We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing restuarant on Beach”
Review of Pantai Restaurant

Pantai Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Tuban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing restuarant on Beach”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We enjoyed this restaurant so much we went everyday for 8 days. We went at lunch time and had a few beers and watched the world go by. Its directly on the beach front and so relaxing. The food is alway hot and lovely. The staff are very friendly and the service is brilliant. One of our favourite places to sit and relax.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    129
    46
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ballina
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sunset is the best bit... and that's about it”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Ok so sorry for late review - Actually went last August (2011) after reading such good things on TA.
Service was really slow, even though we were there before many other guests we weren't served before a lot of them.
Husband and I ordered Nasi and Mie. Our kids (aged 5 and 7) both ordered fish. Servings, especialy husbands and mine were SO small. Thankfully the boys filled up on juices (which were delicious) and so got full quite quickly and we finished their meals - Other wise hubby and I would have left hungry for sure.
I think the best part of this place is the beautiful sunset which is comparable to Jimbaren.
However I wouldn't come again based on the bland food and small servings

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenstrongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long Wait, Bad Food”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The beachfront location is nice. Too bad we had to wait 90 minutes for a quites imple meal while the waitress deliberately ignored our frantic beckoning. When the food finally arrived, it ranged from unremarkable to almost inedible. The place is quite crowded -- mostly with guest more interested in the beer than anything else.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Arjuna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Mediocre at BEST!”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Wow, went to this restaurant after reading the reviews and were shocked to find it completely substandard. We chose Pantai because of the locality and closeness to where we were staying (Holiday Inn), and also because we walked passed it on the way back from an amazing meal at Ma Joly and it was busy!

From an atmospheric perspective Pantai looked nice, however found this restaurant to be a wolf in sheep's clothing. I can't go into dramatic detail as I'm not a food critic and also am still on holiday in Bali writing this review maybe to save at least one person from making the same mistake of going here.

To put it bluntly we compare Pantai to a cheap food court meal you would find in Australia, you leave feeling dirty, violated and robbed of your precious time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparxnsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood and atmosphere. So much better than hotel prices”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn and found the Pantai on our last night. Wish we'd found it earlier.

The restaurant was a very short walk along the beachfront pathway from the Holiday Inn. The dining tables are set up outdoors in a pleasant garden area, looking onto
the beach. At night the place is lit beautifully, adding to the atmosphere. We came prepared
with insect repellant and the
mozzies were no trouble at all.

Highlights of the meal were the calamari/squid pieces, seafood platter and seafood curry. The lobster and prawns on the platter were particularly delicious. And the chips - wow! Made from real, fresh potatoes; not those horrible pre-frozen chips that proliferate in Australia. We went for the seafood and the chips were a fantastic, unexpected bonus. Overall, the food isn't too fancy or pretentious... just
delicious, fresh, well cooked, well priced, local fare.

Total cost for a 2 course meal for 3, including drinks and the full seafood platter, was about 550000rp ($60AUD). An absolute bargain compared to what we paid at the
hotel.

We'll definitely head back to the Pantai on our next trip to Bali.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellebana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pantai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pantai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing