We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property on Kuta beach...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Tuban
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice property on Kuta beach...”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

A nice property right on a public beach (Kuta). Even thought its a large property with a maze of rooms, yet it blends in beautifully with the local architecture. The main building is only 3 stories high so that it does not stick out. The reception is very open & breezy with local indonesian materials. There are lots of open air sittings to take in the sun & the beach. There is a bar in the middle of the swimming pool & that opens on to the beach. There is an ice cream parlor, restaurants, tennis court, gym etc. It also has large facilities for conferences & meetings.

Rooms are modern & seem like that they were recently refurbished.

Food at the hotel restaurants was average, but there are so many options outside the hotel that it doesn't really make sense to eat at the hotel. The hotel is on a very bustling road that leads directly to kuta beach. In the afternoon & evenings the beach is very active with lots of kids playing beach football etc. but by late evening it becomes completely empty so one can enjoy quiet walks after dinner. The beach is not at all dirty as I was led to believe about Bali beaches. It is not a 'white sand' kind of beach, but for a public beach it is very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    470
    115
    27
    16
See reviews for
709
461
64
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Chose to stay at Holiday Inn due to all the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. Booked the "Baruna Suite". Hotel design beautiful and location is superb. The staff are some of the friendliest people anywhere. Holiday Inn has fabulous customer service training, and when this hotel was built I'm sure it was top rate. Breakfast was good, fitness room very good.

Entering our room everything was nice, however we were immediately hit with a strong smell of mold and mildew. We thought this was only because they had not rented this room for awhile or it needed to be aired out. Further examination revealed extensive mold throught the entire room. The bathroom was clean, but all of the door jams, baseboards, and window sills were filty. See photos. I called reception regarding the mold and they seemed genuinely concerned. There was a member of housekeeping staff there within minutes who sprayed air freshener. This offered only temporary relief. Sadly, the housekeeping staff, as nice as they were, seemed completely ignorant on how to deal with this problem. We stayed for 6 nights. I bought a bottle of clorox and tried to wipe down the worst moldy areas myself. This helped somewhat, but the room still smelled bad all 6 nights.

The furniture was dated and worn. The table had been broken and glued back together crooked. See photos. I believe that about 10-15 years ago this was a nice room, but at this time the Baruna Suite is outdated, and extremely over priced for the market it competes in, even without the mold.

The staff was fabulous and tried their hardest to help. They just did not understand that air freshener will not get rid of mold. All other aspects of the hotel were very good. There are newer 4 and 5 star hotels in the area which we will try if we return.

Room Tip: Choose a room rented often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Never_stop_smiling47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

4th time back since this property opened and it never dissapoints.

Stayed 7 nights in a Grand Ocean room. Huge room and fits the family in well.

Must admit the curtains could do with replacing but I noticed the rooms next door now have timber blinds so it's likely this will be attended to soon.

I can't recommend this hotel more highly. Great for families!!

Definitely stay here again and again!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zedmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn last week with my niece and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are clean, modern and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are in good condition and well maintained. TV, DVD and ipod docking station also in the room. The room had a mini bar fridge which was empty for your own supplies.

The staff where all friendly and helpful and you could always find someone if you needed them.

The pool area is fantastic with lots of lounges and a lot of grassed area. There was also a lot of chairs and lounges at the Envy Bar where you can get free WiFi even if you don't buy a drink.

Breakfast was typical buffet however you had a little egg menu you ticked off to place your order. This was then brought to your table instead of having to wait around the egg station.

The location was also good. We would walk along the boardwalk to the discovery mall, waterbom park and even Kuta in the evenings. It wasn't that far and it was great exercise. It would take about 15mins to the mall and about 20-25mins to Kuta at a slow stroll. The sea breeze kept you cooler than if you went along the streets.

Loved this hotel and would recommend to anyone. Would defiantly stay here again. I have stayed at the Bintang Bali a couple of hotels up the beach and this hotel is ok but the Holiday Inn is much better.

Room Tip: All rooms are not far to walk to the pool. Poolside rooms would be noiser but have better view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here from the 21/1 to 24/1 in the Kids' Suite. No complains about the room. It was clean and had a view of the beach. We had to get a humidifier for the dampness. The walking path by the beach was great for morning walks. Simple breakfast.

The problem we had was we had an awesome beyond words stay at a villa in Ubud prior to here. So we couldn't help but compare to that.

The only problem i had with this hotel was no free wi-fi. Otherwise it's ok. It's great for kids.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vithia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We just spent 5 days at the Holiday Inn in Tuban and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a Family Suite and found the hotel, its grounds and the staff absolutly fantastic! The hotel had a smaller hotel feel to it than the likes of the Dynasty or Jayakarta....and there was always a really nice amount of people around. Enough to have an atmosphere but not enough to get in each others way. The cabanas around the grounds and pool and the lounges at the Envy bar, near the beach and around the rooms really added to the relaxed feel. And the icecream bar was a real hit each afternoon :)

The family suite was really big. The kids room was really an interconnecting room that had been made into a kids room. It had pirate beds which our son loved, bean bags and a big joint enclosed balcony which was great for the kids (4 yo and 1 yo). The kids room had a bath and a lock on the balcony door which was excellent. Probably the only bad thing was it had its own outside door which we had to really hope the 4 yo didnt open, and also it had interconnecting doors so i dragged the chairs over to keep them open so the kids couldnt accidently lock themselves in. The rooms were really quiet too and the aircon was so quiet i would argue with my hubby on whether it was on or not! Things would sometimes feel cold if you left the aircon on all day but we had no issues with the damp that others would mention.

The pool was a great size and right beside the beach. There was a 40cm deep toddler pool and the main pool had a gradual to 40cm deep section then the rest was 1.4m. There were pockets of shade around the pool depending on the day due to the trees.

The only thing we didnt like about this hotel was its location. There is just nothing else around. We walked for 10 min to the left of the hotel one day and that took us to a dead end and another hotel. 10 min the other way found 1 local/cheap restaraunt and some small 7-11 type shops and a massage place. The massages were pretty good though especially at Rpt50,000 (AUD$6) for 1hr.

This is the best hotel we've found so far in bali (been 5 times in last 2 years) and we would definitly stay here again if it was only for a few nights and we didnt want to do too much or leave the hotel grounds. It would be really good if you could somehow transpose the hotel to Legian lol!

Room Tip: Ask for a family suite or a pool view room as they are all really close to the rest of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ab_n_tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2012

me and my wife were 2 days in holiday inn bali , only onw word to describe it it is that its awesome...food is too good , hospitality has no match a very good location n gr8 fun in swimming pool....so wanna go to bali again just to visit holiday inn bali...Thanks to the staff of the hotel for their hospitality and good food

Room Tip: If you could go for a sea facing room its the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankur467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.6 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#20 of 254 in Kuta
5,246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Bali Kuta Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Address: Jalan Wana Segara 33 | South Kuta, Tuban, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
#1 Spa Hotel in Tuban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tuban
#1 Family Hotel in Tuban
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tuban
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort(R)Baruna Bali seamlessly blends with the alluring white-sand beaches of Pantai Segara, locally known as Pantai Jerman, which stretches off the southern coast of Kuta in Bali. A mere ten-minute drive from Bali's International Airport, South Kuta's relatively quiet beaches are a haven for relaxation while a short walk leads to central Kuta's vibrant streets lined with restaurants, bars, shops and markets; the newly completed boardwalk along the beach enables visitors to enjoy a scenic stroll from South Kuta to the famous Kuta Beach in the North. Holiday Inn Resort(R)Baruna Bali offers 193 guest rooms and suites, ranging in size from 28 to 75 square metre, all with private balconies boasting stunning vistas of shimmering azure sea or the Resort(R) 's pool and verdant lawns. Sleek contemporary furnishings with Balinese tropical accents optimize the space for rest and relaxation and have been designed to appeal to families and couples as well as individual travelers. All rooms come conveniently equipped with high-speed wireless internet connectivity, 32-inch flat-screen televisions with over 60 cable channels, CD/DVD players, iPod docking stations, mini refrigerators and tea and coffee making facilities, while hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms with separate bath and power shower areas and 40-inch televisions are standard in all suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali Hotel Tuban
Holiday Inn Baruna Bali
Holiday Inn Tuban
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing