We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped, overpriced and noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bidart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yelloh! Village Ilbarritz
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bidart
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We spent a very unrelaxing 5 nights (paid for 7) at Yelloh Village Ilbarritz in August: Overall we felt the site to be very expensive for what it offered: our pitch sloped so much that we could not sleep comfortably, and had to position our gas cooker on the low boundary wall of our pitch - many pitches sloped in this way. The pitches were also tight and not spacious enough, and we felt that everyone was camped cheek-by-jowl, with poor screening from neighbours - Not what you expect of a 4-star site costing about £430 for a week. The campsite was also extremely noisy - we were frequently awoken during the small hours of the night, and the camp staff did not appear to enforce their policy of ensuring no disturbance after 11pm (one night saw drunken men singing testosterone-driven chants in the shower block at around 11pm). It is impossible for children to get to sleep before 11pm, let alone adults. In the week before arrival we had camped in two 2-star campsites in the Pyrenees - these where at a quarter of the cost, much more personal and friendly, pitches had more space, and residents slept early so that they could rise in good time to head off into the mountains. There was no swimming pool at either site, but this did not matter as there was so much to do in the local area. Overall, we felt Yelloh Village Ilbarritiz to be overly commercial, and a waste of money. Next time we shall pay more and stay in a self-catering apartment close to the main beaches in central Biarritz. We will then be able to sleep and enjoy ourselves!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were amazed at the cleanliness of the little camping hut we stayed in, you could have eaten off of any surface it was so clean. The paper sheets left a lot to be desired, as did having to go purchase towels. Other than that we had a great trip and would definitely consider going back and staying longer. The beach, a 500 m walk was one of the nicest beaches we've been to. Next time we'll bring our own sheets and towels!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We have visited this fine campsite many times along with many others throughout France. Camping Ilbarritz has inherited a unique friendly atmosphere, a wonderful location and it is doing it's utmost to improve itself to an even higher level. The evening entertainment in 2009 was excellent with live music and a new development was the lovely French Market on a Wednesday in the Campsite. The multi-lingual Campsite owners and their staff made huge efforts to ensure we had a great stay. Although we know the local region quite well we used the super on-site tourist information office to discover new places to visit - the "Fete de Hasperran" was an absolute gem of a day out and I used all my camera's memory cards trying to capture the event.
Recommended (I will return in 2010 for certain).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjc77Braintree_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Me my partner and our 3yr old booked a chalet for two weeks here in September. The price at this time of year was reasonable and from the brochure it looked good. When we got there our hearts sank a little but we were upbeat. The chalet was very basic, no heating, simple shower, gas cooker etc. You had to clean it for the next guests or lose your deposit, hence it was clean. It was very much just a shack. It wasn't until the rain came it really got bad. We expected some rain at this time of year, what we didn't expect was the moisture in the shack was unbearable. All the bed sheets were sodden damp, we had no heating. We couldn't sleep. After two days had all developed a chesty cough, and a black damp mould starting to cover the constantly damp walls. Honestly. After a 5days despite having some great sunny days by the nice pool, we couldn't stand it. We cut our losses, packed up and went to find somewhere nearby. Amazingly we found the most beautiful hotel apartment less than a quarter mile away at Residence Maeva Ilbaritz. This place was the best and we ended up having one of the best holidays ever, in one of the most beautiful locations in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tombombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Bidart and the surrounding area is wonderful. We love the beaches and returned to the same campsite for a second year.

The campsite itself is fine but our stay was ruined by noise at night. There are strict camp rules about about being silent after 11pm but this was not enforced. We were kept awake by noisy neighbours on about half the nights including one night when our 6 neighbours stayed up drinking and laughing until 7am!

Last year the night watchmen were apparent and went round keeping quiet. This year we were told that they still had night watchmen but we never once heard or saw one.

Not only has it put us off the campsite but worse still camping in general!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rupert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander un mobile-home ou emplacement un peu éloigné des animations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Enigma72190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Flots974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bidart hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Ilbarritz
1.3 mi away
Camping Le Ruisseau des Pyrenees
2.1 mi away
Camping Harrobia
Camping Harrobia
#1 of 12 in Bidart
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camping Erreka
Camping Erreka
#5 of 12 in Bidart
226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Domaine de Bassilour
Domaine de Bassilour
#5 of 15 in Bidart
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fasthotel Biarritz Bidart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelloh! Village Ilbarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelloh! Village Ilbarritz

Address: Avenue de Biarritz, 64210 Bidart, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Bidart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bidart
Number of rooms: 299
Also Known As:
Yelloh! Village Ilbarritz Hotel Bidart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing