We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised”

National Museum of Bermuda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore 500 years of Bermuda history and culture in Bermuda's largest fort. Jaw-dropping views, massive cannon, shipwreck artefacts, local watercraft, a stunning mural, a children's playhouse and playground make if fun for all ages.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“surprised”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thought the museum would be boring and why pay $10 each to go in but it was great- very informative. It was great wandering around and seeing the goats/sheep loose made me think about having them in stead of lawnmower. What would the neighbors think? Anyway lots of history and well appointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank treetrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    114
    22
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

There's lots to read and learn at this museum located at the Royal Dock Yard.
The only part I find no good was, when I went, 2 of the buildings were closed. It was unfortunate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Super-V-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We Just Loved It!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We thought the Dockyard was fabulous! The museum is full of interesting tidbits of info...we found all of the people to be extremely helpful and pleasant!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Museum Even Teens Will Love”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife had read that the museum was excellent, however when we had an hour or two to kill in the Dockyard, and my wife suggested it, it met with typical teen reactions from my kids of, "Awww, do we have to go to a museum on vacation?"

That quickly changed, and they then wanted to know when they could go back. It's hard to describe what about this museum that is so appealing. There's nothing interactive, there's nothing inherently "fun", but it paints a rich history of the islands from many different perspectives. The many outdoor parts of the museum also contribute to it not feeling like a typical museum experience.

Bravo Bermuda - you did a great job with this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grobma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We loved the old fort and the exhibits here great history to see. There is a walkway along the top of the fort that has a beautiful view.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Bermuda also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing