We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Freeport Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

Freeport Seafood Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
pa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stop here for lunch while visiting the dock yard section. It is we're the locals go, so you will escape the cruise crush. The fish chowder is so good, the owners are very friendly & the atmosphere is laid back island style. Highly recommend this place!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjimjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
432 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Nice little place right before the Dockyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The people we were renting our house from suggested we go to this restaurant for some local fish. It is right as you cross over into the Dockyard. Despite being near the Dockyard, which I tried to spend as little time in as possible, it caters to a 50/50 mix of locals and tourists. I had the Rockfish, it was delicious. My girlfriend had the fish chowder, which was also delicious. What a great little place to grab a bite to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ut_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“An amazing Gem of Passion and Good Hospitality tucked away in Royal Dockyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

If you are looking for a place to have a peaceful, quiet Bermuda experience try Freeport. This place is run by the 71 year old youngster Valerio Ausendio and is the quintessential English Pub. Its got indoors and outdoors sitting and reminded me of the Tea Planter's Clubs back in the tea gardens of Darjeeling and Assam in India.
The place is ahead of the clock tower mall and just at the beginning of the Naval Dockyard Gates. Tucked away between trees and plants of all sorts, Freeport is refreshing and for once your ears will breathe a sigh of relief as there is no loud Caribbean music playing.
We sat by the garden and overlooking some trees and a lovely plants of all kinds. It is done up well and most of the place is open from all sides. You can see garden creepers climbing all around the building.

We were approached by Tanel, the most gracious and forever smiling waitress and the best part was that we sat for almost four hours and she still had the smile on.
The menu is great and has all kinds of seafood. We went for the fisherman's platter and fried calamari which was delicious.

Mr. Ausendio is an absolute delight and his charm and hospitality is infectious. He came out and spent time with us, talking about Bermuda his lovely garden and his food. I was introduced to some lovely pickled chilies from his garden which were yum. I also learnt about the existence of a tree frog which sounds like a bird and was all around in the garden. As the evening settled in on us and night fell, the place became alive with the sights and sounds of Bermuda of course coupled with the many glasses of Jack!

Definite try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“tasty local food, but it does add up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We like Freeport for the traditional, local dishes, such as rice and peas. But the unassuming physical space does not mean that it's cheap. You might want to check the prices on the beers and other drinks before ordering a second one. I guess this should not surprise anyone, as Dockyards is a hub of tourism, and not the place to look for a bargain. We would return for the local fare.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Coronas miss Valerio's cooking!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our Taxi driver, Kevin brought us here when we asked to be taken to Freeport for shopping and dining and he suggested this Pub. We love Pubs so following a bloggers suggestion to dine in a Pub when you can, we did. As soon as we walked in we asked for Kathy - Kevin and her seem to be good friends - and she is a bit shy but her husband Valerio took over and we immediately felt wlecomed. The first night we had a 5 course meal and we could not find room to stuff our faces any more so we decided to come back the next day and I cannot explain the delicious meal that was awaiting us. Valerio prepares the best dinners and he adds rum to everything and it just makes everything taste better. Kathy's specialties are the drinks and Valerio does the cooking. The best fish ever? Wahoo!!! He prepares it so well with this delicious rum dressing he makes that is to die for and the fried scallops!! my dear lord Jesus Christ! The best!!

Valerio, we miss you and send you many hugs. I will be sending you my promised email on that subject. I haven't forgotten!!


Rodrigo and Sandra Corona.
Houston, TX/ Mexico City.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Coronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freeport Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Somerset Village, Sandys Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing