We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like home at the "The Homestead Cottages"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homestead Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Ahwahnee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just like home at the "The Homestead Cottages"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My father and I had a wonderful experience at "The Homestead".The owners Larry and Cindy are very kind and make you feel at home.We stayed in the Ranch House which was just lovely.You can tell by the decorating what amount of love and caring they put into this place.The muffins were outstanding and the house was spotless.We stayed two nights and that was not enough. It was a great place for my nervous father to rest.He loved it. I can't wait to someday return with my husband.

Room Tip: All rooms seem perfect.Ranch house would be for up to six people but my father and I found it perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
126
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We just spent two wonderful nights at the Homestead Cottages and loved everything about it. The cottage was very well furnished, clean and comfortable! I loved the robes that were provided, comfy, cozy! The muffins were yummy and the orange juice delicious. We have family close by and we were able to have them come for dinner, using the BBQ area that is provided outside of the cottages and everyone agreed that this is a fantastic place to stay. We can't wait to come and visit again. Thank you for a wonderful place to get away from it all!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Native American Cottage and loved the area outside that had a large piece of granit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsjfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our only disappointment was that we could stay only one night due to the way our trip was planned. The Homestead far exceeded our expectations. It is a great location, approx 40 mins from the South entrance of Yosemite in a beautifully quiet location. Oakhurst near by has many shops and restaurants that would suffice during a longer stay. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage that was extremely clean and well equipped. I would imagine staying for a week would be a treat as the kitchen is very well equipped, there is a bbq on-site and sitting out on the porch at night star gazing is amazing. The breakfast left in the cottage for us was lovely and fresh... granola, muffins, milk, juice, tea and coffee. Larry is very friendly and available to answer any questions we had. We hope to return to Yosemite again and will not even consider any other accomodation except for the Homestead!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have nothing to add to all the glowing reviews below, except yes: this has been our experience also in the two nights we stayed at the Homestead. In any other place I've ever stayed in, at some point management attention sags, and keeping the place running becomes a chore. Somehow, Larry and Cindy seem to be able to maintain their dedication to this place and to their guests as a labor of love. Everything fits, every little detail is taken care of. My hat off to them both. Oakhurst is nothing special (and neither are the restaurants etc there), but the Homestead is the real thing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Loved it from the minute we were personally greeted at the reception by Larry and Cindy who were exceptional hosts. Lovely people who are living the dream ! Terrific location, only a short drive to Yosemite. Oakhurst on your doorstep with plenty wonderful mom and pop places to eat. Having said that, once we had dined in "Crab Cakes" we never went anywhere else. Great one bedroomed cabin with decent sized rooms for the same price as you'd pay for a hotel. Easily found with the SatNav too ! The Homestead is a fantastic place to stay if you are visiting this part of the country. Only wish that we had planned our trip a bit better and stayed longer. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8Busby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We loved it here. The cottages are so cosy inside, with fireplaces and great kitchens. Cindy & Larry (&dog) were so welcoming, and the muffins each day were some of the best we'd ever tasted (apple crumb was our favourite!)
We'd already done several days inside Yosemite National Park itself, and so it was a great place to just unwind and relax away from the crowds.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cicadanoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We arrived late at night and Larry and Cindy were very understanding, giving us directions in case we got lost.

When we arrived they showed us to our room (the stargazing loft) where they had loads of information that we could read and take with us about Yosemite. The room was brilliant, it had a kitchette, which we would have love to have used, but we were only there for 2 nights.

Breakfast was left in the room each day and consisted of a huge muffin (3 flavours to choose from), fruit and granola. There was also fresh milk and orange juice in the fridge as well as a complimentary bottle of water each day. There was also free wifi in the room.

Probably one of the best things was that they offered us free calls to the UK and after 6 weeks of travelling and not calling home it was lovely to catch up with family.

Given the chance we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahwahnee
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
22.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
6.6 mi away
Queen's Inn by the River
Queen's Inn by the River
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
22.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Cottages

Property: Homestead Cottages
Address: 41110 Road 600, Ahwahnee, CA 93601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ahwahnee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ahwahnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, luxury, romantic and family friendly cottages located on 40 wooded acres close to the southern entrance of Yosemite National Park. Each cottage has 1 or 2 bed rooms that can accommodate 2-6 guests and includes a fully equipped kitchen, a romantic bedroom with a queen size bed, a cozy living room with a queen size sofa sleeper, and a spacious bathroom. Complimentary WiFi. Free continental breakfast is provided in your cottage. Two night minimum for weekends and holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Homestead Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Cottages Hotel Ahwahnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing