We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem in the Dordogne!”
Review of Les Bressettes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Bressettes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My family and I spent a wonderful week at Les Bressettes in late March. A very comfortable cottage in the most beautiful setting! The location is ideal for seeing the sights of the gorgeous Dordogne area, and Elizabeth and Malcolm are the most welcoming hosts you will ever meet. Not to mention their little dog Cassis, who always greeted us with boundless enthusiasm and a tennis ball! Truly the highlight of our holiday! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Malcolm and Elizabeth welcomed me into their home as though I was part of the family. Absolutely fantastic people. Very knowledgeable on the local area and were happy to provide suggestions for things to see and do. I was travelling on my own and it was always very nice to come back from a day of sightseeing to have a natter about the day. I wished I had arranged to have meals made for me because after a little sample of what was on offer I wanted more. The property is in a beautiful location and very close to main sightseeing attractions. It is an experience to be remembered forever. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Iona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My fiance and I have just returned from a week at Les Bressettes and my only complaint is that it wasn't longer (oh and Elizabeth and Malcolm wouldn't let us take Cassis, their adorable dog, home with us). The gite, and their home, is ideally placed for visiting all the highlights of The Dordogne and yet it is quiet, secluded and relaxing. Visiting Elizabeth and Malcolm is like staying with your favourite auntie and uncle, they are welcoming, generous and go out of their way to make your stay special. The gite is comfortable, cosy, full of character and yet has all the mod cons you require, a welcome basket of goodies and nessecities waiting on your arrival adds to the welcome. Would we return, definitely! Would we recommend it, without a doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We've just returned from 2 glorious weeks at Les Bressettes (our second visit to this property) and just like our previous visit two years ago we couldn't be happier. The property is beautiful and the Gite very comfortable and Elizabeth and Malcolm do everything to make you feel welcome and help you enjoy yourselves. On our first night we asked Elizabeth to make dinner for us and it was a wonderful meal, so relaxing with unlimited wines flowing, a wonderful way to end a very long journey. Some tips for summer weather, close the windows and shutters upstairs by midday to keep the heat out and keep sleeping comfortable and if you are someone who mosquitoes like, bring lots of mosquito repellent as they can be unrelenting at night. As always the location is fantastic, perfect for lots of day trips to the surrounding villages.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank danale1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Les Bressettes is a charming B&B with charming hosts, Elizabeth and Malcolm, in the beautiful Dordogne region of France. The room was very comfortable and well-equipped. The breakfasts were excellent and we opted for a home-cooked 4 course meal one evening that was one of our favorite meals of the week. The location is ideal for exploring the region, about 10 min. by car outside of le Bugue. Malcolm and Elizabeth were able to make recommendations of things to do and places to eat. Their love of their adopted country is obvious and they are most eager to share it with all who pass through.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We took a 2-week trip to France and Dordogne was one of our favorite areas. What made it an even more wonderful experience is having had the opportunity to stay at Les Bressettes. It was a truly beautiful home and both Elizabeth and Malcolm made it an even lovelier stay. Can't get better tips on places to visit and sights to see, including the not-so-touristy places, which was what we wanted. They suggested great places to see, and we didn't regret taking their advice. Our one regret is not having stayed longer. Definitely a must-stay for people exploring Dordogne. It just completes a wonderful holiday experience. Next time, we'll make sure we stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simnjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a fantastic honeymoon in a lovely gite set in fabulous surroundings.Elizabeth and Malcolm have created such a peaceful setting where you can really relax.They were also on hand with helpful tips and a good knowledge of the area with regards to eating out and places to visit.would certainly recommend staying there as everything about it was just superb!.Hoping to go back in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Le Bugue hotels
5.2 mi away
Royal Vezere
Royal Vezere
#3 of 4 in Le Bugue
113 reviews
6.4 mi away
Vezere Lodge
Vezere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Le Bugue
45 reviews
5.2 mi away
Logis Le Cygne
Logis Le Cygne
#1 of 4 in Le Bugue
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Camping La Linotte
Camping La Linotte
#2 of 8 in Le Bugue
104 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Hameau De La Vezere
Le Hameau De La Vezere
#5 of 8 in Le Bugue
48 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Noyer Residence
Le Noyer Residence
#5 of 5 in Le Bugue
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Bressettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Bressettes

Address: Le Bugue, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Le Bugue
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Le Bugue
Price Range: $101 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Bressettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Bressettes Le Bugue, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing