We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Country California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Country California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the most improbable setting imaginable, 4 miles outside the nearest small town, but easy drive to Sequoyia and Yosemite National Parks, immaculately presented housing and grounds, free ranging cattle nearby, no grass, but zen like stone raking (maybe the dreaded rattlesnakes). Very comfortable bedding, about 3 feet up, hand crafted by the owners throughout. Beautiful and well matched furnishings, great kitchen with starter food and condiments, and fresh baked breads for breakfast. Cindy and Larry go way over the top to make you feel welcome and special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
121
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were scheduled to visit the Homestead for three days in late August, coinciding with the Yosemite fire. Although the area the Homestead in was not affected by the fire, we were scheduled to fly info Reno, spend time in Tahoe, and then go on to Yosemite. We had to cancel our trip due to my asthma, the ash and smoke in Reno, Tahoe and on the way to Yosemite would have been impossible. So we asked to cancel at the Homestead too since we cancelled our entire trip and they graciously agreed even though they didn't have to. Their understanding was unique and we are grateful.

The cottages look so fabulous and inviting that we are disappointed we couldn't go but look forward to a trip there where we will thank Cindy and Larry in person.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starhbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A very comfortable and relaxing place to rest after full days exploring Yosemite! At check-in, Larry was more than accommodating with lots of helpful information about the park as well as the local area. We loved the cottage for its privacy and it felt much more homely than a hotel would have done. You can tell that with years of running the Homestead that the owners have listened carefully to feedback from guests to ensure every eventuality is covered. A good example is the binder of information that gave us lots of good ideas about Yosemite hikes and where to eat in nearby Oakhurst.

We did rely on the satnav to get us to the Homestead and it led us down a dirt road so make sure you look up directions beforehand. It is actually very easy to get to once you know the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruise to Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Even though we had to drive 20 miles outside of Yosemite to get to the
Homestead Cottages, we wouldn't have changed our plans for anything.
We loved the cottage that we stayed in. It was so relaxing after a
strenuous day of hiking and sightseeing at Yosemite. We were very pleased with
how clean the cottage was throughout our stay. The breakfast that was provided was
very fresh and delicious. Cindy and Larry made sure that everything
was available that we would need. They were so gracious and accommodating.
We will be sure to tell all of our friends about our wonderful experiences at the Homestead.
We hope to be able to return again.


.

Room Tip: Don't miss this gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fully serviced cottage on a small road to nowhere in particular. On beautiful private ranch rich in birds and animals and with private parking outside the cottage. We were using it as a 3 night stopover to visit Yosemite and it definitely works but remember that it is over 40 very slow miles to the NP whichever way you go so make allowances. Nearer to Oakhurst than Ahwahnee but Oakhurst is the better centre for food and drink. Nothing was missing from the cottage set up and a small breakfast of cereal, a muffin and a piece of fruit is provided each day. To be honest, we tended to take the muffin and fruit for lunch and get an American breakfast in Mariposa or Oakhurst.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeswickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in one of the cottages a couple weeks ago while visiting Yosemite. Our charming little cottage had everything you can think of...so much attention to detail, especially the orange juice, milk, muffins, granola, and fruit they provided. I mean, seriously, who does that kind of thing?! Talk about making you feel special! The decor was attractive, and our bed was very comfortable. The owners, Larry and Cindy, are warm and friendly, and chock full of useful information. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it a thousand times over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippnthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I just stayed in one of the Homestead Cottages with my daughters. It is a wonderful property and Cindy and Larry who own and run the cottages were wonderful. It was very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the use of the barbeque each evening to cook our dinner and we spent the days in Yosemite. We highly recommend this location for travelers to Yosemite. It was a tremendous value and we appreciate their hospitality. The furnishings and decor were also very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Aggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahwahnee
6.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
22.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,773 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
22.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,301 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Property: Homestead Cottages
Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601-9625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, luxury, romantic and family friendly cottages located on 40 wooded acres close to the southern entrance of Yosemite National Park. Each cottage has 1 or 2 bed rooms that can accommodate 2-6 guests and includes a fully equipped kitchen, a romantic bedroom with a queen size bed, a cozy living room with a queen size sofa sleeper, and a spacious bathroom. Complimentary WiFi. Free continental breakfast is provided in your cottage. Two night minimum for weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing