds are good, the kitchen well equipped and the deck has a gorgeous view overlooking the Vézère River. There are WCs on all three floors. And a clothes washer in addition to a dishwasher in the kitchen.

The location in Le Bugue is great. We wanted a house in a village so we could walk to restaurants, boulongeries, etcetera, and the house fills that bill. The village has an immense market every Tuesday. It even has a railroad station should you need to get to Paris or Vladivostok.

Before renting 19 Rue de la Republique I had looked at several Sarlat properties and I am so glad we chose Le Bugue. I had stayed in Sarlat three times in the past, but this time the one day we were in Sarlat (not a market day and off season) it was no fun driving into and held little charm to me with the patina of tourists uniform.

From Le Bugue our party had great little trip/adventures to Saint Cyprien, Trémolat, Limeuil, and Saint Léon sur Vézère. Our plan was often to drive to a village not too distant, explore, have lunch and drive home, have a nap and, if we hadn’t found a market, we would walk to the IntraMarché for groceries and have dinner at the house and as Dylan said, watch the river flow. If such an arduous touring schedule appeals to you, this is the place.

Mike and Toni Anthony were helpful explaining where things were and in making recommendations about restaurants and sights. Also they provided a starter set of groceries, tea, coffee, milk, butter, more. In the past I’ve found other rental houses have either been provided with nothing or the rancid left-overs of previous tenants.

In addition to the shops in the village, there is a new IntraMarché across the river (four blocks) where you can get most anything you’ll need. The next time we’re lucky enough to make it back to the Dordogne region we’ll be back at 19 Rue de la Republique.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquility
Liked least: buying gas at the IntraMarché
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greens222
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“superb location with everything to make a superb holiday”
Reviewed September 12, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

The view from the terrace over the river is gorgeous. One minute's walk from the front door takes you into the main street of Le Bugue with its weekly market, shops, restaurants and bars. The house is superbly fitted, with everything you want for a good holiday - and more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing