We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thanks to all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“thanks to all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

we spent 3 weeks at grotto bay this year on 2 separate trips to paradise I would like to thank everyone there for making our visits very special the location to the airport is great only 5 minutes by taxi service is great people are very friendly thanks again we will be back soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    934
    263
    108
    69
See reviews for
594
1,136
89
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Grotto Bay. The hotel itself is a little outdated but it was clean & comfortable. We had gone on our 29th wedding anniversary with our best friends, another couple who were also celebrating an anniversary, their 27th. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel and both were very good, delicious. We sat by the pool, went swimming at the beautiful beach and explored the cave which is right on the premises. Also, we were able to get a 3 day bus pass and the bus stop is conveniently located right out the front of Grotto Bay. All in all a great time!!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor. I would choose the second floor as we would of had a better view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our 'home' for two weeks was to be 'Sandy's Lodge' overlooking the blue waters of the bay,and we were looking forward to a good holiday.
GOOD doesn't even come close to describing the wonderfully unforgetable experience that we have just had at The Grotto Bay Beach Resort and Spa.
My Husband had a 'Special' birthday this October (2013), so we decided to do something special as a 'one off'.
And special was the word !
The rooms, the spacious grounds with their hybiscus hedges, palm trees and 'Grottos', the views, the food, the service, all were first class, with knobs on.
The whole holiday was like belonging to a huge wonderfully warm and diverse Family. From the housekeeping staff, who treated guests and each other with the most friendly of efficient service to the management, catering, reception, bar, guest services, gardening, water-sports and pool staff who were always
'just there' when you needed them and never in the way when you didn't.
Our air conditioned room was spacious, with a view to die for, the bed was super-king with feather pillows ( bliss), the TV was enormous and all in English ( only for the football, news etc you understand), drawer and hanging space was second to none, hangers were in abundance and were wooden with space for trousers, clips for skirts and 'notches' for strappy dresses, Although we didn't take advantage of the facility, each room was equiped with an iron and an ironing board. There was a kettle and a coffee maker and tea and coffee was replaced daily. There was no extra charge for the integral safe,
(which had a 'KEY' so no codes or passwords to forget ! ).
Bermuda is the most beautiful of places with fabulous beaches, with history and heritage, with fine dining, music and theatre, and a pride which is sadly missing so often at home.
We had thought it to be a holiday of a lifetime, never to be repeated, not so !
We have to come back to this amazing island, and this amazing hotel, and soon.!

Room Tip: Although the accomadation is in 'lodges' away from the central 'hub' of the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonix2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I absolutely enjoyed our stay at Grotto. The best part was the staff. We will be returning soon as a result. We felt welcomed. Rooms were very clean. Views were excellent overlooking Bailey's Bay. Breakfast buffet was superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hamilton Lodge in an ocean front deluxe room for 3 nights. The room had a balcony overlooking the bay and the view was absolutely stunning. The resort is very close to the airport; taxi ride from airport to the resort was less than $10.

Our room was not ready when we arrived, so we had to wait for about 3 hours. During that time we met with Esme, a wonderful and passionate lady who gave us tons of information about where to go, what to see, and also made dinner reservation for us. We also pass the time exploring the beautiful grounds and the surrounding areas; we took a short walk to the Swizzle Inn where we enjoyed lunch on the outdoor patio (must try the mini cod fish cakes and rum swizzler). Across the street from the Inn is Bailey’s Ice cream where you must try the dark and stormy flavor; within walking distance is a full service gas station and the Crystal Caves (two caves…fantasy and crystal -not to be missed; $22 admission fee for one cave.

Our stay at Grotto Bay was relaxing and most of all very enjoyable, thanks to the wonderful staff; everyone was friendly, professional, and very helpful. The service was top-notch throughout our stay. Our room was very clean and the view and lovely breeze is priceless. The resort has an all-inclusive plan, which we didn’t do, but we did enjoy drinks at the bar and breakfast in the lovely dining room. Outside the bar is a lovely outdoor patio; it is a lovely space, with a fireplace (I guess it’s lit when it gets cool), and I even got carried away gazing at the stars. We also attended the Manager’s reception, which was a treat; enjoyed the coconut shrimp and rum swizzler. Overall, there are lots of activities for guests of all ages; we also enjoyed the private beach.

The resort is in an ideal location; close to the airport and accessible to public transportation and I am glad we stayed here. There is a bus stop right outside the front entrance; the bus runs every 15 minutes (different schedule on weekends) and it is the best way to travel and see the island. A day pass that allow you to hop on and off costs $15 per person; it’s about a 35 minutes ride to Hamilton and 15 minutes ride to St Georges. We felt really safe riding the bus, even at nights.

Overall, I highly recommend this resort; the staff and management make you feel like family and I can’t wait to go back, for a longer stay, I hope!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor has stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Grotto Bay Beach Resort is a beautiful property that offers everything you would want in a secluded getaway. The food and beverage service is of very high quality and you must have a Rum Swizzler, or two.

The concierge is simply wonderful. She made reservations for The Lobster Pot, The Barracuda Grill and a private tour of the island.

Chocolate chip cookies and a note were awaiting my arrival to our hotel room, as their way of saying thanks for returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a lovely hotel and amazing staff. We were really pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I booked this holiday through British Airways holiday for 2 adults and an infant to Grotto Bay resort (room only basis) and got a great deal (for half-term holidays which worked out to about £900 each, not the baby)
We stayed in an Ocean Front Superior room. We stayed in Sandy's Lodge, which I thought was a great location to get to the pool and to reception and the restaurants.
This hotel is just great. Very child friendly, the staff love children. Its a 4 min taxi ride from the airport which is great. The most amazing thing I thought were the beautiful caves, unspoilt, natural, lovely. Lovely grounds, amazing and friendly staff, especially Richard at the beach and pool, what a great guy. Good food, lovely heated pool, nice little park, lovely beach, hot bubbly Jacuzzi, great fish feeding decked area, a few chickens and cats running around that my toddler adored. A lovely beautiful, nice chilled out hotel.
Grotto Bay is a great base to explore the island from, buses leave from right outside and get you everywhere, The drivers are friendly and very helpful it's very easy to get around. My partner never takes the bus and always hires a car but even he took to it.
As we weren't on an all inclusive package we ate out a lot but we had breakfast almost everyday at the hotel which was good. About $20 each which was a bit pricey (but then its a hotel) and it was good. We ate at the Swizzle Inn a lot which is a 3 min stroll up the road (to the right), great food yum yum yum :)

The rooms are equipped with, nice LG flat screen TV's, Iron and Ironing board, telephone, coffee maker, hairdryer, shampoo (no conditioner or shower caps) and body lotion (very nice).

Only negatives was that there was no room service, but we could easily go order food from the restaurant then take it away to our room. The beach bar was closed a lot but then the weather on a few days wasn't great but one day it was sunny (just a bit windy) but it was still closed, too far to get a drink upstairs especially to walk up and down with a crazy toddler! The wifi is way too much money :( I spent far too much on it, however I needed to keep up with some work whilst I was away so I had no choice. Prices are $5 for 30 mins, $10 1 hour, $15 1 day, $30 4 days, $50 1 week. Eeeeeeek! Also would have preferred a kettle in the room rather than a coffee maker. I don't think it ever quite boiled the water (which I needed for baby bottles, but was piping piping hot), would have also loved a cup of tea in the morning, but only coffee was available.

The absolutely best best thing which I highly recommend is to hire a boat from the hotel and go off on an adventure and discover other islands and secluded beaches. This was great great great we absolutely loved this. A quick 5 minutes lesson, a map and a phone is given to you then off you go.
We did feel like the youngest family staying at the resort (early 30's) and there were a lot of people over 70 but this didn't bother us at all, in fact we had the most amazing time and can't wait to come back to Grotto Bay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sandy's Lodge, this is halfway between the reception and the pool, not good if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lissi_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing