We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Grotto Bay over the Fourth of July weekend. We thought the location was good as it was close to the airport and St Goerges but also not to far from Hamilton or the South Shore beaches (20-30 min). We were on the breakfast only plan and the breakfast was decent but we ate no other meals at the hotel. We rented mopeds right down the street which was very convenient and spent alot of time riding around the island on them.
The rooms were clean and since we had an ocean view room had a very nice view but the decor was dated.
We did not find the staff to be terribly helpful and struggled twice to secure a cab to dinner as the bellman in front and the front desk were not that interested in helping. The beach attendant also told my wife that he was "done putting up umbrellas, put up your own". Not exactly the response that was expected.
The beach was fine but you should be aware it is on more of a bay than the open ocean so if you are looking for a resort with a pink sand beach you will have to go some place else for that. This did not bother us as we enjoyed riding to the beach everyday on our moped but you should be aware of this.
If you go into you trip having read the reviews on this site you will get pretty much what you read. I would recommend this hotel to others armed with the knowledge in these comments.
One last thing my wife and I did have a couples massage in the cave on the property and this is definitely something that you should try. The setting is an incredible underground cave and the therapists were outstanding

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Michael D,

I wish to thank you for your comments and apologize for the comment made by our beach attendant. Please be ensured that this is not deemed acceptable and will be dealt with.

Regarding taxi service/bellman: I contacted the authorities in charge of taxi service to complain about taxi availability last Saturday and was assured that action will be taken. Our bellmen have had challenges getting taxi service for our guests and may have been frustrated. Not an excuse for service level however.

Regards,

JP Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,718 - 1,724 of 2,722 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Grotto Bay in early June and could not be happier with our choice. The room was fine, the view lovely, and the grounds beautiful. The all inclusive plan was well worth it - lots of variety and it was delicious. Everyone we came into contact with at the resort - Liviu, Christian, Veronica, Victor, Juliette, Alphonso, June, and Esme could not have been nicer. We especially enjoyed the nature walk along the railway trail with Mr. Hollis. I am sure I missed some names - let's just say everyone we met made us feel welcome.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank iheartsnorkeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Grotto Bay for 4 nights to celebrate of 20th anniversary. We purchased the inclusive package and it was worth every penny. Great location, food and staff. They have 2 parties for the guest while we were there and it was alot of fun. I highly recommend this hotel and the inclusive package.

Room Tip: We stayed near the pool, bay and main house. Not a good hotel if you have a cane or wheelchair. Alot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank novadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After reading reviews for a few months prior to our trip, I was a bit concerned with the negativity surrounding this resort in some of the postings. As it turns out, my husband and I are very happy with our decision to travel to Bermuda and our stay at Grotto Bay. The resort itself was lovely and fit in perfectly with the beautiful surroundings.
We chose the all-inclusive plan and believe that was a great choice for us. The plan includes 3 meals, bus and ferry passes as well as access to all non-motorized activities at the beach. We did travel around the island quite extensively so we ended up eating out for lunch a few times. Two of our lunches off the resort were close to $50 - this was for 2 beers and some very poor quality sandwiches. (Both of these restaurants were recommended.) That is close to half the price of the inclusive daily rate at Grotto Bay. In contrast, the lunch at the resort was quite delicious, more than we could consume and there were many choices.
The beach, grounds, etc... were beautiful. Our room did have an older comforter, but everything was clean and suited our needs quite well. We didn't spend much time in our room, but found the size and comfort level of the met our expectations.
I know I read some negative comments regarding the staff and I would like to add my two cents. We did deal with some bartenders who were friendlier than others, but isn't this the case anywhere? (The two lady bartenders who served us were delightful). In their defense, I did witness some guests who were a bit full of themselves, and in some cases, a bit obnoxious. I wonder if some of these types are ones who write poor reviews. Perhaps not, just saying.....
Finally, I have to say the wonderful dining experience couldn't even happen without the exceptional wait-staff and probably kitchen staff and the chef(s). The wait-staff and hosts were outstanding. We met Christian from Romania, Dawoud from Tri Lanka, a kind man from Transylvania, etc....Truly, these fine people made our dining experience.
The island is picturesque and over-all, the Bermudians were friendly and helpful. We typically travel to Mexico so this trip was quite different. We appreciated being able to leave the resort and travel all around. We would not have had anywhere near that freedom in Mexico!
All-in-all, we had a wonderful trip and would recommend this resort to anyone.
Hello to Dawoud from the Johnsons :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarjajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from 8 days stay at Grotto Bay. The location is great- we thought it was on the best part of the island. Close to the airport so you can watch planes taking off and landing but strangely no real noise from them. Do not pre book a taxi. You can get a bus from the airport- its one stop to the hotel and stops right outside bith airport and hotel. You could get a taxi from outside. 10dollars max cost. The hotel itself has a great panoramic view. The staff were average Id say. Some rude and others pleasant but not overly friendly. The bedrooms are dated and not particularly clean. A smashed glass outside our apartment sat there for 5 days prior to being cleaned up and removed. There was grime behind the bathroom door. The bathroom was modern and not bad but no storage for toiletries of your own in there. Only 7 coat hangers in the wardrobe for 2 people for an 8 day stay. That's poor. If you are on the British airways flight back to London check out is at 11am and the flight check in time is 6pm. You can pay 100 dollars for a late check out but only if no one has been allocated your room for after you leave. If so then you leave your suitcase outside the hotel on the steps for 7 hours. You are informed there are guest changing facilities for a shower etc. these were in disgusting condition. However, a plus- the rum swizzle and fruit punch were great drinks and the swizzle inn is just down the road. Hotel is 20/25 Mins on the bus from Hamilton. All in all wouldn't really recommend it here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicial L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Alicia L,

I wish to thank you for your comments and apologize for housekeeping issue experienced. Unfortunately do not know what room you stayed in so am hereby requesting you email me either your full name or room number so I may follow up with housekeeping since your claim needs to be addressed with room attendant involved since this is not the norm and we wish to make sure corrective action is taken immediately. My email address is:jpmartens@grottobay.com. Changing rooms are continuously used by guests departing late and since your flight is the last flight departing Bermuda changing room must have been used by other guests previously. I will review cleaning schedule of changing rooms in order to prevent this from happening again. We try to accommodate late check outs but as you probably know we have been running a full hotel making it very difficult to extend check outs at no charge since we have to keep staff back to clean rooms for sale that same evening.
Again, my apologies and looking forward to hearing from you so we may resolve housekeeping issue soonest.

Regards,

JP Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hotel is clean, staff is friendly and helpful. Food leaves much to be desired! Over priced, limited menu and mediocre. I would not recommend All Inclusive, some drinks are not included and food isn't worth the price. Several much better restaurants are within walking distance or easy to access from bus. The bus stop is at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Amy D,

Thank you for your comments. Wish to apologize for not living up to your expectations when it comes to our menu selection and quality. Your comments have been shared with our Executive Chef. Our All Inclusive package which includes breakfast, lunch and dinner, non alcoholic and alcoholic drinks excl. premium brands and bottles of wine and champagne, transportation pass which includes bus and ferry, tennis and non motorized watersports at $110.00 per person is what we believe a great value considering drinks and food in Bermuda are pricey due to importation duties and costs. Dinner at a comparable restaurant in Bermuda easily costs $100.00 per person. Our culinary team has received many compliments and awards for food quality and variety.
Having said so however, we strive to always improve and your comments are therefore very important to us.

Sincerely,

JP Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked through BA, which allowed us to include flights, transfers, choose room type and add in all inclusive in one single transaction. On arrival we were upgraded from ocean view to ocean front, and even though we are facing the causeway and airport, background noise is minimal. I am writing this review from the poolside using the WiFi facility. My wife and I think the hotel is one of the best we have stayed in, it pays to do your research before booking.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garryo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
844 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
889 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Bermuda
Rosewood Bermuda
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,088 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,144 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 5 in Paget Parish
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR 04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range: $267 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing