We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice place, close to Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite
GreenLeadersGold level
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Super nice place, close to Yosemite”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I went here for a quick over night to get away from home. I read the reviews and it all looked good. Good is not enough to describe this B and B. the rooms are large and furnished very nice. The kitchenette is big and has all the basics you might need, a better cork screw might be needed, but other than that it's all there. The room was spotless clean to the point it would pass the white glove test, don't think I've ever stayed in a cleaner place. The owners are very friendly, cool to say the least. The bath towels were great, nice and soft and looked new. There is a large deck off the building and my wife even saw some deer in the evening from the deck. Nice chairs on the deck make a great place to enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sunset. I would highly recommend this place, it's truely fantastic and very reasonable in the off season.

Room Tip: For the best deck views stay in the Sterling suite or the Sunrise suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWells5733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cabin (oak & pine suite) which were very spacious & comfortable. There is a deck and plenty of outdoor space around the cabin for BBQ and relaxing. There is no particular view from the cabin, for that you walk 1min to the deck on the main building were the view is absolutely wonderful. We sat there for breakfast every morning & only the grandeur of Yosemite was enough to pull us away. Brenda & John prepared a very nice & plentiful breakfast & were happy to take the time to talk with us about anything we wanted to know. They are both really great people. We ate at the Hitchin Post the first night which is just 3 mins drive away which provides good value meals (nothing fancy but friendly service & a good range with large portions). Oakhurst is about 10 mins away with a wide range of restaurants if you want a change. Although it is a bit of a drive from the centre of Yosemite I would definitely stay here again when visiting the park.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmatthewsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Sierra Mountain Lodge B&B is slightly out of the way in terms of location but aside from this minor detail, it turnout out to be a perfect place to stay. The innkeepers, John and Brenda, are the most welcoming and knowledgable you could hope for (with a smattering of wry humour) - not to mention their skilfulness at being unobtrusive yet helpful at the same time... a rare talent these days.

We stayed in the sunrise suite - a lovely room... spacious, great views and with all the comforts of a small apartment. The only thing that would have made it arguably better would have been a stove top. However, I can see the reasons for not having one from a business perspective and having lived through the sticker shock of the local grocery store food prices, you might find yourself better off eating out at one of the locals - it would be cheaper!

I would highly recommend this as a base for families or couples alike. It is quiet, tucked away and soothing after a day in the park. Couldn't give it enough praise really.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had originally booked two nights but felt so comfortable there, we decided to book a third. The location to yosemite was very close and the views from the lodge were beautiful. We stayed in the Explorer Suite and felt so at home. It was very accommodating and clean. We looked forward to our morning breakfast with the other guests and John and Brenda. They truly make you feel like friends instead of guests. They are very knowledgeable on the area and things to do. Their hospitality was priceless!! John we really enjoyed your video our last day about yosemite and the fire fall. :-) we hope to stay there again! "Somebody in Texas Loves You".

Patrick and Rebecca Babineaux

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccababineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just got home from a 3 week holiday in the USA, we had a great time there traveling around, but the best place we stayed in was here.
very clean and well equipped, super comfy bed which also had the most nicest sheets on.
the views from where you sit to have breakfast or a drink in the evening are awesome.
and the owners are so nice and helpful.
we will definitely be returning here in the future and recommending this place to friends and family
the only down side for us was that we didn't have enough time here to stay and enjoy the place even more than we did.

Room Tip: we let the owners pick a lodge for us and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Sierra Mountain lodge for 2 nights on 27/28 July. Our family of 4 stayed in the Rose suite. Wow what an amazing place, we couldn't believe it when we saw the setting of the lodge and the fantastic views it has of the Yosemite area. It was so peaceful. The owners Brenda and John were lovely. They made the most amazing breakfasts- especially the pancakes and hot berries. John also gave us some great advice of which areas to visit as we were only there for a couple of nights. We went to a place called Glacier Point which I could definitely recommend. The views are absolutely breathtaking. Our accommodation had 2 double beds, a lounge area with settee, TV, etc., and a kitchen area. There was a BBQ that you were free to use, so we cooked a lovely steak one of the nights. Just went to a supermarket in Oakhurst to get provisions. We wished we had spent longer here as there are so many beautiful things to see and do around the Yosemite area. We will definitely return to Sierra Lodge again and recommend you give it a try!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam23031968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay. The rooms were clean and cosy. It was wonderful to sit on the verandah and take in the peace and quiet. Brenda and John were great hosts. Highly recommend Sierra Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahwahnee
6.5 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
19.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,009 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
19.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,786 reviews
5.9 mi away
Narrow Gauge Inn
Narrow Gauge Inn
#3 of 3 in Fish Camp
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite

Property: Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite
Address: 45046 Fort Nip Trl, Ahwahnee California 93601, Ahwahnee, CA 93601-9774
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging oasis centrally located between the Southern Entrance and Arch Rock Entrance of Yosemite National Park. 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and studios all with king or queen beds. Guest BBQs & Free WiFi. Sierra Mountain Lodge 45046 Fort Nip Trail, Ahwahnee Ca 93601 (559) 683-7673 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Mountain Hotel Ahwahnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing