We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2004

We just came back from a 3 night stay at Grotto Bay. The hotel is small. They serve breakfast and dinner inside the hotel...but hurry! You may be on vacation, but they aren't. The breakfast is $18 for the buffet. Lunch is served by the pool. The food is pretty good, but expensive, which you probably already know about Bermuda. Grotto Bay is one of the few hotels with a beach, but they don't take care of it. The lounge chairs are falling apart and they don't clean up the beach. There are rarely clean towels. Our room was clean, however the other couple that we went with had many problems. Their room wasn't cleaned everyday, and they had a roach and ant problem. The walls are very thin so at 1 a.m. we were still awake because of the noise. It's impossbile to have a late dinner in most places. The shops in Hamilton and St. George close down early. Most restuarants don't serve after 10 p.m. I'd pick a hotel in Hamilton if I decide to return.

2  Thank Jan421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,583 - 2,589 of 2,684 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2004

Stayed at the Grotto Bay Resort from 8/13/04 through 8/17/04. This was our first time in Bermuda & we really enjoyed our visit. The resort was very nice- the room was nice, clean and our balcony had a beautiful view overlooking the beach. We were at the top of the hill but enjoyed the walk every day to the pool, beach & caves. Our 14 yr. old son loved the resort, especially the dinner buffet one night at the pool! The lagoon was a nice spot to snorkel & the beach was great. We went to Tobacco Bay in St. George's & did some awesome snorkeling beyond the huge rocks in the ocean. Enjoyed riding the pink bus throughout the island & hope to return here one day!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Islander4evermr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
new york
17
Reviewed August 21, 2004

Having been to Bermuda twice before, I can assure you that Grotto Bay is not the impression of Bermuda you'll want to go away with. Bermuda is a beautiful island with the friendliest people on earth--not so here!!! The staff is very nasty and and treat you like the Ugly American. The accomodations are small, inconvenient and have paper-thin walls. Upon checking in, we and several other people were not given the rooms which were reserved. Be assured that when you check out they will try to rip you off. The location of the resort is very inconvenient and you will spend a ton of money on taxis. I caution you, stay in one of the resorts in Southhampton, or anywhere but here--they have a knack for ruining Paradise.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2004

Well, my family and I just came home today from a 4-5 day trip at Grotto Bay. We were shocked when we arrived. It wasn't what we had excpected, we thought better from the hotel. The staff, was very rude, and acted like they didn't care about anything or any concerns we had. We arrived a little too early, so we decided to eat lunch at the Pool-Side Grill. The food was good, loved the pizza! So afterwards, we went back up all the stairs(what a hike!) and went to the lobby to check in and get the rooms. BIG problems with that. We didn't get the room we bought. We requested a oceanfront online, and they had mistaken it for an oceanview. We we're trying to change it, but the staff was very rude about it so we were just like forget It. We had gotten off to a bad start, because our airlines did not place our luggage on the plane. So we had a night without anything, and when we told the staff to tell them about it so we can get it delievered to the right place, they acted like they didn't really care about it, like it was our problem. The walls, we found thin, because we were playing card games, and not being loud, the people next to us knocked on the door like we were being loud. The housekeeping expences, woah! For us, it was $16.00 PER HEAD, only calling for housekeeping 2 out of the trip. Don't believe it was newly renovated, because non of it was. It looked like online the bathroom was remodeled, since it was the fairly nicest thing in the room. Big cockroaches entered in the room, and a big line of small ants crawling up your wall. Hope you don't mind that! 'Cause it happens. Also, hope you don't mind the wild roosters running around everywhere. Overall, the food OK, and the beach, thin, but fairly large. Rentals are available such as Suncats, Kayaks, Rafts, and some other things. I would recommend Horeshoe Bay as a beach to check out also. The thing is, just remember, that mostly all the places for food and restaraunts close at 10:00, so if you would like a late night snack, get it earlier. Also, remember if you would like to take a dip in the pool, bring you're own towels, because the ones at the hotel are dirty. All you see in the towel booth a pile up to you're head of dirty towels. The rooms, are very small, so it was like basically a motel. Well, I would not recommend this hotel. And if I come to this beautiful island of paradise, I won't be staying at Grotto Bay Beach Resort. Try to enjoy you're stay at Grotto Bay.

3  Thank cheermsm717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2004

Just returned from a weeklong trip at Grotto Bay. Although it rained the majority of the week, we had a great time. Our first room was HORRIBLE--bottom floor, end unit right near the ice machine and laundry area (building 5). We were able to upgrade the next day to a second floor room in building 7. What a HUGE difference! The view was wonderful, and our "neighbors" were quiet. (The rooms are small.) One thing I can't say enough good things about is the wait staff, especially Jose, Francisco, Heidi and Susan. They were so nice to us! And, bartenders Abdul and Jennifer were so accommodating--they knew what we wanted to drink as soon as we approached the bar. There were many steps to climb when going to the pool or beach, but we didn't mind. In fact, it helped us work off all the good food and drink! Needless to say, we'd go back to Grotto Bay.

3  Thank chestermartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ayer, MA
12
Reviewed August 11, 2004

We were in Bermuda from July 31-Aug. 5...and stayed at the Grotto Bay...while we are not world travelers, we were quite pleased with the Grotto Bay...the proximity to the airport was fine, we could stay longer before going to the airport, and the plane noise was surprisingly minimal. Our room was very nice and very comfortable. There are a lot of stairs to the pool and beach, but I think that's why I didn't gain any weight while there, despite the good food and drinks. Everyone is very friendly and willing to help you out. We talked to a couple who were also first timers at the Grotto, and have been to Bermuda 11 times. They rated the Grotto as the best place they have stayed. We will definately stay there if we ever get to return...

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2004

My husband and I took our 2 1/2 year old with us to the Grotto Bay at the end of May. This was our first trip to Bermuda. Very nice hotel. We stayed in an Oceanview room which was spacious enough to put a crib in for our daughter and not feel crowded. Very well kept hotel, clean, good food (although pricey). For people who have problems walking - be aware there is a lot of it to do if you want to walk to the ocean and pool (lots of steps). Otherwise we enjoyed our stay here. We loved the fact that the water was very calm, no waves, perfect for our daughter to play in. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. Would definitely recommend the Grotto Bay to everyone.

5  Thank shar1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
835 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,025 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 5 in Paget Parish
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range: $271 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing