We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homestead Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you're looking to get away from the noise and fast pace of city life this is the place to be. Larry and Cindy have created this warm , inviting getaway that is just what the doctor ordered. They make you feel like part of their family and leave you wanting for nothing. One not: while there is free Wi-Fi there is no cell phone signal here. Think of that as a blessing in and of itself.

Room Tip: These are basically cottages and each are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Txnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
126
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Five years ago my wife and I found this lovely place and vowed we'd return. Normally you say immediately after a visit. Usually we don't especially as we are so far away in the UK. I'm so glad we came back.
First the Property, it's tucked away just up the road from Oakhurst. There is nothing else around apart from the animals. If you love Big Sky then this place is perfect. The cabins are beautiful well equipped and spacious
Secondly Cindy and Larry our hosts. They are quite simply two of the nicest people I have met. They followed a dream and are so proud of this place.
Of all the places I stay this is the one I'd return to in a heartbeat

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamMcFTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Out of the way and well worth the drive off the beaten path.
We were only able to stay one night but it was one of the best places we have ever had the
pleasure to stay.
Larry and Cindy, the owners, are there to be of service and to help you have a wonderful stay.
This is the place to stay if you are going to Yosemite, it's just off highway 41 on the way to the
park.
There are only six individual cottages so book early, you will find yourself in quite farm country,
out of the way but only a few blocks from a golf course, and 20 min. to the bigger town with
anything you may need.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

My wife and I always enjoy our time at Homestead and Larry and Cindy are great hosts. The cottages are very comfortable and the full kitchen is wonderful, we bring all our own food. And this year we drove there in our Tesla Model S and used the table saw electrical outlet in "the barn" to charge it overnight at no cost to us! I posted this on Plugshare: there is an L6-20 230 volt outlet that Larry made available to us. It charged our car at 28 amps / 228 volts which was all we needed for a full overnight charge. You can get an L6-20 to NEMA 14-50 adaptor here http://www.evseadapters.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=57&product_id=59

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryBrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We based ourselves here for a few nights to explore Yosemite and the surrounding area. The apartment was well placed, far enough away from any others to avoid any noise, and it was very well equipped. The breakfast basket which was refreshed each day was a great help, as were the owners and reception staff. It's a drive away from any local restaurants, which is possibly the only negative I can think of - but the scenery at the location is a joy to behold. The hidden benefits we discovered when we asked about laundry options - they simply did a load for us for free - it came back ironed and in a brown paper parcel tied with string (Julie Andrews anyone?). They also have a phone at the reception building which allows you to make long distance calls to the US (and to the UK!) for free. I would really recommend this place as a quiet restful location as a base to explore from. Not quite sure how it would have fared for us in the days when we had a young family in tow, but that would depend on their ability to have fun in the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My husband and I had a most delightful stay! The cottage was fully equipped for our needs and offered privacy as well. One evening we ordered take-out from one of the local Italian restaurants in Oakhurst just so we could eat outside at our cottage. It was so pleasant! Cindy and Larry were most helpful and made sure everything was just perfect. We really enjoyed Yosemite and all the beauty it offered.

Room Tip: It is a great location for visiting Yosemite. You can tour during the day and come back at night to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked Homestead cottages and wanted to use it as a basis to explore Yosemite NP and then we ended up in the middle of the government shutdown! We hesitated if it was still worth going there and oh, we were so happy that we did! We couldnt have had better hosts than Cindy and Larry who did an outstanding job in providing us with daily updates on the shutdown and giving excellent advice on alternative daytrips. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed some beautiful hikes in the Sierra National Forest and went to Fresno Dome and we were sorry we had to move on to our next destination, we would have been happy to stay a few more nights. We stayed in the American native cottage which was clean and cosy and very well equipped! We did some shopping in the supermarket in Oakhurst, located only a 10 minute drive from the cottage so we could use the BBQ that is available on the property for the guests. No need to buy any breakfast items as this was included in our stay, we were provided with orange juice, water, milk, granola, fresh fruit and muffins on a daily basis. Fantastic! If you want a nice and quiet stay in a wonderful cottage in a beautiful area, go and book your stay in Homestead cottages now! We have a good excuse to come back, still need to explore Yosemite NP. Thanks again Cindy and Larry for being such wonderful hosts.
Bernard and Simone

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bersim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahwahnee
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
22.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
6.6 mi away
Queen's Inn by the River
Queen's Inn by the River
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
22.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Property: Homestead Cottages
Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, luxury, romantic and family friendly cottages located on 40 wooded acres close to the southern entrance of Yosemite National Park. Each cottage has 1 or 2 bed rooms that can accommodate 2-6 guests and includes a fully equipped kitchen, a romantic bedroom with a queen size bed, a cozy living room with a queen size sofa sleeper, and a spacious bathroom. Complimentary WiFi. Free continental breakfast is provided in your cottage. Two night minimum for weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing