We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sierra Meadows(Ahwahnee)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$205
$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Sierra Inn(Oakhurst)
$159
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$207
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$160
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$469
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $473/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
188
21
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
21
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolagarden cottagefruitfull kitchennative americanat homeminute drivevisiting yosemitesouth gate of yosemiteget awaypeace and quietthe managersbeautiful locationliving areanice sizetwo nightsgolf course
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 212 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at these cottages Sept. 2012 for four days during our visit to Yosemite. We rented a one bedroom cabin. The cabin was great! It was clean, big, and decorated beautifully. It had a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, tv and wifi access. Seperate bed and bathroom and living/dining area. The host and hostess Larry and Cindy were great. They provide you with directions, menus of different restaurants in the area and their favorite picks. They provide you with a list of area grocery stores as well if you want to cook in the cabin. Dishes, pots & pans, bake wear; everything you need to cook is provided. And what was really awesome was the freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade muffins, cereal, milk ,coffe, tea or cocoa and even apples and bananas that were left in the cabin every single morning! It was about a 20 minute drive into town or maybe a little less. There's plenty in town. Theres fine dining, McDonalds, gas stations, licquor stores all in a 5 mile radius. The cabins have a patio in the back to sit out and relax and do some star gazing or wildlife viewing. We seen deer, turkey, everyday .....it was quiet and peaceful...Would definitely stay again. Lost pictures of cabin...visit the website and check it out!

Room Tip: Our cabin was right above the cabin/lodge where they check you in....we never heard anyone making noise etc....The other good thing about these cabins is that the owners house is right on the property. So if there is any problem, theres always someone available to take care of you.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geminigirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We chose to stay for 5 nights, based on reviews that we had read on tripadvisor, and am so glad that we did. Cottages are set in the most beautiful location and are so peaceful that we spent a whole day just chilling out there. Yosemite is only about 30-40 mins easy drive away, with shops on way so you can pick up supplies. Make sure to visit Bass Lake which is really lovely and was so quiet and peaceful while we were there. Our thanks to Larry and Cindy for such a welcome stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lol205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked two nights in a cottage for our 11th anniversary. The peace and beauty of Homestead Cottages is exactly what we needed with my work being so frantic for several months. My mountain man enjoyed the scenery of the foothills he drove around in as kid growing up in the valley.
Larry and Cindy met us upon our arrival and made sure we were settled in. The cottage was cuter than the pictures show. We enjoyed the fruit of Larry's creative efforts and he and Cindy's hard work in making their dream come true.
We asked for a quiet location, and they put us in a lovely spot. The little patio area in back was nicely raked like a little zen garden for us to sit out at night and look at the stars, or enjoy a cup of tea in the morning.
We love a firm bed, so the softer spring bed made solid sleep a little difficult for us, but we still loved our time in the cottage. The rain shower was great with soft well water. Loved the Tranquility music channel on TV. We're not big cold breakfast eaters, but the muffins were nice to have in the morning.
We would love to have a full week (a month would be even better) to just camp out in a cottage!
Definitely worth a little drive in the pretty country to stay here and get away from the tourist crowds in Oakhurst and Mariposa - especially if you're a couple wanting a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

There is not alot I can say that hasnt already been said in numerous reviews already. The cottages are set in a beautiful quiet area near Oakhurst, a fairly long but very picturesque driver from incredible Yosemite national park.
My wife and I were made to feel very welcome on arrival and we absolutely loved our accomodation in the star loft, lovely views and very comfortable and homely. The room itself was very spacious for two people and nicely furnished.
The owners clearly know their stuff, there was a very helpful guide book to the local restaurants and shops, we especially liked the fresh fruit and muffins that were put in our room every day which were the perfect start for the early morning drives in to the park.
All in all this was the perfect place for us, so much more affordable than the overpriced places in the park and we felt relaxed and at home within minutes of arrival. I highly recommend this place, you really should not stay at places like the awahnee hotel when this is just down the road.

Room Tip: The star loft was perfect for 2 people, really cosy and romantic...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The great service from Cindy and Larry began even before we arrived. We had problems at home at the last minute and had to cancel our trip. We were terribly stressed and contacted them actually expecting to lose all of our money. They were amazingly understanding and sorted us a new booking a few months later - no problem.
When we finally arrived I don't think I've ever had such a big smile as I walked into a room. The cabin was lovely, and there were even some supplies for the next morning. It was all so tranquil and cosy that I was sad that we had planned a full day out in Yosemite, were only staying two nights.
Larry and Cindy were actually on a break themselves during our visit, but Tess, who was looking after the place, was also welcoming and helpful.
I would recommend The Homestead to anyone holidaying near Yosemite, and think many of the hotels we visited later in our trip could learn a lot from the way they operate and the standards they provide.
Thanks All at the Homestead for a great visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin one. I can't say it was any better than any of the others, but we loved it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews