We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite cuisine, Service...”

Restaurant Julien Binz
Reserve with
Restaurant Julien Binz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $106
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We made our reservations well in advance, alerting staff of food intolerances,which were graciously honored. The dining room is elegant, refined, yet comfortable. Patrons were dressed for dinner, which was appreciated since I lugged heels and a non-travel dress over the sea. François was prompt in offering an aperitif which was a lovely Rosé champagne. His service approachable professional spot on. The starters, the seafoods, the lamb, the desserts were described in detail and were not only gorgeous but all delectable! The evening was going perfectly until the 3rd course, then an apparent "Who's Who" of the industry sashayed in in his andy cap and scarf, and frazzled the staff while sucking all the energy out of the room. It wouldn't have been so bad, but we could hear his loud dissatisfaction. (I think he just wanted free drinks for his party.) François elegantly contained himself but couldn't help addressing the "situation" while the staff became distracted. Julien Binz deserves his star back absolutely! It's too bad when you have to cater to those who make it difficult to shine to ALL patrons who don't get to write off dinner on an expense account and who simply want to enjoy the wonders of this amazing chef. Bravo Julien!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YvonneP683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 304 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

The work of the chef was truly amazing! We particularly liked the fish dish from the menu gourmand, the deer/ venison was the best I ever had, the lamb was juicy and very tender and all the small details like the Japanese watercress and fin kt chopped mangoes on the langoustine appetizer was to die for! The wait staff were super professional and friendly - especially the head waiter Lou! He paired some excellent Alsatian wines for us - muscat apprertif as well as a fine Riesling grand cru and a biodynamic Pinot noir...Merci boucoup!

Thank timothy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

We were taken to this restaurant by friends and the entire evening was excellent. The staff, the setting and most importantly the food could not be faulted. Try it - you will not be disappointed!!

1  Thank MartyT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBinz, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant Julien Binz, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour votre visite, nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un bon moment chez nous et de belles vacances dans notre région
A très bientot chez nous
Sandrine Kauffer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017 via mobile

We wanted to celebrate a family member's birthday and chose this restaurant upon a recommendation from a local. The decor is very nice and cosy, but that's about here that the positive ends. The staff had the memory of a goldfish (not remembering preferences of the table), didn't speak much English (or rather didn't want to) and I consistently had to pour my own water (I'm a big girl and have no problem doing so, but expected that kind of service in a Michelin starred restaurant with the above average price tag). The food was ok, but failed to wow me. Will not come back.

Thank Baryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBinz, Propriétaire at Restaurant Julien Binz, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Thank you for your visit and your message. Delighted that the cooking pleased you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

We had an excellent dinner at Julien Binz, a Michelin starred restaurant. Having had dinner in several restaurants in the area, Julien Binz is clearly the best, offering the most refined cuisine.

After our usual Cremant d'Alsace, we had an amuse, followed by sardines on a bed of tomatoes with an avocado mousse. As a main I had Iberico (black Iberian) pork, really very nice and looks more like a tender steak than pork withe a pea mousse.

The desert was also delicious: strawberries and frozen rhubarb.

If you take the menu it has a very good price / quality ratio.

Very refined tastes, worth its star.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBinz, Propriétaire at Restaurant Julien Binz, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

"Julien Binz is clearly the best" ! Yes very thank you !
Un grand merci !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Julien Binz also viewed

Kaysersberg, Kaysersberg-Vignoble
Kaysersberg, Kaysersberg-Vignoble
 
Kaysersberg, Kaysersberg-Vignoble
 

Been to Restaurant Julien Binz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing