We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven't even stayed a night yet, but LOVE this B and B already”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburg, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Haven't even stayed a night yet, but LOVE this B and B already”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My fiancé and I took a weekend trip to Oakhurst area and on our way home decided to explore the nooks and crannies and we found ourselves at the Sierra Mt. lodge. We decided to stop and go see if we could get some information and maybe check out a suite. When we walked into the lobby/guest registration/dinning area no one was there. We called out a few times, looked around for 5 minutes or so...used the rest room and still no one, lol. But that was okay, this place was vey calming, beautiful and inviting.
We decided to walk out onto their large patio and saw a suite was open and fount the Innkeeper, she was very nice and charming, she told us about the place and gave us ba short tour of one of the 1 bedroom suites. She then let us enjoy the beautiful view off the back patio and take a walk around the grounds.

We instantly fell in love with this B and B and are planning a weekend trip very soon. I honestly got an instant good feeling about the place and the Inn Keeper was wonderful.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are great, but the sunriser (i am 99% that is the name) will be the one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aim6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights - we were upgraded as they had overbooked , thanks for that to the sunrise suite (I think) The directions were easy to follow and we had no problem in finding it, we let ourselves in with the code no problem.
The suite had everything we wanted and more. The fact you can go the the breakfast area and help yourself to tea/coffee etc. is great. There is a good choice of DVD's - if the view is not enough to keep you occupied.
The trip to Yosemite is easy and took about 45 minutes. Breakfast was really good, fresh pancakes made for you and nice little sausages - courtesy of costco, fresh fruit, cereal, toast and great coffee, all served with some friendly chat and local information.
A really great place to stay and well worth the money

Room Tip: Get one that is to the front and get the view of the sunrise in the words of our American cousins Aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JONNNOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This we a great value for the money. We stayed in the Explorer Suite and really liked the room. They had some cute touches throughout the place. They are 30 minutes from the south entrance of the park, but never having been there before I didn't realize that it was still another hour from there to the valley. We spent too much time driving to and from the park - 3 hours a day. Great place if you want to explore the area, but the location is hard if you want to optimize your time at Yosemite.

Room Tip: As stated on their website, the Explorer Suite would be loud if there were a lot of guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildplummosaics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I wanted to get away for Thanksgiving weekend and were able to book the Sunrise Suite just a week in advance. The reservation was easy and the innkeeper, Brenda is friendly and helpful and on the phone.

Check in was also a breeze - you use a code to get your key, so no waiting around once you arrive. We found that this would be super convenient if you are arriving late at night and simply want to just get into your room.

The inn itself is quaint, rustic, but super charming. The views are just as good as you would receive inside the park, and if you book the Sunrise or Sterling Suites, you'll wake up to a beautiful sunrise each morning. We also found the common area (where breakfast is served) to be very welcoming, warm, and inviting. There are plenty of great DVDs to check out and coffee and hot tea available. Breakfast was was delicious and is served buffet style.

Our room was such a nice surprise! We've stayed at B&Bs before and have never had such a large room (and impressively clean!)! It was well equipped too, with a flat screen TV and really reliable WiFi.

Without a doubt, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here 2 days and visited Yosemite - accom in Yosemite was very pricey - stayed in the sunrise room which was the largest B&B room I have seen, gave us plenty or room to spread out!
Room was clean and quiet and the bed very comfortable. The hosts gave us instructions on where to go in the park and the best roads to take. Breakfast was great - plenty of fruit, cereal, toast, waffles or pancakes. Good Wifi reception as well

Room Tip: Pick the sunrise room - huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We booked a one night stay at the Sierra Mountain Lodge after four days of hiking and three straight nights of sleeping in a two man backpacking tent (which I love). As we drove through the town of Oakhurst, and headed up toward Ahwahnee, I really did not know what to expect. What we found was charming - more lodge-like than house. Our room was extremely spacious, immaculately clean, cool (which was great after a hot drive) and felt like heaven on earth to us. A shower and a large, very comfortable king-sized bed were exactly what we needed - not to mention a completely quiet, lovely night on the mountain side. In the morning, we enjoyed coffee on the large deck, and a delicious breakfast prepared by our host, John, who was super nice, helpful and fun to talk to.

I absolutely loved the Sierra Mountain Lodge. It was by far the best value of all of the places we stayed on this trip. What a lovely retreat! I highly recommend it, and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: The Sunrise suite was very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Thanks to my Sister and Daughter we spent our 30th anniversary here and enjoyed our selfs immensely. thank you all. The Inn Keeper made us feel at home had a wonderfull time at breakfast sitting and talking with the Inn Keeper getting to know the History of the area and the Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papaof9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahwahnee
6.5 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
19.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,036 reviews
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
7.1 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
19.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite

Property: Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite
Address: 45046 Fort Nip Trl, Ahwahnee California 93601, Ahwahnee, CA 93601-9774
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging oasis centrally located between the Southern Entrance and Arch Rock Entrance of Yosemite National Park. 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and studios all with king or queen beds. Guest BBQs & Free WiFi. Sierra Mountain Lodge 45046 Fort Nip Trail, Ahwahnee Ca 93601 (559) 683-7673 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Sierra Mountain Lodge - Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Mountain Hotel Ahwahnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing