We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great English menu and super service”
Review of Frog and Onion Pub

Frog and Onion Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Frog & Onion Pub is Bermuda's most unique Pub. Housed in the mid 18th century Cooperage in the historic Royal Naval Dockyard. The menu features a selection of Traditional English style pub food, innovative entrees and seafood. Home to Dockyard Brewing Company, Bermuda's only brewery.
Natick
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great English menu and super service”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Have lunch at this fantastic pub after your snorkel trip or jet ski! We had the most authentic English fish and chips ever, and the Beef Short Rib & Black Anchor Porter Pie. Delicious. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, very attentive. If this place were in Boston I'd visit once a month. Pricey yes but what is not pricey in Bermuda? Enjoy this place when you visit the Dockyard and you will not regret it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCAN-Natick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    549
    210
    49
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pomfret, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, above average pub grub!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our entire family enjoyed our dinner at the Frog & Onion! Great atmosphere set up like an English tavern with several huge fireplaces, banners and flags, and Dockyard/English fort memorabilia on the walls, as well as a decent sized bar, good game room and small gift shop off to the side. Great drinks, and very good pub style dinners. The fish and chips and the two fish specials were very tasty. My daughter's burger was huge, and perfectly cooked. Wonderfully seasoned fries and onion rings as well. Not cheap, but won't break the bank, considering you are dealing with Bermuda's high restaurant food prices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctbulldog90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

In August, my husband, son and son's girlfriend took a cruise to Bermuda and ported in the Royal Naval Dockyard for 3 days. On the second day in port, after dinner on the ship, we all browsed around the area and quickly came upon the Frog and Onion Pub. We stepped in and easily found enough spots to sit at the bar. Three of us ordered from the mixed drink menu (there were plenty to choose from) and my husband ordered a domestic beer. The drinks were rather pricey at about $12-$15 each, but the beer was only about $4. I ordered the Swizzle which is the rum drink known to Bermuda. I wasn't a fan of it, but that is just a subjective comment on the taste. Others loved it! We sat at the bar for about 1.5 hours, watched the cricket games on TV, talked to some locals and just sat back an enjoyed the atmosphere. This is no Senor Frog (there's actually no bar on the island like that), but was an enjoyable little pub,. They do serve food there, but no one in my party ate - we just drank! :)

They have outdoor seating, indoor seating and live music (which was really good). There is also a cute gift shop and the prices are about what you would expect in touristy towns in the U.S. I bought a cute Frog and Onion Pub t-shirt for $20.

The tab for 4 people (2 drinks each) was $82.00. The bar staff was attentive (but not overly talkative), and we did have to wait for over 10 minutes to get someone to check us out in the gift shop - not a big deal, just something to note.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saratoga_Pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Two years since our last visit and pleased to say that Frog & Onion continues to provide good pub food at Dockyard. Service was prompt and we enjoyed Fish & Chips accompanied by a glass of House Red and a bottle of Highland Spring. Our waiter was pleasant and efficient; helping to ensure a pleasant lunch.
For a good Pub Lunch, we recommend Frog & Onion

Helpful?
Thank canals56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“We loved it! Best fries I have ever had”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We ended up here by accident whilst touring the dockyard. Fantastic food. The service was great and quick. We loved the food. I had an amazing fish sandwich and my wife had the wahoo salad. It was great and a good value, under $40 for lunch which is great in Bermuda.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frog and Onion Pub also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Frog and Onion Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing