We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Day!”

Blue Hole Water Sports
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you're looking for a fun day on the water, let the friendly staff at Blue Hole Water Sports show you how. We rent 13ft Boston Whalers (max 4 people) outfitted with steering consoles and Bimini tops, complimentary snorkel gear and coolers included. We also offer Sunfish Sail Boats, Windsurfers (for the beginner and advanced), single and double kayaks, and new our line up of Stand Up Paddle Boards. All at Bermuda's best rates. We are located on the east end of the island, just two minutes from the airport at the Beach of Grotto Bay Hotel.
Hamilton, null, Bermuda
1 review
“Beautiful Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had an amazing Stand Up Paddle session @Blue Hole Water Sports yesterday! The weather was perfect, flat calm and turquoise water and we got to see turtles popping up for a bit of sunshine and air! It was truly an amazing spot to do this awesome sport. Best place I've done it yet and the owner Mike is super nice too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolineTBda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

With friends down visiting, I thought I would take the day off and rent a whaler for a few hours.

Blue Hole had a great deal; boat rental, snorkel gear and cooler of ice, $150 + gas for 4 hours.

We zoomed across the azure waters of Castle Harbour to Castle Roads. The sea was calm, weather was perfect and the sights and sounds of nature amazing.

We had a great afternoon exploring the islands, snorkeling, watching the longtails and relaxing on the beach.

The staff were friendly, and courteous to all out requests. The whaler was clean and in good running order. Perfect.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gotopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bermuda holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Overall the grotto bay was great for the value. You can rent stand up paddle boards and kayaks on site. There is also a catamaran at the end of the pier does three hour sails. If you are expecting to have a good sailing trip, then I would suggest that you ask the captain if he plans on using the main sail and the jib. When we went out on sunday, he only used the jib, so it really wasn't that great a sailing trip. plus he came in 15 minutes earlier because the wind was good! Don't know why he didn't stay out and sail more--especially for the price he charged. Expect to pay extra for beer or wine, but the tea and stale cookies are free!!
The cab drivers in the area are so nice,giving info on the sites as we passed them. The locals on the bus were pleasant and it was fun to get the feel of the local life using the buses.

Helpful?
Thank skibones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHolewater, Owner at Blue Hole Water Sports, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi
Thanks for your review. We are thrilled you had a good time with our paddle boards and kayaks but sorry to hear your sailing excursion was not up to expectations. Please note that the catamaran trip was in no way affiliated with us at Blue Hole Water Sports however we will pass along your concerns to the operators.We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My girl and I rented one of the Whalers and after a quick orientation, we headed out. Within ten minutes, we spotted a sea turtle just popping up for some air. It would be the first of several animal encounters: loads of fish while snorkeling along Castle Island, and the ubiquitous Longtail Tropic bird. We were amazed to see a female Longtail climb out of a hole in the rocks, presumably it's nest. After spending an hour by ourselves on the pink coral sand beach at the Castle (sorry, it's private property, so no exploring the castle, but the beach is UNBELIEVABLE), we headed over to Nonesuch Island to snorkel on top of a wreck, where there were many fish of different varieties, and they were not shy at all.
We had the boat for 4 hours, and it was a piece of cake to operate, and Blue Hole provide the snorkel gear, a handy ice chest for our snacks and coldies. Checking back in was a snap-no hassles, we settled our bill and cleaned up a bit before heading over to the world famous Swizzle Inn-just down the road by the bus- we swizzled in, and swaggered out. The great food and rum made the amazing day complete.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_Hystad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding Day on the boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a really fantastic wedding afternoon on one of Blue Hole's cracking little motorboats.The staff were really friendly, helpful and we thought the complimentary bottle of wine a really thoughtful touch (and much appreciated!). They made our wedding day fun and helped create a special afternoon on the beautiful waters of Bermuda which we will never forget.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DWince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hole Water Sports also viewed

 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Blue Hole Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing