We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See!”

National Museum of Bermuda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore 500 years of Bermuda history and culture in Bermuda's largest fort. Jaw-dropping views, massive cannon, shipwreck artefacts, local watercraft, a stunning mural, a children's playhouse and playground make if fun for all ages.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
159 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just about the most interesting place we went to in Bermuda. Watch out for the sheep/goat droppings on the grass. The husband and I spent about 3.5 hours there and still didn't see everything. Stay with your group in the commissioner's house as we saw lost people -the house is a labrynth!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stroller_Snob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    111
    21
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not just for history enthusiasts”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

When we visited Bermuda, the weather wasn't the most pleasant as we had high, gusty winds and scattered rain with overcast sky. Since the wind made a beach day a most unpleasant experience, we visited the Maritime Museum and wandered the grounds for hours. There is a $10 entrance fee that opens up the entire area: the Commissioner's House and all the outlying buildings, the grounds with their exquisite views, and watching Dolphin Quest. DIsclaimer: don't think that you can participate in swimming with the dolphins by paying the admission fee to the Museum, but you can sit on spectator benches and watch the interaction of the dolphins. I had a very interesting conversation with a marine biologist at the Dolphin Quest exhibit and enjoyed a bit of time there, just relaxing and observing.
One of the outlying buildings has an extensive explanation of the period of Bermudian history when Bermuda was used as a penal colony by the British. Well worth a visit to understand the impact. Within the restored Commissioner's House, you will find exhibits that detail Bermuda's social and military history. Absolutely fascinating is the exhibit room housing the American capture of the U-505 and the assistance that Bermuda provided in keeping that secret during the war. That particular exhibit is splendid. I became enthralled with the history of Bermuda entertwined with the Azores. I think all the exhibits are very well done.
My visit was filled with history, beautiful vistas, and enchanting dolphins, and I felt thoroughly entertained.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AZPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great slice of history”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This museum is packed full of Bermuda history, military and otherwise. Climb on the ramparts, go down into the ammunition storage (and learn about the history of prisoners in Bermuda), imagine living in the Commissioner's House...well worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mom2a-n-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum of Bermuda History”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Museum provides a wonderful history of early Bermuda culture. Would have like the movie to have been working when we were there. Beautiful views!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kcpoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Educational”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great history of the island?...loved the dolphin quest which you can sit and watch after paying admitance to museum

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sab06966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Bermuda also viewed

Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to National Museum of Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing