We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Segway of Bermuda

Segway of Bermuda
Ranked #12 of 22 Tours in Sandys Parish
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour the Royal Naval Dockyard and New National Museum. Experience the Segway Human Transporter, Bermuda's latest mode of transportation on a high tech tour of Dockyard. With cutting edge technology, this revolutionary machine is environmentally friendly, self balancing, and fun and easy to ride. The adventure begins with your safety in mind and includes thorough training session and you will be gliding effortlessly through the Royal Naval Dockyard, enjoying unbeatable ocean views, and exploring historical sites along the way, including the Clocktower Mall, historic Casemates Prison, Victualling Yard, the Glassblowing and Rumcake Factory, Historic Sail Loft and much, much, more. Segway is the only vehicle allowed to tour the Maritime Museum and the Commissioner's House. From the Commissioner's House, you will be able to view the Defense Heritage Exhibit, which examines a history of weaponry and milliary in Bermuda. This tour allows you ample opportunity for photos and memories you will cherish for a life time. With the breeze in your face, and vista views of the entire island, this tour is a unique way to see and experience Bermuda.
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I just couldn't wait to write my review of the Segway tour my husband and I took in Bermuda. Our guide was Deesa. Very knowledgeable and super friendly. We received 5 star treatment. It was an extremely pleasant way to see the Dockyard area. Loved every minute of it. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    9
    4
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Bermuda and Dockyard!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having always wanting to try out Segways while on vacation, we scheduled a tour of the Royal Naval Dockyard as one of the land excursions we did while on a cruise. Jordan the tour guide was great! She was very friendly and knowledgeable. The Segways were easy to operate. After receiving detailed instructions and a demo from the tour guide, we were off on an 1-1/2 hour tour of the dockyard and surrounding area. We even went to the Glass Beach which was very cool to see. Even if you are apprehensive about how to operate these things, don't worry about it. They are very easy to use and the tour guides are able to keep everyone in check and safely navigate the streets of the busy dockyard like pros. Would highly recommend this tour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank m G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bermuda on Wheels”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We did the Segway tour on a Wednesday morning, and had a great introduction to the Dockyard area. The guide was very informative, and riding a Segway in Paradise was a great experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamaronz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Segway Tour at Bermuda Naval Dockyard/Kings Wharf”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wife Judi and I took this tour on 6/11/2013. We had always wanted to try these things, and we are SO glad we picked this tour to do it on. Buying a ticket is simple, just go to one of the ticket booths that sell tickets to all the different attractions at Kings Wharf. They are conveniently located near the cruise ship, and you more or less have to walk by them coming off the ship at Kings Wharf. The tour itself meets just a block away down the road at a big old bus that acts as an office/storage for the tour. The Segways are lined up outside and you can't miss them. We showed up about 15 minutes before our tour started to get the practice time in and instructions they give you on how to operate these things. There was only four of us signed up for this time slot, so it looked like we would get a good tour. The other two people were these two guys who showed up with kind of a "too cool for school" attitude. They looked to be about 60 years old, and weren't sure if they wanted to do it or not. One guy was kind of pushing to do it, and his 260 pound, hung over buddy was acting like it was a piece of cake to use these things, even though he never did one before. When it's his turn to practice, the tour guide started to instruct him, but he couldn't bother paying attention, so he decides to jump off the Segway while the guide is telling him to wait, and down he goes, "BLAM!"..right onto concrete. He's rolling around howling, with his legs all banged up and bleeding...they hoist him up like a wounded Whale, and plop him on a bench. The guides worked on him with bandages and sympathy until he was ok. But he was all done for the day without even getting started! They promptly refunded his money back, and his buddy's too, and they wobbled on down the road, to try their luck somewhere else.
That left just me and the wife to take the tour with the BEST tour guide in all of Bermuda... Disa!..she was the BEST, and made us laugh and have a great time, she was also VERY knowledgeable about the Naval Yard history, and took us out of the yard for some country road cruising. We stopped along the way to eat wild cherries, and fennel, and take in some great scenery. We had the best time with her, and this experience was one of the top highlights of our time in Bermuda. If you always wanted to try a Segway, don't miss the opportunity to do it when you are in Bermuda. Hopefully you get Disa for your guide,(but her partner seemed like she would have been just as nice), and have the great time we had. I loved the look on all the people's faces as we floated by them...the look that said.."that looks like so much fun..I wish I had the guts to even try it"....take a chance on yourself...it's not hard at all...trust me...you'll LOVE IT!!! Joe Hanson MA

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fun to ride, but poor tour”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The tour was terrible. You did get to ride around on the Segway, which was fun obviously, and easy to get the hang of, but there was no valuable information about the Island of Bermuda given. Disappointing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway of Bermuda also viewed

 
St. George, St. George's Parish
 

Been to Segway of Bermuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing