We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homestead Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Ehat a great little find. Cindy and Larry personally came down and went through all the available cycle trails that my husband could use. We stayed in the lodge and one of the smaller cottages for two nights each. The lodge was ideal for our party, it was spotlessly clean, and the beds very comfortable. When we moved to the smaller cottage it was no issue at all. We left everything in the lodge and went out for the day, when we came back all our stuff had been transferred and even the fridge items had been moved. The smaller cottage was fine, even with the sofabed and rollaway down there was still plenty of room to move around, we had the Indian themed cottage and the master bed was huge and so so comfy! The breakfast granola was lovely and although the muffins were lovely it would have been nice to have the choice of bread so that toast could have been made instead. Eating a very large muffin (which in the UK is essentially a cake to be eaten with a cup of tea mid afternoon) for breakfast just seems wrong on so many levels and my two children wouldn't eat them. Free calls to the UK was also an added bonus. Location to Yosemite is great although if you have the time spend a day in Bass Lake and hire a boat, what a blast! Also if you need a bike then Yosemite bike shop in Oakhurst (10-15 minutes drive away) is a must. My husband had issues with his bike and took it here. They opened the shop early for him, fixed the bike with no issues and the owner then took him out on some local off road trails for the next two mornings, great guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
126
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The owner/operator's are very welcoming and helpful. A quick 30 minute drive to the southern gate of Yosemite. The cottages are very comfortable and homey. The homestead feels like it is in the middle of nowhere but is actually only ten minutes from a small town with two large grocery stores and many restaurants and services. A great alternative to pricey and limited housing in the park highly reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooseatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The cottage is very clean and located in very quiet surroundings. They provide almost everything you need as a home. Very comfortable bathtub. The breakfast is fresh and plenty. The owners Cindy and Larry are very friendly, introducing the park and nearby area. 40 minutes drive distance from Yosemite is not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amymm2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

When you travel you always look for places that satisfy your every desire. The Homestead is just such a place. Cindy is the best! An overachiever (she glides up and down the hills) that makes sure your every request is granted. We had the Garden Cottage at the top of the hill and it was just wonderful. Very clean, well stocked ( orange juice, granola, and muffins are super), and so quiet that we thought we heard a pin drop in Mariposa!!!! We bought steaks at a wonderful grocery in Oakhurst, cooked on the nice outdoor grill and ate at the picnic table provided. We loved sitting outside under the trees in the cool evening with a glass of wine. A complete selection of books is provided for your enjoyment. You also have the convenience of being close to Yosemite and the tours. We would never consider anyplace else. Larry was under the weather and we hope he has recovered and is doing well. Thanks Larry and Cindy for a wonderful stay!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel15204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I would give Homestead Cottages 6 stars if it was possible. The place is incredible, the views are amazing, and the owners treat guests like family members. My family will be revisiting Homestead Cottages. If you are planning a trip to Yosemite, you cannot pass this place up. I cannot thank Larry, and Cindy enough for making our vacation feel like we were visiting relatives. There is no noise except the forest, and the staff do an excellent job. There was fresh granola, and muffin each morning. I cannot say enough about our experience. The garden cottage with the soaking tub was relaxing after a tough day of hiking. This place is worth every penny, and they should be charging more. Thank you once more Larry, and Cindy for a great vacation. Dexter, I hope someday to see you again.

Room Tip: The garden cottage is worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The stay at The Homestead was an experience we will never forget. We stayed at the country cottage, we enjoyed every minute we spent at this place. The staff was great, the accomodations were wonderful, the tranquility of this place is incoparable. I will go back in a heart beat. Thank you Cindy and Larry for building such paradise for people to enjoy!

Room Tip: The country cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in the Stargazing Loft at the Homestead for 4 nights whilst we visited Yosemite and the surrounding area.

The Homestead is set in beautiful surroundings and was so peaceful and relaxing after long days spent in the National Park.

The loft itself was spotless, comfortable and a home away from home which we greatly enjoyed during our stay.

The fridge in the kitchenette was kept stocked with milk, water and according to my husband, the best orange juice he had ever tasted. There were also delicious muffins, fruit and granola offered and replenished daily.

There was free wi-fi in the loft which had a great signal strength and a lovely added bonus was the free telephone calls available, including calls to the UK which enabled us to call our parents at home.

Melissa, who met us to help us check-in was very friendly and made us feel very welcome as she showed us around the loft.

Cindy, when we met her welcomed us and made us feel like old friends. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Unfortunately we did not get to meet Larry as he was recovering from an operation.

Our only regret is that we could not stay longer in this little piece of paradise. We will definitely stay at the Homestead again if we return to the area.

Thank you Cindy, Larry and your team for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahwahnee
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
22.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
6.6 mi away
Queen's Inn by the River
Queen's Inn by the River
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
22.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Property: Homestead Cottages
Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, luxury, romantic and family friendly cottages located on 40 wooded acres close to the southern entrance of Yosemite National Park. Each cottage has 1 or 2 bed rooms that can accommodate 2-6 guests and includes a fully equipped kitchen, a romantic bedroom with a queen size bed, a cozy living room with a queen size sofa sleeper, and a spacious bathroom. Complimentary WiFi. Free continental breakfast is provided in your cottage. Two night minimum for weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing