We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house and location - highly recommended”
other travelers have booked this property
Breakfast at the villa Kaioa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast at the villa Kaioa
Villa Kaioa Villa Kaioa- the living-room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Breakfast at the villa Kaioa
Villa Kaioa
Villa Kaioa- the living-room
The terrace
Sea View from the terrace
The living-room has direct access to terrace and garden
Villa Kaioa-sea views from the terrace
Villa Kaioa- In the greenery
Master room- Direct access to terrace and garden
A room upstairs
From Bidart to south
The typical village of Bidart and the 'fronton'
A room upstairs
Inside
Sea view from the master bathroom!
Corniche de la falaise, going go Bidart center
Villa Kaioa-Sea view
View from the terrace to the sea
Fireplace
Side of the villa
The view from Villa Kaioa
Villa Kaioa
Villa Kaioa- from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bidart, Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
hjb151
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and location - highly recommended”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great house for our extended family (including young children and grandparents), loved the large garden and decking (with BBQ).

Walk to the beach was down steep steps / path (5 mins) which were no problem for the 2 and 5 year olds but something to be aware of. Also, take a note of tide times to ensure that there's plenty of beach when you get there (tourist office had a leaflet with tide times). 5-10 min walk into the centre of Bidart with small supermarket, bakery, bars and restaurants - slight hill but nothing strenuous. Large hypermarket 5 min drive away (Intermarche).

House was well equipped, including dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Some low beams in the bedrooms (sloped roof) to be avoided! We also really appreciated the tea / coffee / etc and lovely local Basque cake which greeted us - and above and beyond the call of duty, Adeline picked up an initial shop from the Intermarche for us (that we ordered online) so that we had the weekend's food waiting for us at the house. Very much appreciated gesture.

Many thanks to Adeline - we had a wonderful stay.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thank you Heather for your very nice review. It was great to meet you with your parents and children. I am very happy that you and your family had a wonderful stay at the villa Kaioa.
Kind regards
Adeline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahschn...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Great house!”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We spent our holidays at Bidart and rented this nice apartment.
Everything was exactly like on the pictures described, so we were really happy.
It was not a problem to bring our dog, which was really important for us, and anytime we had questions, Adeline helped out very nice and friendly.
Having breakfast in the garden and watching the waves was amazing, the garden is great.
A few meters next to the garden you find a nice way down to the beach. It took us about five minutes to go there. Same when we went to town, its really close.
We can highly recommend this place and will come back for sure.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2016
Bonjour Holger, Anke and Sarah,
Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you spent a good time at the villa Kaioa and it will be a pleasure to have you back some day.
Kind regards
Adeline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelbag...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible sea views and well located in lovely village”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Five minutes after arriving at Villa Kaioa we were sitting on the veranda watching the waves break on the beach below. The location of this converted ceramics workshop is ideal. A path alongside the villa's garden leads down to the quiet, sandy Erretegia beach, ideal for swimming, surfing and sunbathing, and with its own little restaurant. A five minute walk the other way along a cliff top lane brings you to the centre of Bidart, with its bars and restaurants - we liked the Mahaina and Pizzaria Bidart which boasts a good wine list. Bidart has three beaches and several surf schools where you can get a 2 hour lesson, surf board and wet suit for 35 Euros. The town celebrates its Basque heritage with music, festivals and foodie markets. A short bus or car ride takes you into Biarritz with its grand hotels, busy surfing beach, shopping and handy little airport. Villa Kaioa itself was simply but elegantly furnished with a fully equipped kitchen with fridge freezer, large dining tables both inside and out and a great garden. The beds were comfortable and a cleaner came during our stay. The owner Adeline was lovely, greeting us with a traditional Basque pie and advice on local amenities. If you get the UK/Santander ferry stop at Bilbao en route and see the amazing Frank Gehry designed Guggenheim museum. We found the villa through Holiday Lettings, who were knowledgable and helpful. Loved Bidart, would go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location
Liked least: Couple of rainy days!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sight and sounds of the sea
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 11, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 9, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The seating was a little small but we are all very large!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaphneGhe...
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
“A balcony over the Atlantic ocean”
Reviewed November 23, 2011 for a stay in June 2010

My family and I stayed at the Villa Kaioa in June 2010 and it has remained one of our fondest holiday memories. Located on a quiet residential street overlooking the ocean, the house is truly a balcony over the Atlantic ocean, its lawn extending into in a steep slope down to the shore (families with young children: have no fear, this does not represent a danger for kids as the slope is not steep enough to actually fall and is covered with grass and bushes. Despite staying there with a toddler we found no reason to worry). Although not very big, the house is very functional, serene and elegantly decorated in a way that makes the best use of the natural light and amazing views. We truly appreciated the functionality of the kitchen and of the equipments: all you need is there, all kitchen equipment, cooking accessories and tableware are very carefully selected and of high quality and show a great attention to detail.
The street on which the house stands offers a lovely walk towards the village and one can very easily walk to the bakery, newspaper stand and small grocer. And of course you are only a stroll away from the beach at the bottom of the cliff and a short car ride from all the attractions the basque coast offers.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, the view, the attention to detail
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing