We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations, reliable and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Tuban
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations, reliable and relaxing”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights. Our first trip to Bali for our 3rd Honeymoon.

Picked Holiday Inn as a "safe choice", not having been to Bali before. Had thought we might look around and find somewhere better, maybe in Kuta, but we stayed the whole 10 nights because we loved it.

I expected lots of young families, but the guests were really mixed. I worried it was too far from Kuta, but in fact it was just far enough to put space between Kuta's noise and energy, so we could genuinely relax in perfect peace.

On the map it looks really close to the airport. While it was possible to hear the planes on occasion, they were never intrusive even when sleeping in the bali huts near the beach. We spent days on end laying by the pool reading and relaxing.

Rooms were great, but the walls are thin so sleeping in wasn't easy with noisy early rising neighbours. Food and beverage quality and pricing was really good. Not as cheap as local restaurants, but great quality/value. They even had real coffee for breakfast!

Staff were really friendly and responsive. We only learned how helpful they could be at the end. Our second last night, they recommended and booked us a restaurant at Jimbaran and arranged the restaurant to pick us up and drop us back - at no charge!

If/when we go to Bali again, we'll be staying here at least part of our trip.

Room Tip: Don't expect to see the Ocean properly from the Ocean view rooms, but it was worth the nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    455
    113
    27
    16
See reviews for
676
447
64
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed for the second time in 10 months. This time got a kid suite instead of a family suite. For younger kids I think the kid suite was much better laid out with a massive bathroom & a toilet with a door for privacy.
Kids enjoyed the kids club again (free if having a suite) and all amenities were clean & working. Pool area was beautiful and a great way to spend the day longing in a bale being able to watch the kids from afar.
Breakfast was ok but would benefit from a few daily specials to give some variety.
Staff very helpful & friendly.
Able to check in early upon transfer from safari park & only took a few minutes. Greeted by name with a drink & cold towel to freshen up.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We travelled at the start of June 2011 and stayed for 7 nights. We were a family of 4 and had interconnecting rooms. Our children were 4y/old and 1y/old. This place was brilliant and the staff brilliant. We will return next year and would not even consider staying anywhere else. This place ticks all the boxes and you would not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth25041973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I travel to Bali several times a year for short stay - business related reasons. I usually like to stay in Tuban as it close to the airport and I am flying a lot domestically in Indonesia using Bali as a hub, and it's close enough to Kuta, while being far enough away from it at the same time.

I chose the Holiday Inn as it offered a good value for my company while giving me the comfort and location I desired, and gave me points on my IC Hotels Priority Club account.

Check in is always the first point of contact when staying in a new hotel and it is hard not to form an opinion based on this experience. My check in experience was below average, especially for a service oriented location like Bali. The old debit MasterCard presented the first confusion. Even though it is treated no differently to a "regular" MasterCard because it had "Debit Card" written on it it confused the hell out of the receptionist. In this day and age when debit Mastercard and debit Visa Cards are very common, there is no excuse for an establishment under the Holiday Inn management to not know how to handle this card.

The rooms are nice and modern, with all amenities one would expect. I was surprised the room had no minibar, upon inquiring I was informed that "no Holiday Inn has a mini bars in the room" which is of course not true. When I pointed out that many Holiday Inns had mini bars the staff member wanted to argue with me that NO HOLIDAY INN has mini bars. Very disappointing attitude and poor training of the staff.

I was awoken one night just before 10pm when the front office phoned to see if I required a transfer the next day. Whilst many visitors to Bali are probably just heading out at that time, I find it inappropriate for the hotel to call a guest at that time of night trying to increase their revenue streams.

The rooms were not very sound proofed, I was woken several times by noisy other guests arriving back late. Whilst I appreciate they can arrive late in a place like Bali, the rooms could certainly be more sound proofed against these kind of things.


Overall the rooms, public areas, pool, beach access, gardens and amenities are all of a high standard

Food was good but again let down by poor service and low quality training of staff. The coffee was terrible at breakfast and ordering a flat white I was presented with a large mug filed less than half way with something closer to a cappuccino. I inquired what the point of serving such a huge mug with less than half its capacity filled, the staff members response was to fill the mug with a couple fo shots espresso making an undrinkable concoction. Breakfast buffet was on par with other similar hotels in Bali.

Check out was more nightmare ridden then check in. The staff just didn't have a clue. Small slightly irrelevant things added to the "drama" of checkout such as; the bill being charged in US Dollar yet still using the IDR Rupiah notation (so on the bill the room rate was IDR280 or basically a few cents, when it should have read US$280), my employment line filled in as "Google Inc" when asked how the hell they ended up with Google as my employer they claimed that any internet booking has Google on their employment line (Seriously WTF??), even though they had a priority desk for Gold Priority Club members like myself, it was not manned, I had booked a second room for my niece staying their and had indicated it was to be kept separate from my booking as my booking was business and her expenses would be paid separately they manged to totally confuse the two accounts. All these things combined with the poor standard of staff made check out unnecessarily tedious. There was a double a charge on my credit card I had to get my bank to sort out later as well.

In the big scope of things the let down for me was the poor staff training and ability, particularly compared to other high service quality hotels in Bali in a similar category to this Holiday Inn. Overall the service did not meet my expectations of either a Holiday Inn or a Balinese Resort. Outside of the service the experience was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalCitizen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel was amazing. It was located right on the beach. The lobby was open air and looked directly onto the beach. When you arrived in the lobby you received a refreshing welcome drink and a towel. You also got to sit down. Pool was relaxing and breakfast was delicious. Rooms were up to international standards.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffbl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Arrived after our Jetstar fight to be warmly welcomed and taken to our room. We are a family of 5-- 2 adults 3 kids 13,11 and 9 years and booked the Baruna suite. room 1112. Great location, ground level in front of pool. The pool cabanas are great, grounds beautiful with lots of well watered grass. We have two rooms two bathrooms and enough space for all. The beach is directly out front, no road between resort and beach like down Legian way. Breakfast is great and we are all satisfied. The rooms do smell a bit musty but nothing to worry about at all. Staff have been fantastic so helpful and friendly. We will def come back again

Room Tip: ask for room 1112 baruna suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We are 25-30yr couple and booked a week at Holiday Inn. The service is exceptional and the hotel is immaculate. The pool/sunbaking area quiet big with lots of options and view depending on how hot it is etc. The pool bar is dangerously awesome. Walk straight out of the pool onto the beach and grab a comfy couch to watch sunset.

The rooms are very nice. Ours was on the ground level looking over the pool which I'd get again for the convenience & views. Our package included a couples massage in the Teat Tree Spa which was pretty awesome. You definitely get cheaper massages elsewhere but the setup is very tranquil.

Other amenities included 1 week wi-fi (AU$50) which worked everywhere including by the pool, little shop to buy beer (AU$2 ea) and drinks etc. Breakfast cafe is perfect for a week's stay with great views/feel & food's better than most places. The restaurant has pretty amazing food and beautiful views & outdoor feel. Plenty of news TV Channels, bit of sport & music. Only 10mins from airport and a short walk to main shopping strip. Cab home from restaurants will cost $1-2 (get Blue Taksi with meters!!!)

Overall we were blown away by the hotel & went to look at some others we'd considered like O-CE-N & Ramada and were glad we didn't book there.

June was amazing with no humidity or rain. I imagine the pool is a godsend in wet months.

Room Tip: Ground level Ocean rooms overlooking pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutya85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuban
0.6 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#22 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Address: Jalan Wana Segara 33 | South Kuta, Tuban, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Tuban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tuban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tuban
#1 Family Hotel in Tuban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tuban
#1 Spa Hotel in Tuban
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tuban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort(R)Baruna Bali seamlessly blends with the alluring white-sand beaches of Pantai Segara, locally known as Pantai Jerman, which stretches off the southern coast of Kuta in Bali. A mere ten-minute drive from Bali's International Airport, South Kuta's relatively quiet beaches are a haven for relaxation while a short walk leads to central Kuta's vibrant streets lined with restaurants, bars, shops and markets; the newly completed boardwalk along the beach enables visitors to enjoy a scenic stroll from South Kuta to the famous Kuta Beach in the North. Holiday Inn Resort(R)Baruna Bali offers 193 guest rooms and suites, ranging in size from 28 to 75 square metre, all with private balconies boasting stunning vistas of shimmering azure sea or the Resort(R) 's pool and verdant lawns. Sleek contemporary furnishings with Balinese tropical accents optimize the space for rest and relaxation and have been designed to appeal to families and couples as well as individual travelers. All rooms come conveniently equipped with high-speed wireless internet connectivity, 32-inch flat-screen televisions with over 60 cable channels, CD/DVD players, iPod docking stations, mini refrigerators and tea and coffee making facilities, while hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms with separate bath and power shower areas and 40-inch televisions are standard in all suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali Hotel Tuban
Holiday Inn Baruna Bali
Holiday Inn Tuban
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali Tuban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing