We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Educational”

National Museum of Bermuda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore 500 years of Bermuda history and culture in Bermuda's largest fort. Jaw-dropping views, massive cannon, shipwreck artefacts, local watercraft, a stunning mural, a children's playhouse and playground make if fun for all ages.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Educational”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This museum looks to be a work in progress, but what is there is vey interesting and informative. I was found the many rooms left me wanting to know more about the history of the island.
Watch out for the cactus on the rampards!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank visitorBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    111
    21
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stow, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited the Commissioners' House which is part the National Museum of Bermuda, at the Dockyards. I believe it has only fairly recently been renovated; I cannot tell you what a wonderful experience this was: absolutely the gem of Bermuda. What a sanctuary after the shops and restaurants with their way-too-loud music. Each room in the spacious, lovely house is devoted to a different topic of Bermuda history, e.g. tourism, naval engagements, and -- most engaging of all -- slavery. I was impressed by how honest they were about their history -- it was nothing short of riveting. Also, there is a fabulous mural painted by a young Bermudian man (trained at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston) which was absolutely astounding and merited a lot of time. The setting is also spectacular, overlooking the water (and cruise ships!). Within the same area, we were fortunate to accidentally see the Dolphin Adventure while the dolphins were playing and interacting with people who'd paid for this privilege (which I did on another trip and totally loved) -- you could ask at the desk about the timing of this. Surprisingly, I don't think many people know about this wonderful place, which was the highlight of our visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Old fort, cannons”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I happen to like old forts. Especially old forts on the water. And cannons. Plus the fort guns are restored from different time periods. Nice updated exhibit hall. Beautiful grounds to walk. Go when the cruise ships aren't in port if you can.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 112PCS112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you want to learn a lot about Bermuda's history then this is the place. Really well laid out exhibits in a lovely building. You can also go down and watch the dolphins for free. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Honkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aruba
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must See At Dockyard”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The commissioners house is right up on the hill near the cruise ships.It is well worth the visit.
There is so much on the history of bermuda in this building.Out back is a fort with old cannons and beautiful views of the harbor.Also a dolphin attraction.Well worth the 10$ admission charge for this gem

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank manute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Bermuda also viewed

Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to National Museum of Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing