We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful restaurant”
Review of L'Illwald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Illwald
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Selestat
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This used to be a delightful restaurant but what a disappointment!
To summarise:
# food is served fast, 10minutes after order, this makes you wonder what sort of real cooking is happening in the kitchen.
# my 24 euro main was a hard piece of meat. My dad got a veal tongue which was also very hard and unappetising. There was little food on the plate. Fine dining presentation but not delivering on taste.
# we did not get the side we ordered. The sauce came 5 minutes after the main.
# the most annoying thing was that when we returned one main back the kitchen we were advised by the waiter that the cook tried it and NO it was really ok. Honestly what restaurant is telling guests what they should think of their food?
This is an overpriced restaurant that is living on its past glory, stay away from it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanPierreBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for L'Illwald
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hotel is clean and comfortable, although the rooms are a little on the small side the are nicely designed and there are premium rooms available for those who want a bit more space.

It is a family run hotel so there is not a 24 hour reception, though on arrival there is a phone available and they will come to meet you quickly.

Hotel is a little secluded, though the restuarant is very nice when it is open, and Selestat is only a few minutes drive.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms facing the main road as this is a little noisy in summer if you want to sleep wi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so if you are by car and you don't mind going to Selestat which is 7 km away for a dinner or something, it's fine. We had no choice since the restaurant was closed.
Overall the hotel, its rooms, design, comfort and cleanliness were fine. What bothered me a bit was that we basically received no welcome, we were just let in. The owner/landlord should really try harder to welcome his guests, would a smile hurt? On the other hand he responded to our needs, heated the saunas when we have asked for it etc. I would put it this way: if you are looking for a home-like atmosphere (that I was expecting going to an inn/auberge and not to a huge hotel) then you will be disappointed. Otherwise it's a comfortable, clean and nice place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina_1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

A lovely hotel in a rather isolated location although only about ten minutes from Selestat by car.
The whole place is decorated with great taste and our room was good although perhaps comfort is sometimes sacrificed for style, for example if anyone has serious work to do, as we did, the stool at the wooden desk was far too low to sit comfortably at a computer. To make matters worse, the wi-fi was not working although Madame did her utmost to help us and offered the use of their own laptop at reception.
The restaurant was excellent and had a great atmosphere - not cheap but not overpriced for the quality of the food. If you want to eat elsewhere you have to get in the car and if you want a drink or two, this is not advisable in France.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SignoraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is an absolutley beautiful hotel. It is an old inn, but renovated into gorgeous modern rooms with sparlking modern bathrooms, (heated towel racks etc!). The restaurant that is part of the Auberge had excellent food, as evidenced by the locals packing the place. The breakfast was excellent, athough maybe a bit pricey. The room value was outstanding, best we had in France. There were two charming labs, one black, the other blond, that added to the ambience. Now if only the gentelman owner (?) would have smiled a little bit, it would have been perfectin.

Room Tip: Don't believe there could be a "bad" one.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The hotel is placed in an ensemble of traditional Alsatian farm houses that are meticulously renovated. The rooms are comfortable, modern and very clean, if a bit small and exposed to some noise. The overall service is efficient and especially the landlady appears to be welcoming and helpful. The landlord, however, does not appear to like Non-European guests too much. When we were staying in the hotel with a group of ethnic Indians, he seemed to make a very conscious point out of not talking to us or serving us and keeping his contact to a bare minimum. This was in stark contrast to his behavior towards all the other white German, Dutch and French guests, with all of whom he enjoyed long and frequent conversations. The restaurant of the hotel is very cosy and the food there is of high quality and well presented. It is also rather good value for money, especially given that the portions are rather big by French standards. Overall then, the hotel is not a bad choice if you do not happen to be non-white!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night on our way south. It's next to a "route nationale" so depending on the room you have, it could be a little noisy. We had the largest rooms (duplex) and we were on the side so we didn't experience a lot of outdoor noise. The hotels were nicely decorated, modern, very comfortable and definitely not "typically French" like what you sometimes have in the Alsace. Good beds, charming though modern I would say. However, if returning, I would not book this room type again although it offered quite a bit of space and the extra bed, but having to go upstairs with staircase to sleep (bathroom downstairs) isn't great with kids, or in the middle of the night. Staff / owner, super friendly. Too cold for the pool but looked lovely for a little bit of relaxation. Selestat is nothing special but worth a short visit, since it's only a few minutes away. We had dinner in their restaurant. Very friendly service, lots of locals, decent food, nothing spectacular but very reasonable (both food and price wise). Suitable for children as well. Breakfast is set up in a lovely room, tastefully decorated, and well appointed. Great breads, yogurts, etc. No complaints whatsoever (except for maybe freshly squeezed juice)? One other small issue, I thought the towels in my room where very thin and not in the greatest condition. However, we didn't have the problem in our other room. Would return if in the area again on our way south (or back up north).

Room Tip: Ask for a room further of the road.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1andTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selestat
3.0 mi away
Les Pres d'Ondine
Les Pres d'Ondine
#1 of 2 in Baldenheim
157 reviews
4.6 mi away
Les Loges du Ried
Les Loges du Ried
#1 of 1 in Marckolsheim
34 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Selestat
Ibis Budget Selestat
#2 of 8 in Selestat
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hostellerie de la Pommeraie
3.9 mi away
Hotel des Berges
Hotel des Berges
#1 of 1 in Illhaeusern
168 reviews
7.2 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Illwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Illwald

Address: Le Schnellenbuhl, 67600, Selestat, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Selestat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Selestat
Price Range: $141 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Illwald 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Push the door of our charming 3-star hotel and enjoy a pleasant and relaxing stay in the heart of nature Alsatian. Illwald The hotel offers a wonderful view over the forest of Illwald, dominated by water and forest. Here we mix unchanging tradition and modernity. The hotel is between Selestat and Marckolsheim on the edge of the forest of Illwald and less than 30 km from Colmar in the Haut-Rhin in Alsace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Illwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing