We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A beautiful spot and we loved the cave” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot and we loved the cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very nice, comfortable hotel with magnificent views. The beach is small but pristine, with soft, smooth sandy ocean floor. Comfortable main house, many place to sit and chat. A real bonus is the caves -- two on the property and two big caves just a five minute walk away. Our family loved swimming in the cave, a bit chilly but invigorating and truly magical. Food is just okay and walls a bit thin but service is cheerful and the staff is great. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cranberries0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    800
    234
    95
    63
See reviews for
509
950
76
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PBG
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I too have to admit that the resort was nice but has some flaws.
What we did appreciate was the offered tea time.
Unfortunately we where there during the 4 days of TS Gabrielle.
therefore I expect with this layout of the resort, that they do provide the guests with an umbrella. I could agree that they charge you for it if not returned. But none the less.
When making reservation, they should make you aware of the layout and that it involves walking up the hill.
Because of the weather and I guess the laziness of the staff we could only sit outside where the smokers sat. First of all I am a non smoker and would have preferred to sit somewhere where I do not have to breath in all that smell. Secondly as they do provide very sparingly some ashtrays the smokers left their cigarette butts all over the place. Even when asked for about 1/2 h to please clean up those glasses and clean the tables I had to be told by one waiter, that as he does not smoke.......... then we brought our tea cups and the cookie plat outside just to be told not to forget to bring it back inside...... I thought that this is a 4 star hotel..... and I as a guest have to clean up after me.. Something is wrong with this picture.
As the lobby was freezing cold and they would not adjust the temperature at all, it was impossible to sit inside.
The pool bar was closed the whole time although it could have been left open and people could have enjoyed it. I do know that it is custom in Europe that between 2 and 5 pm the kitchen is closed, but this should not apply for a 4 star hotel or at least give some opportunity to buy something.
I also think it is very greedy that in today one has to pay for internet access. Again this is a 4 star hotel and has high end prices for their rooms. It would not even let you print out your boarding passes.
We did have high tea at the Fairmount Princess where it was nice and I would recommend doing that. This would also be my next choice if going back to the Bermuda's

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP M, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

I wish to personally apologize for not living up to your expectations. It was unfortunate that your stay was marred by a tropical storm curtailing some of our services such as the pool bar which was closed due to inclement weather. Not sure about your complaint about no food service between 2-5PM. Please be advised that we serve lunch from 12-3 followed by afternoon tea from 3:30 to 4:30 and bar menu from 5-11PM. Dinner commences at 6:30.
You comments are greatly appreciated and deficiencies mentioned will be addressed and corrected. We hope you will give us another chance, hopefully when the weather is better so we may show you what we are truly all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our 4th time to Bermuda - and Grotto scored the lowest of the places we ve been to. Location is right by the airport, which I guess is convenient but certainly not the best sight, we didn't like the bay at all, a sad beach, crowded bay with boats, water not clear, not many fish around. Food was OK. There are caves on the premises which is mildly interesting. Rooms were well done and clean but overall, hotel premises are nice. Overall, Bermuda has beautiful beaches and water, it is a wonderful island and Grotto experience does not do justice given the bay and location I think. Otherwise hotel is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t-dev-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP M, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Although our beach may not be the largest in Bermuda it does have several advantages such as calm protected waters great for snorkeling and exploring sunken wreck just off our beach, great for children and those not wishing to battle large waves, great for various water sports or just laying on a float and relaxing. Our Honeymoon Beach has a very protected cove populated by thousands of fish which are fed daily. During Summer months we feature a water park off our beach. We are the only resort in Bermuda featuring a water park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Wonderful Property , gracious and helpful staff, it was our first time to Bermuda and everyone at the resort went that extra mile to explain the island and all there was to see and do there! Weather did not cooperate while we were there (Tropical Storm Gabrielle) but overall a beautiful property and very clean room,We had an awesome view of the bay and you really don`t even know the airport is right there. Only complaint beach bar and scuba and raft rentals closed too early.would plan a trip there again.

Room Tip: higher up buildings and floors have better views but further from pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed for 5 days at this property and had an excellent time. June, who manages the guest services was wonderful. We paid in advance for the all inclusive option and it was well worth it. This option covered all meals and most drinks, bus and ferry travel, etc. Each evening, live music was performed in each restaurant. The food quality was as good as a top end New York restaurant. The view from our room was picture perfect with a water view. We took a number of side trips to Hamilton, Horseshoe Bay Beach, Elbow Beach and even took a swim in the caves ! Will be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Sandy Lodge with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Silk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I will admit the resort was well appointed and the checkin/checkout was very smooth. The staff was helpful. The view from the balcony was terrific.

I have a general complaint about hotels/resorts that charge $300+ a night and it is the added fee for internet access. This may have been valid 20 years ago, when the infrastructure was expensive to put in place, but in today's wireless world, it is just greed that drives the charges. It borders on gouging. At $329 a night, the Grotto Bay could certainly afford to allow the free connection.

The on site restaurant was good, with a variety of entrees that while pricy, were not outrageous. The service was good, but a small thing ruined the dinner for us. We ordered iced tea with out dinner, and when asked if we wanted another, said yes. Imagine our surprise at finding a second $3 charge for the iced tea refill! Refer to my comments above about gouging. Is there another restaurant that doesn't provide free refills?

These are little things but were enough to take the overall rating from 4+ to an average 3. It just felt cheap to be nickle and dimed at such a nice resort that already gets a premium price.

Room Tip: If possible, get the waterfront units. The view is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raynehri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a lovely location very close to the airport on the bay in Hamilton parish- not to be confused with Hamilton. It is about a 20-25 minute ride by taxi ($25) or bus ($4+) to downtown Hamilton, shorter to St. George. The view is lovely and while you can see the airport you barely hear it. The decor is warm and the rooms are spotless! There is plenty of space to stow your clothing and we had a bay view and small terrace.
The service is quite good but they will not extend themselves beyond basic services.
The food in the restaurants is very good, fresh and beautifully prepared. We made reservations but they were probably not necessary (note: we were there the 2nd week in September). They offer a meal plan but I do not know the details of it.
Regarding wi-fi they charge $10 per hour or $30 for 4 days PER DEVICE, I find this ridiculous. The signal in our room was good however in the lobby it was spotty at best. They do not offer to check you in with your airline for free, you would have to use your wi-fi or they will give you a pin for the hotel computer and charge you $6. The television reception was perfect and they have a good selection of channels.
While the weather was not good while we were there, they kept the pool bar closed the entire time and there were plenty of times where we could have spend a few hours there ordering food and drinks and I know many other guests felt the same way. If you were by the pool you would have to walk all the way back to the lobby (uphill by the way) and the bar inside opens at 12. If you want any food between 3 and 5 you will have to go outside of the resort they do not even offer a snack or attempt to make any accommodation for you, there is no coffee shop.
About a three minute walk outside of the resort (the area is quite safe) there is a place called the Swizzle Inn and the food is very good and the menu is varied, the service is very good and the place is very reasonable and not fancy at all. I highly recommend that you try to get there on Thursday night for trivia starting at 8, it was a really marvelous time, $5 entry per person and totally worth it, get a pitcher of rum swizzles too!
pros: clean, lively,lovely view, small convenient beach access, good food,pleasant service,reasonable prices
Cons:wi-fi fees, limited food service, closed outdoor bar, good but not great personal service with the exception of the bellman-they were fabulous!, distance to major towns, ATM is not on site it is at a gas station next door
If the weather was better, some things might have been reviewed more favorably.
Suggestion: if it is something you enjoy- go for High Tea at the Fairmont Princess in Hamilton.

Room Tip: Must have a bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
6.5 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing