We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not rely on the picture, the hotel is in the middle of a residential area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Pommeraie
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Selestat
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Do not rely on the picture, the hotel is in the middle of a residential area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had to stop in that region and chose a package junior suite/diner/breakfast because it was a Relais&Chateaux and generated only a few extra miles. In all fairness, the price was very competitive and the service was excellent. However, whilst it is difficult to give a bad rating when the service is excellent, I must say that the diner experience was so so and I would not recommend that restaurant even though it was obvious that they were doing their best. As to the hotel, we really enjoyed the suite as it was a large room with a large bathroom, very old style, so not everybody's taste.

Room Tip: the package diner, room, breakfast is very competitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    52
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
92
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night enroute from Switzerland and it was disappointing. There is nowhere to sit and enjoy a pre dinner drink apart from in the main hall area with a couple of chairs. We ate in the Apfelstuebel where the food was nothing special compared to other Relais Chateaux. Breakfast was a rip off. Why do none of the bathroom fans work - they appear to be installed but never work!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here in the beautiful tache suite. Cathedral ceilings with exposed wood beams are charming to look at but tall hubby kept hitting his head on occasion. This is a two floor suite with washroom downstairs. Careful in booking if you have mobility issues as the staircase is quite narrow as are the steps themselves. That being said, the hotel manager was very kind and assisted us with our luggage.
Hotel was under renovation in the section that we stayed but was not noisy and did not detract from our visit. Free wifi very useful. Showers are very European. Hand held mounts and no shower curtain.
Regretfully did not book dinner ahead in their dining room, but it looked delicious from a glance. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Abbaye de pommeraie is a charming little hotel in a rather nondescript corner of Selstat. There are a couple of parking spaces at the rear of the property but most parking is on the quiet street at the front. We had no problem finding a space when we checked in on a Saturday afternoon.

Rooms and particularly bathrooms are large and well appointed, although our bathroom was somewhat dated. I didn't have time to study its history but the building is full of character - although that does mean the odd creak floorboard. Although a small property, the place looks well kept and cared for and has a quiet and tranquil feel. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant as we had a table at L'Auberge de l'Ill in nearby Illhaeusern but continental breakfast on Sunday mornng was fine.

The best thing of all was the service. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful and there was a genuine personal touch about everything they did that really enhanced our experience. After reaching our room, two complimentary glasses of wine and snacks were delivered to us. On check out we were handed a small Kugelhof (a type of cake/bread) to take away with us. All in all a delightful stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a little gem of a hotel and was a lovely surprise when I checked in (the hotel was part of a tour I was on so I hadn't chosen or booked it). The building is a lovely old abbey, beautifully restored and furnished. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, very clean and have a view over a lovely garden. The staff and service were faultless - far better than in many 5 star hotels.

The restaurant - although small - serves excellent food. My only criticism is that the dinner menu was a bit pricey. I was also slightly overcharged for the meal when I checked out the next day. But it was no doubt an oversight and I would definitely stay there again. It was the highlight of my time in Selestat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antipode222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a great find which I am almost loathe to review as it is not well known, but they truly deserve the praise. Unlike most modern hotels, even 4 and 5 star ones, the rooms are generously proportioned, verging on the huge, and so are the bathrooms. The decor is a bit out of date, which is why I didn't give them a 5, but the cleanliness, the attention of the staff, the comfort are all definitely 5 star! And they have a delicious restaurant to boot. Selestat is a very pretty little Alsace town worth a visit. Do try it! We keep coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the boiseries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calpurnia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Small Relais Châteaux, decorated with a lot of taste, warming and welcoming.

Large rooms, good restaurant

The only thing we found strange was that the bathroom (and toilets) door was fast completely transparent. A little bit more privacy would be nice.
But that is only a small detail. We liked the hotel very much and would be glad to go back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisstraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selestat
2.2 mi away
Les Pres d'Ondine
Les Pres d'Ondine
#1 of 2 in Baldenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.6 mi away
L'Illwald
L'Illwald
#5 of 8 in Selestat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
8.2 mi away
Les Loges du Ried
Les Loges du Ried
#1 of 1 in Marckolsheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Selestat
Ibis Budget Selestat
#2 of 8 in Selestat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
6.9 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Majuscule
Hotel Majuscule
#6 of 8 in Selestat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Pommeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Pommeraie

Property: Hostellerie de la Pommeraie
Address: 8 boulevard du Marechal Foch, 67600, Selestat, France (Formerly Abbaye de la Pommeraie)
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Selestat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Selestat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie de la Pommeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hostellerie de la Pommeraie, the old ownership of the Abbey of Baumgarten, is a beautiful example of Renaissance architecture of the city of Sélestat. Of the Middle Ages until the 19th, the latter prospers thanks to its garrison and to its intellectual brilliance within the Germanic then French Empire. Today, the Hotel situated in the city center is in a few minutes on foot of the Humanist Library, a monument which benefits from an international reputation. It is also the starting point of numerous organised trips in Alsace and on the wine trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hostellerie de la Pommeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing