We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful lunch for a group of friends”
Review of Le Cerf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Cerf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have now been to Le Cerf three times and every time have been thoroughly impressed with the professional approach, skill and discretion of the staff. Having recently made arrangements to take a group of 15 people there for lunch, the management was exceptionally helpful when I was negotiating a set menu, and were able to accommodate my suggestions for changes without the slightest problem. I would also recommend making the most of the sommelière to help with wine selections. I thought I know a lot of Alsace wines, but her suggestions were not only excellent matches for each course, but also introduced me to some exciting new wine producers in the region, resulting in a few more visits and tastings. A very successful promotion of the region. As far as food goes - everything was well presented. The entrée of layers of salmon and poached sandre was light and delicate with subtle oak characters as the salmon had been smoked at the restaurant, completely different from commercial smoking and a real delight. The other dish that is a "must" to try is the "Bouchées à la Reine" with its rich and creamy, yet light sauce and a variety of tasty morsels of meat in a light and crispy pastry case. This restaurant would be well worth the trip out from Strasbourg, even if it didn't have any Michelin stars!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

This restaurant had two Michelin stars and recently lost one. Michelin is known never to disclose why stars are earned or lost, but the loss here is a true mystery. We arrived as a party of 12, with smiles and greetings from perhaps 5-6 staff. Shown to our table by a head waiter who spoke perfect English and French. A very complicated menu was explained slowly and carefully and special related questions answered to one's complete satisfaction.

There were no improper plate deliveries to wrong party and fresh and appropriate silverware set for each dish, including wine glass for each appropriate wine for the dish.

The food was excellent. For example, rack of lamb was cooked perfectly and arrived with the best vegetables within my experiences - small, fresh and delicious. A terrine of foie gras was buttery. The cheese course was unsurpassed in excellence. The dessert was an incredible meringue encasing rivulets of a variety of ice creams. Small plates of candies, macaroons were available as one might wish.

And all along various questions of what's this, why this, how's this answered in one's language of choice by the head waiter or staff.

The restaurant has a variety of rooms, all beautifully decorated with superb taste, both in furniture, paintings and numerous objets d'art.

Come on Michelin, return the star!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

For a one-stop, dinner-bed-breakfast, it's hard to imagine a better place. Walking paths around the town, through pinot vineyards, provide an appropriate preparation for dinner and a lovely breakfast. Family-run and very intimate. While the servers are a bit stiff and formal, this is more than compensated by the over-the-top kitchen and friendly chef who lingers after last service at the entrance to chat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We were given a warm welcome at this attractive hotel and we very much enjoyed our overnight stay there. The food was very, very good, as was the service. The room was comfortable and all you'd expect of an hotel of this standard. I just felt that overall everything was a little overpriced however, and it was this that prevents me from giving it the top grade.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poldhupabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

This hotel was a way-stop between two destinations and we choose it because of the Michelin starred restaurant.

The hotel is a boutique hotel with nicely appointed rooms. The breakfast was good.

We thought the food in the restaurant excellent but did not enjoy it nearly as much as our outstanding visit to the Moulin in Gundershoffen which is just to the north because the service was cold and informal. We felt distinctly ignored when we declined wine. (and this not from choice but on doctors orders).

Our room was 115 euros, dinner for 2, 3 courses and coffee, 127 euros.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maritimevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This was our second stay at Le Cerf and it was even better than the first time. Although the hotel is on the main road through the pretty village of Marlenheim it is quiet when it matters most (ie at night). The rooms are wood panelled, cosy, comfortable and well appointed. There is now a garage for guests' cars which is secure.
The most important reason for staying is for the food which is, quite frankly, outstanding. We were fortunate enough to be in Alsace during the 'chasse' and the seasonal menu had the most wonderful young local venison on it. The starter of a terrine of foie gras was followed by sea bass, seared on one side only and it was divine. The dessert of local fruits with a wild blackberry ice rounded everything off. The wine list is huge but there is excellent advice to hand and they don't point you to the most expensive wines. There is a god selection of wines to be had by the glass as well. In the morning there is a light preakfast of home baked bread and viennoiserie and local farm produce.
the staff are friendly and polite and you are greeted on arrival with a glass of locally produced wine.
We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank QuackersRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Wonderful stop over near Strasbourg. Small family run hotel in the town of Marlenheim, with an outstanding 2* michelin rated restaurant. The room was small but well appointed & comfortable and service very good. We took the 2 day gourmet stop over which was fantastic value. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank maria98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#8 of 130 in Strasbourg
1,094 reviews
Chateau de L'ile
#1 of 6 in Ostwald
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cerf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cerf

Address: 30 rue du General de Gaulle, 67520 Marlenheim, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Marlenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlenheim
Price Range: $118 - $1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cerf 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Cerf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing