We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic lodge with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite
GreenLeadersGold level
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge with amazing views”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Sierra Mountain lodge for 2 nights on 27/28 July. Our family of 4 stayed in the Rose suite. Wow what an amazing place, we couldn't believe it when we saw the setting of the lodge and the fantastic views it has of the Yosemite area. It was so peaceful. The owners Brenda and John were lovely. They made the most amazing breakfasts- especially the pancakes and hot berries. John also gave us some great advice of which areas to visit as we were only there for a couple of nights. We went to a place called Glacier Point which I could definitely recommend. The views are absolutely breathtaking. Our accommodation had 2 double beds, a lounge area with settee, TV, etc., and a kitchen area. There was a BBQ that you were free to use, so we cooked a lovely steak one of the nights. Just went to a supermarket in Oakhurst to get provisions. We wished we had spent longer here as there are so many beautiful things to see and do around the Yosemite area. We will definitely return to Sierra Lodge again and recommend you give it a try!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam23031968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay. The rooms were clean and cosy. It was wonderful to sit on the verandah and take in the peace and quiet. Brenda and John were great hosts. Highly recommend Sierra Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spacious suites... Everything is very well organised and thought through to the last detail. It can be seen that this is the owners passion... View from the verandah outside our suite was out of this world... Highly recommend a stay here..5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After struggling to find affordable lodgings for a single night, tripadvisor suggested this little gem. The innkeepers were both knowledgeable and friendly. They both had a great deal of knowledge about the local and surrounding areas and were very willing to share tricks and tips on how best to get around. We stayed in the Rose room. Our accommodations were clean and comfortable. My children especially enjoyed the free WiFi and satellite TV. We even spotted a squirrel and a deer just footsteps from our front door in the garden. I wish we'd had more time to stay and definitely give the Sierra Mountain Lodge B&B my hearty recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, IN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

What an awesome place, love it because it is out of the busyness of the parks. Nestled into the woods and hillside, very quiet. Great view off of the porch. Innkeepers were amazing and so friendly. Breakfast each morning was great, great way to start off a busy day of sightseeing. We stayed in the Explorer Suite. Heard little noise, great room for the early up and go, even though we sit for along time each morning talking to the innkeepers. Would love to visit here again.

Room Tip: Explorer room is great for the get in later and up early family. You will hear walking around upsta...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love that the innkeepers prepare for gluten-free visitors. Even will us a seperate toaster for the gluten free bread.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grasswidow85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'd struggled to book anywhere near to Yosemite that wasn't astronomically priced but also needed a stop between there and San Fran. I was delighted to find this place which requires booking through the website but is very simple to do.

We stopped here on 2nd July for a single night which are available despite contrary reports.

This place is a great place. About an hours drive from the Park edge, we stopped off on our East -West journey after two days in Yosemite. It's tucked away in a silent valley surrounded by incredible views back towards Yosemite and the rising sun.

The suites are huge and could comfortably accommodate a family. They have all you need with info provided on local eateries which are a short drive away. We got Chinese takeaway and brought it back to have and use our suite facilities.

Breakfast was lovely and we sat out on the decking overlooking the treetops towards the Park.

Our hosts John and Brenda were on hand for a chat and are a lovely friendly couple, ably supported by their son (I think) who provided us with entertainment and good service at breakfast.

My girlfriend and I set off for San Fran refreshed and replenished!

Thank you!

Room Tip: Had the Explorer Suite which is great despite 'noisy' reviews, if you want a lie in you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My family of 4 stayed in Rose Bed which is part of Sierra Mountain Lodge; close to Oakhurst. A short drive if you want to eat out or go to the grocery store. You pass Oakhurst on the way to Yosemite (about an hour away) Brenda was a fantastic host. Her & her husband provide very useful information for our visit to Yosemite. Breakfast was delicious. There was a variety of cereals, yogurts, fruits, pancakes or waffles, hard boiled eggs, English muffins, etc. The ambience of the lodge was relaxing, welcoming & serene. The bedrooms were nice; comfortable beds & pillows. Plenty of supplies in the kitchen: refrigerator, coffee maker, etc. The bathroom had everything you would need: hairdryer, toiletries, plenty of towels. Very easy check in. If you are looking for a great place to stay outside of Yosemite, this is it!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnossett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahwahnee
19.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
6.5 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
19.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,720 reviews
5.9 mi away
Narrow Gauge Inn
Narrow Gauge Inn
#3 of 4 in Fish Camp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite

Property: Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite
Address: 45046 Fort Nip Trl, Ahwahnee California 93601, Ahwahnee, CA 93601-9774
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging oasis centrally located between the Southern Entrance and Arch Rock Entrance of Yosemite National Park. 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and studios all with king or queen beds. Guest BBQs & Free WiFi. Sierra Mountain Lodge 45046 Fort Nip Trail, Ahwahnee Ca 93601 (559) 683-7673 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Mountain Hotel Ahwahnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing