We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal & Fantasy Caves

Crystal & Fantasy Caves
Book In Advance
and up
Crystal Caves, Shopping and Beach Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel 120 feet below the earth's surface and explore subterranean lakes and passageways.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is not the kind of place you visit over and over. It is very unique and certainly worth while to see once however. Make this a rainy day event (so you give up no beach time in Bermuda) and it a nice way to pass a few hours.

We were worried it would be cold down in the caves like we are used to at home. We couldn't be more wrong. With all the warm ocean water in them they are more like a steam room!

If rushed, or just conserving money, you really don't need to do both caves, just Crystal. We have no regrets about doing both, it is just that they really are not that different.

Visited April 2013
Thank TomL_Philadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The caves are very cool. The guides so a good job and it moves along quickly. It's a great adventure for a rainy day. It's a bit expensive, but worth it. There are free lockers in the gift shop which is nice so you don't have to take all your guff on the excursion.

Visited April 2013
Thank StephCorvallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rainy Day treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The caves are beautiful, well lit and interesting. The floating walkway is something I have not seen in other caves. The price is rather high @ $30/ person to see both. So if you have to choose, decide between the awesome stalactites/stalagmites or the floating walkways. FYI-When the tours get crowded, it can be difficult to move around down there. Not a lot of wiggle room. If you've never seen a cave before, you will be amazed.

Visited April 2013
2 Thank Crisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Gorgeous, Worth the Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although the cruise ships offer the excursion right off the boat, the real value is in taking the Bermuda bus (on and off access as many stops as you want for $20.00/2 day pass) and paying $35.00 for both caves. Crystal Cave was my personal favorite as I loved the large amount of water, however the ceiling height of Fantasy Cave was also very impressive. Good for families but great for couples looking to try something different. This is also perfect on a rainy day, which was the case for us. The grounds outside of the caves are nice with many different flowers and palms. Small restaurant, gift shop and public restrooms on site.

Crystal Cave is roughly 25 minutes guided, and Fantasy Cave is 30 minutes guided.

Visited April 2013
3 Thank tiglily45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
258 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Enchanted Cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This one of the must see attractions on Bermuda. It is something that I heard about years ago and I promised myself I would go. It was the first thing we did when we got to Bermuda. I was not disappointed. The trip down is a little challenging. First of all you MUSt wear the right type of shoes. Rubber soles or sneakers are the best. The descent into the cave is very steep. If you have a heart problem or breathing problems I would not reccommend it, remember after the tour is done you have to make it back up the way you came down. It gets very humid inside. I also went in August(very hot). Once you get down inside the cave you are greatly rewarded. It is spectacular. You are actually walking on what amounts to a floating bridge over the clearest water I have ever seen. The cave is lit up and you see the magnificent formation of stalagmites ans stalagtites. The colors range from yellow and red to blue and purple.It is very quiet and you can hear the dripping of the melting formations. It is quite beautiful. It was worth the time, cost and effort. It is not a long tour, but the guides have lots of interesting information. I recommend this very highly.

Visited June 2012
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal & Fantasy Caves also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
St. George, St. George's Parish
Paget Parish, Bermuda

Been to Crystal & Fantasy Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing