We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful bermuda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

a slick operation , from entry to exit , happy smilely staff the grounds of the hotel are kept immaculate and the beach is well tended daily . food was excellent but if i have a small gripe it would be that the lunch menu was a bit on the unhealthy side . rooms were clean and tidy although i must say need a little updating . on the sleep front we managed to sort out some silence at night we cut the AC and unplugged the fridge not necessary in my veiw not alot of hanging space for clothes if i didn't have these couple of issues i would have marked it a 5 .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,507 - 1,513 of 2,772 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed 4 nights last week in a delux oceanfront third floor room (#230). Did not take the all inclusive plan and found the prices very reasonable. Definately not a rip off resort. Nice location close to the airport. Beach is small but very nice.

Only draw backs were the small bathroom and the walks up the hill each day.

Will add Grotto Bay to our vacation totation.

Room Tip: Go for the delux oceanfront, worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

First time in Bermuda. What a gorgeous island! Really enjoyed our stay at Grotto Bay. The grounds were beautiful & you can't beat the location. Five minutes from the airport. also the bus stop is right outside the hotel & they give you a bus & ferry pass, making it very easy to explore the island. We went for the all inclusive option & were very happy. The food was very good. The restaurant & bar staff were excellent & very friendly. Our room was OK. The bathroom had been recently redone, but the bedroom furnishings need updating. It could also have been cleaner. All the mirrors in our room were dirty upon arrival & only cleaned after several days when I happened to return to the room while it was being cleaned & mentioned that they needed cleaning.Also I dropped an earring behind the dresser & found a lot of dust bunnies when I went searching for it. All in all, we had an excellent vacation. I would definitely go back to Bermuda & would stay a Grotto Bay. Just please clean my room a little better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful friendly service and loved the grotto! Avoid dinner, but the poolside lunches hit the spot. We appreciated the proximity to the airport and being away from the cruise ship tourist. Pool,and beach areas are small, but very well-done, with plenty of room to spread out and lots of chaises.

Room Tip: Rooms all have views, Smith's lodge was close to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgnRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely vacation at Grotto Bay. It has a great location near the Blue Hole nature trail and is convenient to St George and to the bus. The staff is friendly, polite, professional -- with a sense of humor. The room and dining rooms were very clean.
We purchased the all-inclusive plan, which turned out to be an excellent buy -- the food was delicious and, as food is pricey in Bermuda, paying for the all-inclusive was a huge money saver. There really aren't any restaurants nearby, so dining at the hotel is a great convenience. The food was well-prepared and the portions were ample. The menu was limited, but the food was of high quality -- I prefer good food from a small menu to mediocre food from a huge menu. The all-inclusive includes alcohol, and it was nice to enjoy a cocktail with lunch and dinner.
The hotel is across the bay from the airport, which makes travel to/from the airport inexpensive and quick. The hotel is situated parallel to the flight path, so no planes flew overhead, and it was fun to watch them take off and land.
The beach is small, but more expansive beaches are just a short bus trip away. Bus and ferry passes are also part of the all-inclusive, so getting around Bermuda was easy, fun, and safe.
The only reason for four stars is that our room was in the very last and highest-situated building. It was an uphill walk from the street to the resort, and further uphill to our lodge, which sat a little higher than the other lodges. The pool and outdoor restaurant/bar were 78 steps down (and then up again) from our room, with even more steps to go down to the water. We trooped along the steps but admittedly all the uphill going made me think twice about after dinner excursions to the Swizzle Inn (uphill walk to the bar, uphill walk back to our lodge). We did enjoy an afternoon at the Swizzle Inn.
I will happily stay at Grotto Bay again, but will request an Ocean Front room instead of the uphill Ocean View room.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are set high on a ridge; a lot of steps/uphill walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank empath_eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Pretty place to relax and enjoy the beach. The all-inclusive is more like a partial inclusive but the food was good and the atmosphere relaxing. Not much entertainment. Access to busses and ferries is free...a nice perk.

Room Tip: Be careful to ask for a Deluxe Room with a view of the ocean. The Superior rooms do not offer a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iehuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and loved it. Still one of our best memories ever - staff great, rooms nice (not fantastic - but area makes up for it big time), food GREAT, atmosphere fantastic. You can dive/snorkel right off the coast, dining is simply fantastic - just overall a great stay and everything we imagined.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
903 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
854 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,167 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,158 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range: $270 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing