We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort, Fabulous Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Santika Premiere Beach Resort Bali
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Tuban
Bellarine Peninsula
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort, Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We are just back from a 7-night stay at the Hotel Santika Premiere Beach Resort. It was our first visit to this property (we had previously stayed at the Holiday Inn before its renovations). The Santika is a great property in a fabulous location and I would definitely stay there again.

My husband and I travelled with our 10-year-old son. We were unable to book the Standard Rooms, as there were three of us travelling, so we stayed in the Premiere room instead. Having read some relatively negative reviews I was unsure what to expect, but we really liked the room. The Premiere rooms are situated in a “U-shaped” block towards the front of the property (but definitely no street noise) around one of the pools. I think this is the nicer of the resort’s two pools, with a children’s playing end and a swim-up pool bar. There are 3 floors of rooms – the bottom has a door opening onto a small “veranda” area with pool access – but be warned, this does not provide a lot of privacy from pool users. The upper two floors each have a balcony with small table and two chairs, overlooking the pool. I did notice that some rooms had a wooden clothes horse outside on their balcony, however we did not have one, nor did we ask about it, as we did not need it.

Inside the room is a wardrobe on the right as you enter from the corridor, bathroom on the left. The wardrobe has several shelves, a code-lockable safe and about 8 coat hangers. There is also a chest of drawers with 4 drawers. There is a small bar fridge with mini bar (we removed the items on our first morning and left them on the shelf to be removed by housekeeping so that we could fill the fridge with our own purchases). We had three small bottles of complimentary water left in our room each day by housekeeping.

Further into the room on the left was our son’s very sturdy rollaway with decent mattress, and then our huge King Sized bed was actually two large single bases and mattresses pushed together. I am not exactly sure what you call the bed sizes but they were huge – and a flat screen television on the bench top opposite the larger beds.

We had no complaints with the bathroom. There was a shower over a deep bathtub, vanity basin and mirror (and I am not sure what more people could ask for/expect).

Finally at the end of the room were two steps down to a coffee table, two-seater couch and the balcony doors.

The room had an air-conditioner which operated whenever the key-card was in its slot (i.e. when we were in the room) but did not operate while we were away from the room. However, we never found the room unbearably hot after being away for a day and the air-conditioner was very fast and efficient.

We went armed with numerous mosquito repellents, however did not use one the whole time we were away, and none of us received any bites whatsoever!

The hotel has beautiful grounds – there is a lovely fish pond area covered with a deck behind the reception lobby and it has 4-5 resident ducks on the pond. Feeding the fish with a piece of bread from breakfast is a lot of fun, especially for the younger children. You can actually hold the bread in your fingers and the fish will climb over each other and the rocks to suck it from your fingers.

Buffet breakfast is served in the restaurant above reception daily from 6.30-10.30 am. There is a huge selection which we found more than satisfying – there is a daily egg station and whilst it appears that the chef is only making omelette or scrambled eggs, the kitchen can also poach or hard boil eggs on request. There is the standard “slow toaster” which usually needs a double run-through to brown the toast – but when you are on holidays, who cares. There is usually white/wholemeal/grain/rye bread on offer. There are also a selection of croissants and Danish pastries each day. There is usually a choice of 3 to 4 cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad, fresh fruit platter, Bircher muesli and cold meats/cheeses. Each day there is also a waffle station and banana/pineapple fritter station – and always the “Asian/Indonesian” food area – although I did not try this for breakfast. Lastly is the hot section with bacon, some sort of potatoes, and a variety of foods throughout the week – sausages, cordon bleu, grilled tomatoes, baked beans, etc.

We ate only one evening meal at the hotel – in the bar area behind reception (the upstairs restaurant did not appear to be open at that time). The food was good, although certainly not as cheap as the prices we could have paid if we ventured outside the gates of the hotel. The Sunset beachside restaurant has been totally gutted and is currently under construction – due to finish by the end of this year.

The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful – and most of them spoke excellent English. They were all pleased when we attempted to use limited greetings in Indonesian, especially when these were offered by our son. We forgot to take an alarm clock with us and did not have our mobiles, so we had to rely on reception to provide a wake-up call each morning. This worked well until Day 5 when we woke an hour late and realised we had been forgotten – the hotel staff were incredibly apologetic and by that evening we noted they were using a new “wake up call” recording system.

Several days before we were due to leave, I enquired about late use of the room as we were departing on a midnight flight. We were quoted USD90 for use of the room until 6 pm, which we declined. The day prior to departure I asked whether there was a room we could use for a shower, and were told that would not be a problem. The next morning I again enquired and was told by another staff member that this would be fine as long as we came to reception by 7pm, so the room could be tidied after we showered in readiness for the next guest. That evening when we came to collect a room key we were told that this was not usually done and the staff on duty did not know about our arrangement – I would recommend that if you make this arrangement, have a comment put against your name in the computer – and take down the name of the staff member you speak to. However it was quickly sorted out and we were taken to a nearby Deluxe room, provided with towels, showered and felt fresh prior to our flight home.

The hotel itself, as I said, is in an excellent location. As you walk out of the main gates you are on Jl Kartika Plaza and there are numerous shops (DVDs, souvenirs, market type stalls), restaurants, etc. There is a Kodak currency exchange shop just past the Dynasty (turn left out of Santika, it is the hotel next door). Just past this is also a small supermarket for essentials, however if you are looking for a bigger and better shop with fresh fruit/vegetables, meats, etc, try a supermarket called Pepitos. You turn right out of hotel, walk to the next major corner and then turn left, walk for about 1 kilometre and this supermarket is on the left hand side, marked by a large orange sign. It is very clean and has everything you could possibly need/want. We walked to Pepitos, but noticed a number of Bluebird Taxis parked opposite, so caught one of them back to the hotel at the grand old sum of around $0.83.

The Queen of India restaurant serves really lovely food and is situated at the Bali Dynasty Hotel. The Dynasty also has an Irish pub beneath the lobby of the hotel called Gracie Kelly’s which serves meals. There are restaurants right along the street – including some of the better known ones such as Ifiore Italian and Bubba Gumps. Waterbom Park is along this street (turn left out of hotel), as is the Discovery Shopping Centre (in the same direction). However, Jl Kartika Plaza is very busy and if you are looking to get to Discovery Centre or Waterbom in a limited time, go through the back of the hotel and onto the beach. There is a fully made beach path now, and it takes less than 10 minutes to walk to both of these places. It is a very pleasant stroll, especially in the evening once the sun has gone down and the weather is cooler – and is well lit.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is not as “family friendly” as the Dynasty next door (it does not have kids club or water slide) – but neither did it have the hugely rowdy family groups. We found it a much “nicer” hotel which suited our purposes. There were always lounges vacant around the swimming pool and it was always quiet enough to read and very relaxing. The pool was always very clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank monkelpunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    189
    51
    20
    4
See reviews for
152
211
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

What a wonderful resort! We satyed for 7 nights and really didn't want to leave, upon check in we were upgraded to a garden villa about 50 meters from the beach, whilst construction was underway right in front of our villa we truly didn't notice it at all, it was actually quite amusing some days to watch construction Indo style! The villa was beautiful, clean and cool, aircon worked a treat, the bed was turned down every night a Frangipani placed on our pillows! The location was fantastic and the staff were great, if you get a chance learn some basic indonesian they really do appreciate it and will gladly teach you some more.....and it is really fun too! Breakfast was yummy and the banana fritters a Must! There are two pools but we used the main one as it was so peaceful and quiet and no kids seem to use it (we left ours at home!). There are drivers out the front who will negotiate a really cheap price with you, we had one for about 3.5 hrs for 150,000 which equals about $18 AUS we drove around heaps! Febris across the road is a great place for Massages, pedi's and mani's and fairly cheap! All in all a fantasic hotel, this was my 3rd trip to Bali and I will definatly be staying at the Santika again for sure! There is only one bad point about it...the bintangs are too dear, around 43,000 ($5.30 aus)... you can get them at the grocery shop down the road for 12,000 ($1.50 aus)! And the restaurant out the front attached to the hotel is Traditional and Beautiful! Give the Santika a try YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We have just spent 7 days at the Santika and could not have asked for more. Our Deluxe room overlooked the beautiful garden - it was large enough for two, had comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and the air con worked a treat. Breakfast was amazing, with enough variety of food to please everyone. The two pools were lovely, with enough chairs to accommodate everyone.
thanks to the staff who were wonderful, friendly, helpful and brightened up our day with their smiles or just a wave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Santika was referred to us by my wife's fellow worker - they have been there umteen times !! We were delightfully surprised - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - Best Breakfast with the most helpfull staff - could not do enough for you - The staff were the heroes of our stay - Great massage right over the road Febris - great restaurant in Santika does local Indo food - Top Class - excellent pools - A Bit of renovations going on down towards the beach area - building Villas and a Beach Restaurant it will be very nice when finished
Right next door to massive shopping centre and a great Japanese Rest on the beach - so reasonably priced for such a great location - Only negative is they need to tidy up their beach at night or something - furthere down from The Santika the beaches are much better but if thats all that needs doing they are going allright - Thank you Santika for a very enjoyable time!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Just got back from the Santika and yet again another great stay breakfast n staff great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

The deluxe room was very nice, spacious, and comfortable, with excellent bed and furniture. However, the bathroom and overall floor were extremely dated and took away from the feel of the room.

The breakfast buffet was great but they could change the menu every couple of days. Although the selection was pretty good, if you stay there for a couple of days like I did, things eventually become old.

The pools were very nice and the layout great!

The location was good and bad. Very close to the airport, right on the beach, and a quick 5-10 minute walk from the center of Kuta. However, if you plan on going to Legian or other parts a bit further north, plan on walking for at least 20-40 minutes (or a 10-20 minute taxi).

All in all, a good hotel, good value, with excellent service and good staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyujay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We loved are stay at Santika.

Gr8 location! Close to Airport & all the hussel bussel of Kuta. The Indian restaurant just outside the hotel serves the best Kali dal an Indian can ask for. Santika has v good pool & we were given a double upgrade....wowow... breakfast spread was v nice. The hotel is on a quite beach .... Legian the party place is close.... Loved our stay completely...

On the flip side .. the rooms were so big that it would take lot of time to cool the room.. so we left the aircon on when we left out....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDCARPETINDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.2 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Sandi Phala
The Sandi Phala
#7 of 20 in Tuban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#41 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anvaya Beach Resort Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santika Premiere Beach Resort Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santika Premiere Beach Resort Bali

Property: Hotel Santika Premiere Beach Resort Bali
Address: Jalan Kartika, Tuban, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tuban
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
#4 Family Hotel in Tuban
#5 Spa Hotel in Tuban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santika Premiere Beach Resort Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santika Premiere Beach Resort Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santika Beach
Santika Beach Tuban
Santika Beach Hotel
Hotel Santika Premiere Beach Resort Bali Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing