We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful island and wonderful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Beaches

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cambridge Beaches
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Studley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“a wonderful island and wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and i have stayed here 5 times, wonderful and helpful staff and the manager Mr Richard Quinn is a wonderful and friendiest person you could ever wish to meet, the staff are not only welcoming but always happy to see you and people on the island are so lovely, will return there one day

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    202
    74
    53
    14
See reviews for
81
686
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Cambridge Beaches is located on a peninsula at the extreme west end of Bermuda. If any place on such a small island can be considered remote, this is it. It is quiet and serene. The cottages / villas are perched on the crest of a ridge, and step down either side. The rooms on the east side face Mangrove Bay and the marina, and are close to two smaller beaches, the pool and the main dining room. If you like to watch the activity in the harbour, the east side is for you. The villas on the west side face the much larger Long Bay beach, and extensive vistas to the open ocean and sunsets. A handful of cottages perched on top of the ridge at the north end have stunning views to the north and west, and have steps down to their private little beaches.

You really do have a feeling of peace, calm and isolation here. The isolation is real; the hotel advises pre-booking taxis as needed, and that is essential advice. It's hard to get out and it can be even harder to get back. We got stranded at Dockyard, no taxis to be had, none available by telephone, and finally after calling the hotel for assistance they were able to arrange for a taxi to come and retrieve 6 stranded guests.

Best way by far to get to Hamilton ( a painful 18 km by road ) is to take the fast ferry ( 20 minutes ) from Dockyard. The hotel runs a couple of shuttles to Dockyard, timed to coincide with the ferry departure, leaving at 0915 and 0945. The shuttle must be pre-booked. There are similarly a couple of shuttle pickups mid-afternoon. Tokens for the ferry can be purchased at the front desk.

The hotel is a big, sprawling property, and as such, it presents significant maintenance challenges. As a result, a lot of it looks a little worn out , rusted or run down. Those familiar with the Bermuda standard of maintenance will recognize it right away.

The room was nice enough, in a sort of minimalist way. It was equipped with a small refrigerator, which we immediately unplugged to stop the relentless noise. In the same vein, the antique A/C unit made so much noise that we could not have it on whilst in the room; the technique we evolved was to let it run when we were out, and turn it off when we returned.

There are beautiful plantings around the property and at this time of year the oleander, hibiscus, lantana, bermudiana and royal poinciania were all in full bloom. The overall impression though, is that it is all a little unkempt, there are areas which have been carefully tended, and many which have not. Much of it is a little ragged.

Same story on the beaches on the east side, they don’t appear to ever get cleaned up. Whatever the wind and tide wash in gets pushed up to the high tide mark, and stays there.

During the day, we found the activity in the marina fascinating. Unfortunately, on the Saturday night we were treated to a wild party on four boats rafted up in the marina, with pounding music that blasted away until 0430. Similarly, earlier that afternoon, the peace and serenity of the large beach on Long Bay was compromised when a boat full of locals arrived, anchored just off the beach and came ashore for a noisy and spirited football game. Nothing to be done about either, I don't imagine, just be aware that it can happen.

The watersports centre is well-equipped with 16 ft centre console boats, hobie cats, a 17 ft O'Day, paddle boards, windsurfers, jet skis, fishing gear and snorkeling gear. All of it was generally in better condition than one often finds in such situations. We rented one of the centre console boats with a 40 hp outboard ( $ 80.00 for the first hour, $ 20.00 thereafter ). They are in high demand on the weekend, so if you want one then, book ahead. Here's a tip, not all of them have electric start, so if your back and arms are not up to pull starting a 40 hp outboard, ask for an electric start boat.

We received a very good briefing, and headed out to snorkel on the wreck of the Vixen. When we got there, we observed a large number of moon jellyfish in the area, and decide not to dive on the wreck, as all of us were just in bathing suits. The locals told us that the stings were not particularly severe, and subsided quickly, but we elected not to chance an adverse reaction. We picked our way through the reefs to the entrance to Ely's Harbour, and had a very good dive on the reef there, passed through the drawbridge and, as the wind had shifted, went up to dive off the islands at the top end of Mangrove Bay.

Now to the food. The breakfast buffet is simply superb, one of the best we have ever seen anywhere. Wide selection, fresh and carefully prepared, and never looking picked-over. Highly recommend it.

Lunch at Shutters is ok, if pricy, and from a limited menu. Dinner in the highly-regarded Tamarisk Room was up to its reputation, and really quite good.

We are Bermuda veterans, with perhaps 30 visits over the last 25 years, but this was our first stay at Cambridge Beaches. If you are accustomed to the drama of the south shore, you will find the quiet waters and unoccupied beaches quite different. If you want to pursue the full range of water sports, this is for you. If you want to go somewhere different every night for dinner, be aware that getting out is a bit of an evolution. We recommend arranging with the driver who takes you out for dinner to return to take you back, as it can be difficult later in the evening to find someone available and willing to go all the way out to Cambridge Beaches.

Room Tip: If you enjoy watching the marine activity in the harbour, then a room on the est side of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned from our 2 nd trip to Bermuda, the first being 5 years ago. On both occasions we have stayed at Cambridge Beaches.
Firstly, It is a stunning island, beautifully presented wherever you go. Flora and Fauna is wonderful, the Bermudians are charming, the island is a joy to get around, local buses are plentiful and cheap.
Turning to the Hotel, I cannot imagine going to Bermuda and staying anywhere else.The hotel has everything. Adults only, set in magnificent grounds with beautiful views whichever side you choose to stay on. The Ocean side is beautiful but our favourite is the harbourside, so picturesque with all the pretty boats to look at, especially in the evening.
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We only had a standard waterview room and it is by far and away the best of any basic room I have every come across. It's equivalent to paying for a mid room upgrade. Fantastic views, large balcony, seating, loungers......
The hotel has 3 restaurant options, breezes on the beach, charming and informal. Shutters by the pool, easy and casual and the Tamerisk for breakfast and more formal dining which was our favourite. The food was outstanding. Presentation was flawless and the choice was always excellent. The setting of this restaurant is wonderful and we were fortunate enough to have great weather that enabled us to sit out every evening. Service was superb and the courtesy of the bermudians is truly humbling.
The daytime is easy enough to while away the hours at the pool or on several of the beaches. The Beach manager, Luke, works incredibly hard to ensure everyone is looked after.
Cambridge Beaches is one of those hotels where you can get away from people, yet arrive in the beautlful colonial house for tea at 4pm , partake in rather delectable homemade teatime treats and share experiences with other guests. We met many charming people during our stay.
The hotel suits people of all ages . Don't go there though if you want night life and entertainment. Thankfully, from our point of view it doesn't have either of these. Do go there though if you want elegance, sophistication in an understated way and above all if you want top service from people who genuinely want to make sure you have a wonderful holiday. It is impossible to single out any members of staff. Without exception they were all fantastic.
We will certainly keep it at the top of our 'must return' list. It is an amazing hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the harbour side have views of the quaint harbour . It's a lovely evening pastime to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have been to Bermuda at least ten times, but Cambridge Beaches is now the only place we will stay at. We love the quiet beauty and elegance of the resort. The food, the service and the wonderful beaches and infinity pool offers us a great, restful vacation. I always enjoy my time at the spa, while my husband loves the golf!

Room Tip: We were celebrating our 40th anniversary and chose one of the pool suites- it was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahvalousmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just got back from our first stay at Cambridge Beaches. We stayed for our 25th anniversary. First the positives.... It is secluded, no children and relaxing. We stayed in the Emmett Suite, which had a good view of the Atlantic Ocean. The Suite was nice - maybe a little dated. But we knew that when we booked it. We choose it for the location on the property. The Spa was nice.

We had a private dinner on the beach and the "butler/waiter" was wonderful. We kept bumping into him after that dinner and he would always stop and say hello to us.

The staff was all polite and helpful. They all tried to be very professional and make you feel comfortable.

The food was pretty good and the beach at Breezes was nice. You could get lunch and drinks brought out to you.

A couple of things they could work on -
1. Have an ATM on site. Since Cambridge is secluded - about 45 minutes from the airport. You need to take a taxi to many places. The taxis only take cash. We spent a good majority of our spending money on taxi fare

2. I was told during my stay that there that a new manager took over about a year ago. I think this person is making the place a little less formal. They need to be careful about watering down their brand. One example is the "live entertainment" they have. On Mondays DJ Uncle comes and plays at the Tamerisk onsite restaurant. The music is loud and they open this up to the locals. We didn't know this. We show up thinking we are going to have a quiet dinner. Even though we were resort guests and had made a reservation they couldn't seat us outside. The meal was a BBQ buffet and the place was crowded. We could even get any service after sitting there for 15 -20 minutes. I had to call someone over finally. Then I had to go and track down my food, which was not that great. I don't feel we got the value of the MAP plan we paid for which is $65 per day per guest. I also didn't like the atmosphere at all. I didn't go there for that. It came across as the hotel just trying to make money and it came at the expense of their guests. Because you have to make a reservation for dinner anywhere on the resort, we were locked in and couldn't go to the Breezes restaurant. So the hotel should either stop this practice or tell the guests up front so they can make the appropriate plans.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jkenney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you like big hotels with elevators and conventions - this is not the place for you.

The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are all in small or tiered cottages - most with some or a full water view. It's not crowded - and it perfect for adults - no screaming children - crying babies or barking dogs.

The breakfast buffet is very good . . and most other food was highly rated.

We didn't rent a car or scooter - so the concierge arranged for cabs to take us anywhere.

The people in Bermuda and the hotel staff tend to be very civil and educated - lending to a fine vacation

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Westerly Suit for four nights from Aug 18 to Aug 22, 2013. The flight from Boston took just 90 minutes. Once we arrived we were in paradise. The suit was recently renovated and looked awesome. Absolutely private and quiet, rooms are big, with the ocean view from all the windows and private terrace(11 meters long). A/C was present, but there was no need in it: the ceiling vent and open windows do a great job keeping you cool. The ocean is very quiet and warm, when you enter the water you feel like taking a bath.

The resort is not crowded at all: there are tents always available on the beach and you always feel private.

The food was great: the continental breakfast, afternoon tee and Monday’s barbeque buffet were delicious and kept us happy and satisfied for the full four days of our stay there. One side note: there is not bottle water in the room, so if you want, you can buy it for $7. However, sink water quality is perfect, tastes great with no smell of chlorine. Coffee and ice are available. The room is clean, no ants or any other insects. No mosquitos outside, so there is no need for any spray OFF. You’d rather take some extra sunblock.

The staff is very helpful, friendly and attentive. Just some names I remember: Telia from the reception, Andrea Beach servicing our room, all the beach attendants, waiters and waitresses, guys helping with luggage: everybody was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to all. Our special thanks to Luke Fountain who showed us these beautiful gardens behind the Long Beach. There was a story about everything we saw: a beautiful Saffron flower, avocado tree, gum tree, very special Bermudian rose bush, a little shaky spider net, rare birds and many more. His knowledge about Bermuda’s nature is really encyclopedic. That was an amazing excursion, thank you, Luke!

We have been to many different resorts and places, but this one is absolutely the best. We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irinaalexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandys Parish
4.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
5.1 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 3,370 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pompano Beach Club
Pompano Beach Club
#1 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Beaches

Property: Cambridge Beaches
Address: 30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Beaches 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AAA Four Diamond Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda’s premier cottage resort, provides the ideal sanctuary for adults seeking an intimate and relaxing escape from the demands of contemporary life. Guests indulge in a serene and romantic getaway while experiencing the Island’s rich history and distinctive culture. Cambridge Beaches invites guests to discover breathtaking panoramas of the Atlantic Ocean. Relax, renew, reconnect or simply do nothing at all, and do it well. Whether you seek activity or tranquility, the resort beckons with a wealth of amenities, from the indulgent Ocean Spa and four private beaches to an onsite marina, kayaks, croquet and putting greens, tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Not to mention the seemingly endless private coves, providing the perfect setting for an intimate escape.Cambridge Beaches offers guests all the sophistication of an internationally acclaimed resort in an authentic Bermudian environment. Accommodations are provided in elegantly appointed traditional pink Bermuda-style cottages and customary afternoon tea is served in the historic main house. And all of this may be enjoyed without the demands or distractions of traveling with children, as Cambridge Beaches is the island’s only resort that caters exclusively to adults.The resort’s casually sophisticated environment encourages a sense of total relaxation, romance and renewal. Idyllically set on a 30-acre peninsula on Bermuda’s western coast, the property boasts 4 private beaches, a nature reserve, private gardens and spectacular water views from every vantage point of the property. Additionally, guests enjoy unique treatments and wellness options at the seductive Ocean Spa, and a range of culinary delights in three restaurants, including the celebrated Tamarisk Room, rated by Food & Wine Magazine as one of the Bermuda’s best restaurants.Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is legendary Bermuda at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cambridge Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Beaches Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Hotel Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing