We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sandi Phala
Nearby Hotels
HARRIS Hotel Tuban(Tuban)(Great Value!)
$31
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$21
$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$13
$12
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$40
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
139
48
11
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
48
11
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsma jolypool suitesmall boutique hotelprivate beachjunior suiteseparate rain showerfree mini barhuge bathtraditional stylea la carte breakfastclose to the airportbeautiful roomrestaurant serveslounge areathree nightshustle and bustlefresh juice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 210 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were impressed with the Sandi Phala hotel and would definitely recommend it.
As a smaller hotel it is has a much nicer feel than some of the big hotels on either side, and it meant we could relax much more with the kids as we felt like we had the run of the place.
We normally would have stayed somewhere a bit cheaper, but given the wedding we were attending was at the Ma Joly restaurant onsite, we decided to treat ourselves. We're glad we took that decision.
It's probably more of a couples hotel, due to its intimate feel, than a family hotel...though we always felt welcome.
The location is great. You can walk into Kuta in 10-15 minutes or get the complimentary transfer if you want to experience the Bali hustle and bustle. Or you can stay in our own little oasis, blissfully unaware of the congestion etc just up the road.
As we were staying with two kids, we booked the Sandi Phala suite. It is huge and the four of us lived very comfortably (the kids on very comfortable trundle beds). The decor is great and the bathroom is also huge. It's better value than booking two individual rooms and much easier to function as a family if you're in the same room.
It's nice that they restock the mini bar every day, free of charge, so you don't feel guilty having a cold Bintang in the warmth of the evening out on your own personal verandah at the end of the day.
The staff are very friendly and can't do enough to help you. They are great ambassadors for the hotel.
The pool is a good size and nice and deep too.
Apart from the wedding buffet, the only meals we ate at the Ma Joly restaurant were the breakfasts and they hit the spot, especially the banana pancakes.
All in all, we were really happy with the Sandi Phala.

Room Tip: Paying the extra money for the Sandi Phala is something you should consider
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ_from_WA_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place was perfect for a couples getaway. We are always on the look out for places like this. Limited rooms, great pool, service and a great restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and chef Jay made the best food, whether it was for breakfast, lunch or dinner, it was divine. If you are after a hotel that you can relax in I would stay here, we had the pool suite which was roomy and the best bathroom i have used.

Room Tip: The pool suite was fantastic and big. Very private.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our stay here was the second of 5 stops in Indonesia in which our planning began with a week-long scuba booking at Wakatobi Dive Resort. In traveling that far around the world we decided to spend 6 nights in Bali before Wakatobi (in Sulawesi State) and another 6 nights back in Bali afterward. For reference, you may also see my reviews for Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Wakatobi Dive Resort, Damai Lovina and Ibah Warwick as continuations of our customized itinerary that was booked with the assistance of the Wakatobi VIP Concierge service (which I highly recommend).

Rather than brave the long, congested commute from Ubud to the airport my wife and I stayed here 1 night in order to comfortably catch our flight to Wakatobi Dive Resort the next morning. After wending our way through unending urban traffic it seemed as if our driver took a turn through a magic portal and we found ourselves inside this secluded beach-front enclave.

A smallish resort with, I believe, only 11 rooms (give or take) we enjoyed a sense of privacy that is appealing to us. The grounds and swimming pool area were well-groomed and the open, beach-front restaurant and bar were excellent for our delicious complimentary breakfasts. Free in-room wifi was good and also appreciated. I would stay here again as a strategic lay-over for a next-day airport departure.

Room Tip: The rooms all appear to face an interior courtyard with easy access to the front desk, beautiful swimming pool and beach-front restaurant. They're arranged in two stories so you might specify upstairs or downstairs according to your preference.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvschmieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great friendly staff, beautiful setting, will go back. The mini bar is free, yes really and the room is cleaned twice a day and supplies replenished. Free airport transfers both ways. The best thing is the staff.

Room Tip: The ground floor suites have great showers.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The first word that came to our minds when we entered the room @ Sandi Phala was ‘artistic’. The rooms are very tastefully done besides being warm & cosy. The detailing is amazing across all elements – right from amazing photo frames on the walls to the linen – even the key chain was in the shape of a nice coral fish!

They washroom is as big as the room – with a 3-step tub – little elements like a wooden ladder instead of the boring towel hangers; frescoes on the wall instead of plain windows – all of it adds to the charm.

There are only 11 rooms in this resort so it fits the brief for a quiet little place amidst the hustle & bustle of Kuta.

The restaurant ‘Ma Joly’ has a fabulous view – the bar is perhaps the closest to the sea in Kuta – remember to have the camera handy during sunset!

The staff is very friendly – for instance one day when we were a little free, they proactively gave us a complimentary drop to a Dive site in Nusa Dua and also arranged our return trip.

If you want to have the best of both worlds – a nice, blissful place within 20 minutes of the party zone of Kuta, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suvodeepd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews