We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great food”

North Rock Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $40
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great place and great food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great slection of micro brews. Quality meat and fish selection. Great for a high quality dinner out or if you are tired of burgers while on vacation. Super friendly and helpful staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“More local than tourist”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

North Rock is located in a relatively quiet residential area of Smith's Parish. This is not necessarily on the tourist trail in Bermuda. And that's why I liked it! They serve the only beer brewed in Bermuda and have some tasty English Pub style menu items mixed with local favorites made their own way. The atmosphere is upscale pub with friendly, professional and courteous employees. Ask the bartender, Curtis, for ideas about what to do and see while visiting and he will surely give you some excellent ideas. They offer a beer sampler of the five local brews currently on tap, make a mean Rum Swizzle and the Bermuda Triangle is pretty good, too! For the food, try the Escargot for an appetizer and you won't be dissapointed. You can get savory ribs as an app or a main course and the scallops are presented in a unique, skewered, method. The fish of the day is always locally caught, ensuring the utmost freshness and flavor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A large group of us had lunch here, there were more people turned up than booked, and that was not a problem. They gave us a lovely table and made room for the extra guests. The greeting as we walked in was very friendly, from all the staff. Our waiter was polite, pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. As in most places the vegan/vegetarian option could be improved but the food was lovely. A nice little place to go for couple or family or a group, in fact we expect a lot of visitors this summer and will definitely be taking them here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Supermom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, great beer, a little pricey”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited North Rock mainly because I like really good beer. They lived up to that, the Porter and the Amber was excellent, that's the only ones I tried. We each had entrees which were very good, especially the beef and shrimp. Can't remember the bartenders name, sorry, but he was very helpful, friendly and attentive. Curtis came out and chatted with us for 20 minutes or so. We enjoyed his company as we did the rest of the staff.

Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get ready to be robbed blind”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went here the other night. Appetizers were good and friendly service but was not impressed by how badly they try and rip you off. I asked for the regular steak that comes on the menu. The waitress say, "Oh sorry but we dont have that steak, but you should try are 'Dinner Special' steak." The thing cost 47 dollars! Last time I checked specials are supposed to be cheaper. So after that I order the 'Jumpo' Shrimp pasta. I thought it was a joke when it came to the table. Three tiny shrimp with some tomatoes in a extremely bland white wine sauce. The worst part, 35 dollars for something that should probably be on the kids menu. NEVER EATING HERE AGAIN. Only good for locally brewed beers. Literally feel like they reached in my pocket and grabbed my money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SiMoBDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Rock Restaurant also viewed

Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Smith's Parish, Bermuda
 
Tucker's Town, St. George's Parish
 

Been to North Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing