We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Alsace stay in cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kanzel Suites & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Kyoto, Japan
2 reviews
“Excellent Alsace stay in cozy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

I stayed for two nights in suites. In the room I stayed, interier was artistic and romantic with gorgeous scenery of grape field. You can see the hotel's cozy sense even in door nob and tables. There was a wide bathtub separate from shower room. We were a party of two. There were two beds in loft area so a party of four would be fine, too. It was perfectly clearn. For the second night, the room was cleaned up well. When I stayed, hotel staff were all charming and elegant women. Everytime we were back by car, they cared if everything was ok with us. Unless you wish for special SPA treatment, I think this hotel is the best. Thank you for wonderful memory in Alsace.
Japanese translation follows:  スイートに2泊しました。2人で泊まるには十分過ぎるくらい広いスペースで、ロフトに2部屋(1ベッドづつ)、トイレは2つありました。4人家族で泊まっても十分です。また、部屋のインテリアや作りが想像力を生かしたもので、心地よかったです。私は清潔さについては神経質な方ですが、文句はありませんでした。2泊目の前の清掃では、減り気味のトイレットペーパーが新しいものに取り替えられていました。バスタブも大きいのがついてるので旅の疲れも癒してくれます。チャーミングな女性スタッフが丁寧に迎えてくれるし、英語で問題なし。紹介してもらったリボービレのレストランまでは車で5分程度で、皇族の方が数年前にいらっしゃった店で、美味しかったです。地下のワインセラーでは、安価でボトルワインを夜更けまで楽しむことができます。観光する村も近くて便利。スパトリートメントなど特別なことを求めていなければ、存分にアルザスの休暇を演出してくれるホテルです。(私は、車で行ったのですが、車じゃない人は
レストランまでの送迎サービスもあるようですよ)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselle2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Kanzel offers apartment like accommodations in a beautiful setting with amazing views of the vineyards.

Even though the "residences" are large, they are not expensive and this hotel seems to nickle and dime you where ever and when ever they can. For example, even though the residence sleep 5, they charge a 30 Euro supplement for each person over 2 people. That would be fine, but the residence is 255 Euro per night to begin with. Another example is 35 Euro fee to use the kitchen in the residence, and 10 Euro to use their bikes. 8 Euro per night if you bring your dog. The rooms themselves were large with balconies overlooking the vineyards which were really breathtaking. The decor seemed a little dated to me. The bed and linens were just ok.

My biggest complaint is the lack of air conditioning and/or fans. This past weekend it was 90 degrees. This is my mistake as I did not check before hand, and just assumed they had it as it was significantly more expensive than the other hotels.

Pool was nice. Breakfast was pretty good and lovely to eat outside.
Staff in my opinion were not friendly. They were helpful, but many of them just acted like they hate life and were pissed off all the time. They were helpful though answering emails before I arrived restaurant recommendation and activities. In person though, VERY cold.

All in all, the setting of the hotel is beautiful with spacious accommodation. However, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvis2867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This hotel has a central location in the heart of the Alsace region close to all the major villages located on the famous Route des Vins d'Alsace.
It is located on a hill in the middle of the vineyards with a beautiful view on the surrounding villages and mountains.
Large rooms (which look more like apartments) are very nice and employees are very friendly. Very nice cold breakfast included in room rate with fresh fruit, various French cheeses and ham, various types of bread and fresh croissants, cereals,...

I am afraid that I do have the same negative comment as several other reviewers about the beds: the mattresses are very thin and the feather bed cover (couette) is too small,
thus not covering the whole bed and body while you sleep. That is the top maintenance priority in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank espruytte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Really not a usual Hotel, beautyfull and in a way original (you've got your own wine-cellar)

Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichaWerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen,CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

I really liked the place. Spacious room and very nice staff. However, there was a smell in our room which bothered us. When I asked the front desk, she said they have had complaints about it before and they do have problem with plumbing. I am now wondering why they put us in that room when the entire place was empty? I would go back, BUT, I would make sure I am getting a nicer room. Also, since there were less than ten people in the entire place, they did not serve breakfast in their nice room with a great view of the vinyards. Also, they do not have internet connection in the room so you have to go to their main lodge, which we did, however, the staff smoked in the attached kitchen, which make it very uncomfortable. I did not feel like asking them not to smoke, I thought they should have thought it themselves!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalehw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

stayed three nights. reception was friendly and helpful. english was spoken. room was pleasant. clean. large. comfortable bed. mini-bar. kitchenette. complimentary beverages. breakfast was very good - service was generally attentive. the foods fresh and diverse. the village is small. two restaurants in the village - one a michelin and the other not. I would pass on the non-michelin based on my experience. i did not call on the hotel service often during my stay. when I did they were attentive and well-meaning. odd part of stay - no bars of soap provided - only liquid soap. the room was above average. the one negative with the room was that the venting in the bathroom carried sound - I could hear my neighbors' conversations, bodily functions etc clearly - I kept the bathroom door shut. check out was swift. I found it odd that the staff maintained a "tip jar" at the front desk - the hotel is very professional but I see this aspect (a tip jar) as an exception. I would generally not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderblinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

Very nice situation with a wonderful view to the vineyards , builded like a charming little village . We were upgraded to a nice suite with comfortable room , small kitchen , sitting area , terrasse and wonderful bathroom.
Owners couldnt be more accommodating and the big "hit" : the van with chauffeur to take you out for dinner.Really love it!
Very nice breakfast also.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_arno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beblenheim
2.5 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Cour du Bailli Residence Hoteliere
3.0 mi away
Le Clos Saint Vincent
Le Clos Saint Vincent
#4 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg
1.3 mi away
Hotel De La Couronne
Hotel De La Couronne
#3 of 8 in Riquewihr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanzel Suites & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanzel Suites & Residences

Property: Kanzel Suites & Residences
Address: Chemin des Amandiers | Chemin des Amandiers, 68980 Beblenheim, France (Formerly Hotel Kanzel)
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Beblenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Beblenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kanzel Suites & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kanzel Suites & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanzel Hotel Beblenheim
Kanzel Suites & Residences Beblenheim, France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing