We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Dolphins”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Quest

Dolphin Quest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Quest Bermuda, located at the historic National Museum of Bermuda, brings people and dolphins closer than ever in fun, interactive dolphin encounter programs for all ages. This unique experience is on-of-a-kind in Bermuda. A Dolphin Quest encounter program is great for everyone from kids to honeymooners! Reservations can be made up to one year in advance. A portion of the proceeds from all Dolphin Quest encounter programs supports vital marine education, conservation and research.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor Dolphins”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went to have a look at the dolphins - they were clearly bored swimming round and round a pool no bigger than my front room! Their fins were bent over and they didn't look very healthy. I wouldn't reccomend this - there are far better places to swim with dolphins. Bermuda is a fantastic country - but not for this.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    77
    25
    16
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Stonington, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I think people are wrong....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I think this was an excellent place, which we booked through our cruise. I didn't see anyone getting a discount as was suggested.... the area they are in is a bit smaller, but it actually goes very deep, and they are sheltered from predators and they also survive up to 40 to 50 years as opposed to 12 in open waters.... they get great daily care as the owners I believe the girl said were vets. My wife and I had a great experience, there were a lot of people partaking I the activity, but they made it pretty cool. The dolphins seemed happy and were fun to watch and interact with. The trainers had a fairly lengthy background that we spoke to, they were in no way off the street, they were trained professionals. Its something I would definitely do again.....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffCT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
329 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful encounter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our daughter swam with the dolphins at Dolphin Quest. She was with a small group but each person had their own chance to be with the dolphin alone for a bit. They swim around with the dolphins and then take turns. She was wearing a swim mask which was great to watch them underwater too. We were allowed to walk around the swim area to take pictures and ended up with better photos than the ones their photographer had taken. You can buy their photos on line so you have time to compare theirs with yours when you get home. Yes, everyone knows it's expensive but we all thought it was well worth it for the experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindervermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cruel, exploiting animals and turists!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is way too small for the dolphins, it is cruel! Taking these beautiful animals and keeping them enclosed in a small pool.... We were so excited to get there, it was next to the dock where our ship was and we expected to see them in the open Bermudian blue waters and we found this very small pool with the dolphins in it and a narrow channel where they brought the tourists in groups of 5 to "meet" the dolphins.
We gave up after seeing this cruel conditions.... I wish there were some more strict laws regarding how confined you could keep these animals.
You will feel exploited too as it is pricey, short and they will group you with other people and at the end charge 50 dollars for two pictures! It is cruel capitalism at its max!
Please do not support cruel experiences like this!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
20 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Not much to dislike about this. Trainer was fantastic-very funny and informative. Dolphins were beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MM4KIDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Quest also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Dolphin Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing