We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport, but…”
Review of Anika Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anika Guest House
Ranked #7 of 22 Tuban B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Close to the airport, but…”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Booked this as it was close and convenient to the airport and we had an early flight... Nice idea but this guest house misses the point.

First the restaurant was only open for breakfast and we were gone before it opened. To get dinner we had to taxi to Kuta, so we should have just stayed there.

Second, they only do airport drop-offs close to buisness hours which defeated the reason for us staying here!

Kuta is close enough to the airport, find a place there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pounamu-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

A perfect one night stay for transit through Bali with a free airport shuttle and very friendly staff who were more than happy to fetch us some snacks and drinks after a long flight.
The guesthouse is small and quaint with modern rooms and décor. Very clean and breakfast on the roof terrace is a treat.

Located only 5 minutes from the airport yet seemed so quiet. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybunny7381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We didn't stay in the accommodation but were picked up from Ubud. I thoroughly enjoyed the food and the class.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetGetaways0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We paid 550,000 rupiah to stay here (superior room). They have a new apartment about 20metres from the guesthouse. This is the new rooms.

Beds very comfortable, has LCD tvs. You can get picked up and dropped off at the airport for free. The trip to airport is only 5minutes so really close. They let us check in super early at 630am without incurring any extra costs which was amazing. They also dropped us off at Discovery Mall for free and we shopped around there and the Kuta, Legian, Seminyak area then took a taxi back for around 35,000 rupiah.

Great breakfast the next morning. Authentic Bali/Indonesian food here cooked on the spot when you order as opposed to those baymaries. I would have to say the most authentic nasi goreng and mee goreng i had on the trip. ie - has that kecap manis taste to it.

Only negatives is shower is the handheld one and pressure very weak. Also some ants on the floor but none on the bed. No big deal really. Air conditioner is new one and worked a treat.

All in all, great place for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank studlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We didn't stay at the guest house, but my boyfriend and I went to the spa on our third day in Bali and the cooking class with the market tour a few days later.

We went to the spa in the late evening, which was lovely and calming. The garden which it is situated in is absolutely beautiful, and I wish I could have taken a couple of photos! The foot spa was nice and the body massage was very relaxing. We also had a body scrub in our package, which made our skin nice soon after, though the next morning my sensitive skin was showing with red, itchy lumps all over my legs (so a little warning to people with sensitive skin!) I love how after we also got some ginger tea after everything, and the staff were friendly, which helped give the place a good atmosphere.

The Balinese cooking class, which is a little further up the small road from the spa was also a nice experience. It started early in the morning, with a trip to the market and learning about different foods and seeing how things are sold fresh each day. It was later that my boyfriend and I cooked in a group of 12 people with a wide range of ages and enjoyed our time learning about the different processes and cooking the Balinese way before trying each of the things we cooked and some very interesting things prepared for us. Must say that most of the foods were very spicy, but very tasty and our guide was very entertaining which gave a positive atmosphere and many laughs!
I'd warn about anyone who has trouble climbing sets of stairs though; those steps were so big and steep!! Being little, I almost had to climb up like a toddler does.

All up, the Anika group is wonderful, and extra thumbs up for the free transport from your hotel to the destinations. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinyLittleSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The food tasted amazing, the instructions were great and the company good, and although I learnt heaps and enjoyed the feast we cooked, the experience resulted in 2 days of food poisoning. It was the second last day of our trip and the last meal I ate so I have no doubt the "bali belly" situation I found myself in was definitely due to the food we cooked in the class. Food was pre-prepared and may have been sitting out before the class - I suspect either the chicken or the beef.....A further shock came previously to the belly ache and hot sweats - the bill was strangely inflated by an extra $25 on the quoted price......beware the Anika Cooking Class!

Room Tip: Try another cooking class
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RockinAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tuban hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
0.4 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
#4 of 21 in Tuban
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H Sovereign Bali
H Sovereign Bali
#45 of 252 in Kuta
344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sayang Maha Mertha
Sayang Maha Mertha
#82 of 87 in Legian
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anika Melati Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anika Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anika Guest House

Property: Anika Guest House
Address: Jalan Elang No.3, Tuban, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anika Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Anika Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anika Guest House Bali/Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing