We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traffic & extra charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine de Bassilour
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Bidart
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed in two different rooms,for several nights each during my stay here.Rooms which are located at the front of the hotel will have a lot of noise from traffic.The hotel seems to be on the main road between Bidart and Biarritz! Traffic all day and night; this is probably only in high season.
Guests have to pay an additional 10 euros if they want clean towels, bit cheeky. The first room (not in the main building) had self catering facilites and I found the room to be a little dirty.Certain items such as cooking utensils needed replacing.
The second room (in the main hotel building) was very clean but didn't have curtains only sparse net curtain which were useless in keeping out sunlight, so expect to wake up at dawn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday_c883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Domaine de Bassilour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 157 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed for only one night, but wished I had stayed for more. Excellent service, gorgeous little place and very easy to get to Bidart which is a lovely little seaside village with excellent views.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We recently held our wedding at Domaine de Bassilour, with about 75 guests who had travelled from all across the world to be there. The venue was absolutely amazing: every single member of staff, including the owners, were attentive, perfectionist and professional, from our first meeting to the final de-brief after the event. Our day felt like something from the movies and all our guests who came felt like they were part of something very special indeed. I would highly recommend this beautiful, understated and romantic location for anything it has to offer - a night's stay in the Basque country or a special event. Very special memories indeed. Thank-you Chris, Charlotte, Marina, Paulina, Franck and Paul - to you all who work with and at Domaine de Bassilour!! xx

Room Tip: Read the website
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranzWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lovely chateau with beautiful grounds. Three different buildings with accomodoations. Spacious room with kitchen facilities available just next door. Easy drive to Biarritz, St. Jean de Luz and Bayonne. Delightful owner and staff. Very pleased with our stay here and would be more than happy to return!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ToulouseCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed last november for 3 days at the Domaine the Bassilour with our 3 year old child. We booked an appartment with a big double room, a nice sitting room with sofa, dining table, and tv, a nice kitchenette and a large, completely new bathroom with both bath and shower. A home away from home.

We enjoyed the amazinly big gardens, great for children running and playing around. We are planning to return in spring with a larger family group.
BIarritz is just 10 minutes away by car and Saint Juan de Luz, 30 mins. away.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

we experienced excellent service from the owner. the restaurant for breakfast is across the street in another part of the area. large rooms, quiet neighbourhood, not far from Biarritz.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRT1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We spent 2 nights at Domaine du Bassilour, in a room in the main chateau. The person managing the "Domaine" had us wait 5 good minutes at the door to get in. The room was very spacious & comfy, with a great view on the garden. The bathroom was however a slight disappointment.
Breakfast is served in an adjacent transformed stabblehouse. For the price, we expected more than the bread/croissant, hot drink and juice. It took also to long to get served
Yet, the location is very charming and easily accessible by car for sightseeing along the coast (we went as far as Bilbao). It misses out the fourth star due to poor service at breakfast (expensive for what it is) and average bathroom

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegastar330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bidart
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gochoki
Hotel Gochoki
#3 of 15 in Bidart
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel les Freres Ibarboure
1.0 mi away
Fasthotel Biarritz Bidart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Fregate Vacanciel
5.4 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
706 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Ilbarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Bassilour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Bassilour

Address: Rue Burruntz, 64210 Bidart, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Bidart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Bidart
Price Range: $127 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Bassilour 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of the village of Bidart, 3 kilometers from the beach and Biarritz, lies a lovely accommodation surrounded by greenery. Guests may choose from several options, either in the elegant mansion built during the Second Empire, where rooms are spacious and comfortable, or in the 16th Century farmhouse, painstakingly restored and equipped with all the latest modern comforts. The tasteful decor of open beams, stone walls and wood is highlighted by the fireplace in the superb salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Domaine de Bassilour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing