We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel”
Review of Cambridge Beaches

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Beaches
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We did receive a room upgrade and were given a superb room on the top of a low cliff overlooking the Atllantic Ocean. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The Hotel is set in extensive, well maintained grounds. There are three restaurants and the food in all of them is generally very good. The one downside is service which is rather hit and miss, at its best good, at its worst very poor. As examples at one dinner at Shutters hot food was left on a serving table and so was only warm when received: at Breezes one lunchtime I ordered a sandwich which came complete with french fries but on receipt there were no french fries, the excuse was that despite the menu they did not now serve french fries with this sandwich after further questioning they admitted that the gas cylinder had run out so there was no hot food. they did reduce the price. On our final night several new waitresses, who seemed to understand the job, appeared and they gave an excellent service so there is hope for future guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank North-Yorkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
There are newer reviews for Cambridge Beaches
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is a very quiet hotel/resort situated on a pleasant peninsula on the far side of the island. Travelling to different parts of the island by taxi gets very expensive given its more remote location. The reception and sitting areas in the registration building is elegant and serve light afternoon tea every day. Staff are all very friendly. We stayed in the Emmet Suite which has a living room, bedroom and large bathroom. The bathroom is very 80's and outdated with many signs of "being tired" including rust marks around the light fixtures, alot of wear around the combined bath/shower tub with curtains (NO separate bath/shower with glass enclosure) and the living room/bedroom average quality. I would rank it to be more like a 3 1/2 star hotel based on the room. The view of the ocean was restricted by buildings on either side, although they tried to mitigate this by covering the sides with wooden slats for privacy and so that the view would not include roofs and other windows. The room and its position was very disappointing given the room rate and my expectations based on reviews I had read on trip advisor and all the hotel websites literature. We were looking forward to playing golf on the island, and I was excited to see a practice putting green just outside our room. Unfortunately, the grass was exceedingly slow and in poor condition - not representative of any putting green that I had ever played on. The spa area and swimming pool were nice and the restaurant served an above average breakfast. I would definitely try another resort/hotel on my next visit to Bermuda.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with unobstructed views facing the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed several times at Cambridge Beaches, and have never been disappointed. I always wish I had longer.
The hotel and rooms are tastefully furnished, and the food in the restaurants never disappoint.
At the beach restaurant, I had a Wahoo Salad for lunch that was delicious. The local Wahoo was peppered and the salad contained Mango Papaya and Macadamia nuts.

Room Tip: I like the beach or bay rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srowlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Quiet and relaxing. Property is gorgeous, staff is very friendly and very accommodating. We took the ferry to Hamilton one night for dinner, took our moped to horseshoe beach and the dockyards. Spent most of our time in our pool suite. We ate at Breezes(by the beach), Shutters (near the pool) and Tamarisk. We ate breakfast at Tamarisk (Awesome!) , but really never felt like having the 3 course dinner. Maybe next time. No complaints about the food- delicious! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jb223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Bermuda and we decided that we would like to stay in a hotel that was not just a luxury hotel, but one that had an empathy with the island.
Our BA direct flight was excellent but the arrival time meant that we didn't arrive at the hotel until late evening local time - and very late UK time, but the hotel reception staff were excellent, made our check in very relaxing - and the complementary glass of " Dark & Stormy " ( rum with ginger beer ) made us feel that we had arrived somewhere special.
We had a suite that was away from the beaches but was superb, with large lounge with step up to the large bedroom and bathroom. Outside we had a superb patio with table, chairs and sun loungers.
The beach area was well served by the beach staff, and the restaurant and al fresco dining areas and food - superb.
The manager and staff were all excellent, and the whole holiday experience excellent.

Room Tip: The suites are well worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TempusFugitJandF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

By chance we booked this on a whim thru Travelocity, a package deal so didn't particularly seek it out; price was good with the package deal. Service is superior all around. Lovely pool with view though not heated. Very nice rooms, spacious and enjoyable balcony with partial bay view;we were upgraded because it was a slow time so I can't speak to the characteristics of a standard room. Grounds are simple, lovely. Spa on site was very nice, with warm indoor pool, and 2 of us enjoyed really nice
massages. Didn't realize they do not allow children under 14, so if you happen to be without kids for your stay, it just makes for a little more elegance if you will.... Our 14 year old would have loved it, particularly the afternoon tea time... Nice touch. On site restaurant was good, not outstanding. Overall very nice, but not over the top. On site scooter rental is very convenient. I would return just because of the service... From concierge to scooter person, all great.
Note that it's a little further removed than some other resorts so you need to be willing to travel a little... No biggie.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just finished our first trip to Cambridge Beaches, and I can see why so many people return! Our room was lovely and kept in good order - we had a patio overlooking one of the beaches, which was wonderful.

Breakfast every morning was fantastic - the terrace on the marina was nicely updated and a beautiful place to start the day.

The only negative to our trip (5 nights) was one dining experience at Shutters - they were clearly understaffed and from the time we sat down it took 30 minutes to get drinks and another 30+ for our dinner to arrive.

Other than that, the service was wonderful - to include one of the guest services members coming to pick us up in his car when we couldn't get a cab back from the Dockyard one night.

The resort is a little removed from the rest of the island's attractions - which is a positive in that it's extremely peaceful, and a negative if you're interested in dinners, etc. off of the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank ejc518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandys Parish
10.0 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
681 reviews
5.0 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
851 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,953 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,635 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Beaches

Address: 30 Kings Point Road, MA 02, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Sandys Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sandys Parish
Price Range: $280 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Beaches 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning AAA Four Diamond Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa, Bermuda’s premier cottage resort, provides the ideal sanctuary for adults seeking an intimate and relaxing escape from the demands of contemporary life. Guests indulge in a serene and romantic getaway while experiencing the Island’s rich history and distinctive culture. Cambridge Beaches invites guests to discover breathtaking panoramas of the Atlantic Ocean. Relax, renew, reconnect or simply do nothing at all, and do it well. Whether you seek activity or tranquility, the resort beckons with a wealth of amenities, from the indulgent Ocean Spa and four private beaches to an onsite marina, kayaks, croquet and putting greens, tennis courts and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Not to mention the seemingly endless private coves, providing the perfect setting for an intimate escape.Cambridge Beaches offers guests all the sophistication of an internationally acclaimed resort in an authentic Bermudian environment. Accommodations are provided in elegantly appointed traditional pink Bermuda-style cottages and customary afternoon tea is served in the historic main house. And all of this may be enjoyed without the demands or distractions of traveling with children, as Cambridge Beaches is the island’s only resort that caters exclusively to adults.The resort’s casually sophisticated environment encourages a sense of total relaxation, romance and renewal. Idyllically set on a 30-acre peninsula on Bermuda’s western coast, the property boasts 4 private beaches, a nature reserve, private gardens and spectacular water views from every vantage point of the property. Additionally, guests enjoy unique treatments and wellness options at the seductive Ocean Spa, and a range of culinary delights in three restaurants, including the celebrated Tamarisk Room, rated by Food & Wine Magazine as one of the Bermuda’s best restaurants.Cambridge Beaches Resort & Spa is legendary Bermuda at its very best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambridge Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Beaches Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Hotel Sandys
Cambridge Beaches Bermuda/Sandys Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing