We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just got back from 3 nights in Bermuda and have to say Grotto Bay was great. When we arrived guest services gave us a complete run down of where to go and what to do. Hamilton Friday, St. George Saturday, and the Dockyards Sunday in that order since Sunday's hamilton and St George was closed.
When in Hamilton go to Barracudas, great food, best we had all weekend.
When in St. George's eat at Art Mel's for a fish sandwich, you can split it, it's huge. Best fish sandwich
Swizzle inn -everyone says you have to go, if drinking go, food is ok
Dockyards for Sundays - tourist area, historical fort
Beaches- Horseshoe is best. St David's has some nice beaches as well

Now Grotto Bay:
Real cool cave, if you have kids you book based on that alone
Pool- heated
Very pretty bay with small beach
Convenient to airport
Clean updated rooms
Main lobby attractive with nice views of bay on a hill
Staff very friendly- guest service lady hugged us. Who doesn't need a hug? Forgot her name but she has worked there 40 yrs!

Would highly recommend

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Schneiderusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,554 - 1,560 of 2,768 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

It was warmer in Maryland than it was in Bermuda this past week, however, that was not Grotto Bay's fault. Though we didn't get to enjoy a "beach" vacation, which I knew originally was a long shot given the time of the year, we still totally enjoyed Grotto Bay Resort and beautiful Bermuda.

I want to share some thoughts about the "all inclusive" package for those adults over 50 who have been to other resorts in Jamaica and Mexico. It is very different. First of all, we always go to adult all inclusive resorts. Grotto Bay, I feel, is a much better place for families. I can't tell you how many times I said to my husband that I wished that we had brought our two sons here when they were between 10 to 15 years of age. There is an amazing cave that you could swim in (too cold for us, though!), tennis, kayaking, fish watching, a heated pool, etc. I enjoyed watching the youngsters frolic! The pool was a bit small and filled with young kids jumping off the sides with noodles, etc., so it was not inviting to us. But, families seemed to really enjoy it!

The very positive side of this resort is the food and drink. We loved having burgers by the pool. Their fried calamari was one of the best I have ever had. Salads were delicious. Breakfast was anything you could ever ask for. There was a breakfast bar set up if you wanted to just toast a bagel, get a croissant and OJ and coffee with trays to bring back to your room. We often did that and sat on our beautiful balcony overlooking the sea. For dinners, you could eat at either of the two restaurants and pick from either menu. On Friday, the dinner buffet was huge and included prime rib and a pasta bar. Now for the drinks, the only thing that wasn't included in the all inclusive price were things like Grandmanier and elaborate coctails. The Goslings rum and ginger beer drinks were fantastic. Also, for you beer lovers, they had the best choices than any other all inclusive we have been to. You could order Heineken, becks, stella artois, bud, bud light, Amstel light or guiness in cans and bottles. How the all inclusive works is that you just have to sign for everything that you order with a zero balance. You can give a tip, however, it is included in the price. You have the option to leave more of a tip for special service. This leads me to reviewing the service at Grotto Bay.....

We did leave the staff extra tips because I can say, hands down, Bermudians are the nicest people I have ever met! Nothing was ever a problem for them! Because it was a slower time of the year , the bartenders and waiters spent so much time telling us of Bermuda's history, tales of their childhood, where to visit on the island, etc. I have to point out that Renee, Shakara, Richard and Charlie were so helpful and just so nice to us. We were treated so well, with their amazing service.

We took the bus (which is also included in your all inclusive pass) to Hamilton, which is a nice city and to St. Georges, which is a cute small town. I suggest taking the tour and seeing the wench get dunked when you go. It is only offered on certain days, so ask the concierge about it. We got to hear about Bermuda's history by a really interesting gentlemen.

Bermuda is just beautiful and the people were so friendly, wherever we went. Would I go back? Certainly, but only when we become grandparents and can go as a family. I would go back just to see the dear staff that I mentioned!!!:) For anyone who drinks more than a couple of drinks a day, I would suggest the all inclusive option, as drinks are anywhere from 6 to 9 $'s and lunch around $70, and dinner well over $100 for two.With this option, you are able to take a few beers or drinks back to your room. They will also give you bottled water as well. . Plus, you get the bus pass and all privileges at the resort. We look forward to coming back again in the future with our family.

Room Tip: 121 was private enough and close to the pool and beach. A great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank marboe1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have just completed a 7 day all inclusive stay at the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, it's a fantastic hotel with the most helpful attentive staff you can find, the service was 5 star, great food great facilities, our 2 boys aged 6&8 loved the pool and the pool attendant Richard, this guy brings sunshine to your day a,

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Zayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

just returned from our third stay at the grotto bay as usual all we can say is wonderful I would strongly suggest this hotel to anyone visiting our favorite island Bermuda see all our friends there again soon regards to all

Room Tip: all rooms are good but second third floor have great bay views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great resort and location on the beautiful bay and not far from the airport. Highlights:

Beach!
caves you can even swim in
hot tub
good food
great views
boat rentals onsite!
walk to Swizzle Inn and ice cream store

We don't drink much and so we decided not to do the all inclusive. Food was great but pricey as you'd expect. Service was great with only a couple of grumpy restaurant bartenders oddly enough. Limited restaurant hours a mild inconvenience.

Room Tip: Great views from almost anywhere on the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have just returned from a nine day all-inclusive break at the Grotto Bay resort.

On check-in I was warmly welcomed and given an explanation on what was what around the resort. I was given a small brochure providing details on meal times, laundry, spa internet, and a local bus pass. Seven day internet connection cost BM$50.00.

The king-size bed room was comfortable and was kept clean by the very efficient room cleaning staff. The only issue I had was a rather noisy room air conditioner which I kept switched off at night.

A full buffet style breakfast was provided in the Hibiscus Room, I also used this facility most evenings for dinner as well. On occasion I used the Palm Court restaurant in the evening just to provide some variety for myself. I was advised to book for dinner. This recommendation is worth taking especially if you wish to eat early say 18:30 – 19:30. After 20:00 the number of diners in both restaurants appeared to tail-off. This may have been due to the large number of senior guests in residence. The food was of a high standard with plenty of choice, including daily ‘specials’. From 01 April I able to have an alfresco lunch each day near the pool, great!

The pool and small adjacent beach were well maintained. The pool water was on the warm side, whereas the sea temperature was around 20deg (C) a bit cold, however it was early April!

The Bar staff became familiar with my drink requirements which I found impressive!

On the last day check out being at 11:00, I had a bit of a wait in the resort, room-less, before my evening flight. The hotel does provide shower/changing facilities for those like me departing ‘late’. As I had arrived ‘late’ on day 1 and had effectively ‘missed’ dinner that day, I was offered lunch on the last day, post check-out.

I shall definitely visit the Grotto Bay Resort again using the same deal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Grotto Bay resort. The food was fantastic, the room was comfortable (we had a king bed with two cots for the little ones), the people were friendly and the staff were helpful. If I wanted to get really, really picky, I would say the air conditioning was a touch noisy, but I like white noise so that wasn't a sleeping distraction.

Special note to Stephen at the bell desk who went above and beyond to find our little one's bear when it went missing on the shuttle bus. So many tears averted! Victor, Veronica, James and Matthew in the dining room also went out of their way to make sure our kids' food came first, keeping the small fry happy at dinner.

The beach is perfect for small kids -- lots to explore and sheltered. Many seniors tours were visiting when we were there, which meant we didn't really bump into many people in the pool or on the beach.

We'd definitely go again.

Room Tip: We were in the 110-130 block of rooms, which is close to the ocean and the pool. It was a perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingthecaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
903 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
854 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,167 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,158 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range: $249 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing